Challenge Not Challenge: Spread the Vibes - Response to @edje

in Music3 years ago (edited)

SpreadTheVibesPhoto.jpeg

I was waiting for this day. To spread the vibes. Some great things are happening around here, new connections, new ideas and motivation. Although, I react to the slightest spark with a lot of emotions, so maybe I am not so objective. You know, I am just a musician and we feel the things maybe in an exaggerated way.

First of all, I want to bring this idea closer to you. Challenge Not Challenge IS a challenge and NOT at the same time. It is about engaging, motivating and supporting each other, and spreading the vibes. It is about connecting through music, through vibes. When you write the post, it is important to be your personal opinion of the song, musical piece, composer or performance you are invited to respond to. You give your opinion or review and pick the song that you want to share, play or review and invite one or more other users to respond to that song. But to be more precise, here comes the scheme:

Spread the Vibes Guidelines:

-Post Content includes:

  1. your reaction to the music that was shared with you
  2. your music selection and related story
  3. your invites of other HIVE members
  4. link to the post you react to

Post Tags has - to include #spreadthevibes #music
Post Community - any community you like.

Ensure that the person you invited finds out about it, or by commenting on one of his last posts, or use discord or other means of communication if you think he/she will not see the notification on #hive.

Also, since we think that engagement is a very important, comment on the post where you were invited and leave a link to your post when you write it so that we don't accidentally miss it.

Last but not least, have a lot of fun and passion in the challenge not challenge!



Annelie_17DEF300x300.jpg

I am responding to this post:

https://peakd.com/hive-193816/@edje/challenge-not-challenge-spread-the-vibes-or-with-music-and-stories

The pianist you share here is a new name for me. But it is not to be any strange, I cut the impact of media on my life, so no tv, Facebook or another interesting pastime for me, basically hive is the Internet window to the world from my home. So Annelie. Very gentle playing with a melancholic undertone. What I could hear from the other songs is also the same sad atmosphere. The harmony she uses, i.e. their progression is not typically just classical...I would say a mixture of neoclassicism and minimalism with a personal tone. She uses broken chords and a melody line in the right hand and the rhythmical pattern in some songs is quite unpredictable and it gives freshness.

The sound we can hear, in addition to the music, is the sound of the mechanism of the piano and the hammers, as well the sustain pedal. It seems that it is recorded on an upright acoustic piano unless she added afterwards those effects, but it is not likely. It has the natural sound of those old upright pianos I used to play during my whole life.

In the song you picked, titled 17, I made a harmonic analysis. She starts on a single note C, and then the next four bars are G major, F# major, E minor and that short phrase finishes in B minor. After that, it modulates and the whole song is based around C minor.
The main scheme of the song 17 is a simple, sad melody in the right hand while the left hand has a typical waltz accompaniment. A sad waltz, not for dancing happily, that is for sure.



playingpiano.jpeg

During my musical education, I played everything. We could just simply say cheerful happy, sad, dramatic, boring studies and scales, not so boring studies, hard and easy pieces. From baroque to contemporary music. But at one stage of your process of learning, you want to play sad compositions. We always liked more Beethoven with his drama or Chopin with his painful melodies than the cheerful Haydn or Mozart. But I don't think that way now anymore. Must be that I am getting old, or I seek optimism (saying that, I will miss this week my #SadSunday post. But I find it more important and interesting to respond to the challenge - what is not a challenge than to write my usual post.

So having experience in playing any kind of piano composition from the genre of classical music, it was not difficult to pick something that could match this piece of Annelie. It will be Waltz in B minor, composed by Franz Schubert.

The reasons for my choice:

  1. It is a waltz, a sad waltz, as the piece you shared

  2. It is written in B minor (the first phrase of Annelie's composition ends in that key)

  3. It is an original piano piece, not an arrangement.

  4. It is almost of the same length as the song 17, around 2 minutes

So dear @edje, my response to your invitation ends here. I hope you will enjoy this piece and my interpretation more than you would enjoy listening to Richard Clayderman, you had to listen when you were a child. I am not so modest, lol, but I feel a lot of confidence engaging with you, so I can make some joke, right?

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


My invites for #SpreadtheVibes, in this Challenge Not Challenge first edition are:

  1. @ewkaw, as I know she played the piano before and I know she would like to do a music post...
  2. @bertrayo, as he is the poet-writer on my posts about my interpretations and a special member of our "invention" Poetry League!
  3. @andrewmusic, as a new hive friend and a very hard-working guitar player!

Source of Anneline photo

Thank you @edje for involving me in the process of the creation of this great idea and picking the name and tag #spreadthevibes that came into my mind after one sleepless night... Something like this was the last night as well.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Caramba, that is a post - love it. Have to say there are only a few that combine the skills of creating great written content plus great music content plus being engaged and active in the community - kudos to you. I wish I would only have 5% of your skills @mipiano

Hey @uwelang so good to see you here in my post. Actually an honour to me 😇

You know, we are born in the same month, so not to be surprised, right? Balancing between many things in life, but certainly in love with this platform... or I just have some pink glasses on my eyes, I don't know!

yes indeed, the October guys are similar - in love with beautiful things. You do wear pink glasses for sure- but that is good - i do this since August 2016 and after fights and frustration i still do kind of, some call me naive but hey - I like it still here.

August of 2016? Cool. This is being persistent!

Some months ago I was wondering why we haven't heard about this a little bit earlier. But now I am fine with that and my time of joining, we all have our curves of learning and motivation.

P.S. Now I can continue to wear my pink glasses, you said that it is good! (you are the first who said that is good, so I will choose to listen to you) :D

please tag all others that said it would be "no good" so I can flag them :-) (kidding! I will visit them at home)

WOOHOO! That's a very quick turn around on my invite! What a wonderful review you wrote to Annelie. You went deep in analysing it. I suspect the somewhat unusual and not so straight forward approach she takes in her songs, is what I picked up (unconsciously). I usually like music which is a little out of the ordinary.

Regarding the sad and happy music. I understand what you are saying. More than understand. Though Mozart and Haydn are nice to listen to, I prefer to listen to the sad composers much much more. And not only in classical music but in any kind of music. I tend to like the 'sad' compositions/tracks/songs much more than the happy ones. In the end, sad compositions allow me much easier to get my mind into the music. When this happens, it makes me soooo happy. Those moments are goosebump time for me. Love those little dots on my body. Well, not the dots itself, but the feeling it gives me 🙃

I do like your piece! You mentioned you'll miss out on SadSunday, but this one is not too happy. It's kinda in the middle between sad and dramatic and happy. More or less neutral territory :)

Yes, would fit the Sad Sunday as well, but as I said, I just had that need to respond in no time... Ok, no time was some 20 hours from your post ;D

I don't see the screen, I have to close my eyes 🤣

😑 maybe I will listen to some Annelie songs and do some unconscious analysis at the same time 🤣

EDIT: I am glad you liked the response to Annelie song and my Schubert one will have to inspire the invites... we will see if it can make some vibes 😋🙏

Why not add the sadsunday tag to your post? Two for One 🙃
Am not sure, but when listening to all 17 tracks, you may get bored. When that happens, let me know {LOL}

Hehe, had to do it, however I am not going to edit one more time just to add the tag. I listened to your advice, about writing the text and adding the photos in PeakD drafts and copy then to 3speak, description. It works. Thank you for that tip.

I listened randomly the other Annelie tracks while I was writing the post...I just couldn't see all the titles, but I listened to harmonic structure, the rhythm patterns, range of melody...not like a listener who just listen to relax. My professional (de)formation was on charge 😂

Off topic: I feel a bad migraine is coming my way 😔 just feel so strange and the first symptoms are giving signs 😬

I feel a bad migraine is coming my way 😔

D*mn! Those migrains :( A few days are gonna be gone for you again. Feel sorry for you. Hopefully not too massive one, but a mild one that fades away quickly.

My professional (de)formation was on charge 😂

I know all about this from a friend who is professional electronic artist and music producer. He rarely dances, even when he likes the music a lot when he is with us on the dance floor, even after his gigs when he can let loose. He listens too much as a professional to the music. D*rn professionals {LOL}

Right now I am better, I took some magic as first aid and had few lessons. Probably the students played so well, so I am better :p

I think everybody is a little bit like that in its own field of the profession, right?

Music: The magic / Cholars: The Healers 🙇

No doubt this is a nice initiative and your participation is top class. For what I got out of here, I don't actually need to play something, right? I haven't been playing anything but maracas and for cool that is, maracas alone don't make music. 😂

I'll save my usual critique for the post, but these engagement proposals are awesome. Thanks for getting me on this boat, dear Gabriela.

No need of playing. It can a a review, a critique, your opinion, a story you can relate here... Pick a new piece of music and spread the initiative :-)

Many thanks, dear @bertrayo. There is my comment to your response on your post :)

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 35000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 40000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!
Time to go on your Hive Tour
Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Oh my... I am so terrible at writing and describing music. It is nearly impossible for me to write in words what music does to me. You know... it is just there... you feel it. And like it or not. And if someone asks me why I like it I say "Cause it's cool." :D
And You probably noticed I listen to all kinds of styles. And I enjoy them all. "Cause they are cool" :))

Sorry I am replying so late 🍪

Hehehe, it's ok. If you join I would be very happy 🤩 and if you not, it is ok as well.(hahaha, but I can invite you again in the future 😜)

😎🤗

Hahaha please do :D I bring wine! :D

Did someone say !wine ? :D


Congratulations, @mipiano You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @ewkaw.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/1 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 1.300 HIVE

 3 years ago  

Estoy de acuerdo con el amigo @uwelang. Eres increíble! Tú forma de tocar y componer todo tu trabajo en un post es estupendo. La verdad me alegras mucho el corazón el alma cuando te escucho tocar. Me encanta!! Abrazos amiga xD

Hey @edwardstobia , gracias por tu comentario :-)

Hay que decir que no siempre hacía publicaciónes como ahora 😉 jejeje y seguro que algunos posts serán mejores, y otros peores. Esto es como en la vida, días mejores y otros no. Depende mucho de la motivación, y aquí sí que estaba motivada 😊

Iba a escuchar tu publicación de hive open mic, me has adelantado con tu comentario 😁🤣

 3 years ago  

Amiga y la foto de portada esta hermosísima......

Un poco tristona...como la obra que toco jajajaja. Bueno, era para encajar con la canción donde tenía que seguir con las vibraciones :D

Gracias de nuevo por tu visita :)