Sad Sunday With Frederic Chopin

in Music3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


It's Sunday again. Last week I made my first post with the tag #SadSunday, and asked for your opinion if you like the idea of ​​reviving that tag in the #Music community. Thank you to everyone who participated and gave your opinion. So, the general view was that we all actually love Sunday and that it would be a day for happiness. Also, now I look out the window and everything is bright, sunny, somehow the sadness doesn’t go with this picture. The family is also here, we are together and the day flows peacefully.

But even in the greatest joy, sometimes a small hint of sadness creeps in. It finds somehow the way...through some memories or a lost thought.

angel1507747_1920.jpg

What is interesting is that when we want to illustrate sadness, we always visualize loneliness. A lonely person on a deserted street... a lonely tree in a meadow... or a lonely melody that repeats itself, persistently trying to develop. This happens in Chopin's Prelude op. 28 no. 4. It is written in E Minor, pretty sad key for a composition, I would say. The melody line in the right hand is simple, the note B just goes to note C, over and over again. The chords in the left actually give the piece a full harmony, a rich sound. It has one point of culmination, where the pain erupts to the surface, but returns again to a calm, sad ending. So simple, right? But sometimes a lot of emotion can be expressed in simple things.

Chopin Sad Sunday Photo.jpg

However, this melancholic atmosphere is not all I wanted to play for you. In the second part of my video, if you are going to listen, there is a surprise. Another prelude with a little brighter picture. Short but elegant, and of course not as sad as the first. It is a prelude in A Major, number 7, same composer.

Chopin was a master of expression through music. And if you are familiar with his opus, you know that he dedicated almost everything to piano music. He knew how to express himself, and that is why we pianists love to play his works so much. Through his music we can also express our feelings, and give the listeners the same opportunity.

What do you think this time, are moments of sadness allowed in happiness? How do you channel your emotions? Can music help with that? Thank you for your time and it would make me happy if you could express your opinion on this topic.

The source of the picture of the angel is pixabay.


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Wow...
It must be one of my favourite ones from Chopin (the first one of course). It is just so filled with some internal pain...
Amazing!
Beautifully played!

(☕ it is still before 2pm here ;) )

Oh, I am glad that you liked the sad prelude. It can be seen as an easy one, I mean technically. Maybe boring, for someone who doesn't like classical music. But the melancholy and the agony of Chopin is so sincerely expressed here and it needs such a concentration to play it.

So I recorded the A Major prelude as well and put in the same video just to make a little bit more optimistic end 😇

Thank you @ewkaw for your comment and support 💜

The melancholy and sadness in the e minor prelude is strong enough to pierce through any happy mood. That's why I think it a great idea to balance it with the A major one, to bring again a little sunlight.

Music is the perfect outlet and expression for emotions. It can also be a bit dangerous, because if you already feel sad, music like this e minor prelude, can make you really feel down. So, balance is important, both while playing and while listening.

Yes, I agree with everything you pointed out. This prelude can maybe make us feel really sad, especially if we start to listen it in that mood. But that means that it perfectly matches the tag 😅

So, if anyone wants to listen just to the prelude that brings more hope, skip the first two minutes of the video 😇

Strange me, but I think I like the first part, the sad part, more than the less-sad part. I suppose sad and happy go hand in hand. When we are always happy than that happy feeling will not feel happy anymore. It becomes normal. That said, nobody is always happy; Everybody feels sad at times.

How I channel my emotions? Well, I shout at the nearest person, and keep on shouting and screaming until I feel happy! {LOL} Music sometimes helps me to wind down from 'bad' emotions, but I need to really concentrate on the music in such cases, ie take a break of whatever I'm doing, to let my mind flow into the music. When that happens, I usually come out of such 'trip' with less negative emotions in my body and mind. In cases that I feel happy, music can enhance this, from a bit to a whole lot! But that last part is kinda obvious, one doesn't need to really connect with the music to feel happy, since one already feels happy :)

Thank you @edje for your insight.

Well, I shout at the nearest person, and keep on shouting and screaming until I feel happy! {LOL}

Ok, I can not imagine that coming from you 🤣🤣

one doesn't need to really connect with the music to feel happy, since one already feels happy :)

Yes, but as you say, it can elevate even more our happy mood 😃 (in my example to the point I even jump around the living room or dance while washing the dishes if there is some loud, good music 🤣)

I can not imagine that coming from you 🤣🤣

Have my dark dark dark sides 🤣🤣🤣

it can elevate even more our happy mood 😃 (in my example to the point I even jump around the living room or dance while washing the dishes if there is some loud, good music 🤣

True True! I do this as well 🙃

Before covid, I went quite regularly to festivals and clubs, enjoying music to the max listening through the big speaker systems. Like the setup at Berghain Berlin.... that music setup is by far the best I have ever heard!. A night or day out in that club gives me the most happy feelings ever. When the music is shit, still I get out with happy vibes, so good a soundsystem it is ;) Hopefully I can go to all these places again very soon. I need it 😉

Have my dark dark dark sides 🤣🤣🤣

😱

You mentioned that you have some two weeks of a festival in June if I remember well. Is it still on? Regulations are changing here all the time, I don't even plan anything, anymore... 😑

Your memories are super!

I do hope it's gonna happen indeed. The preparations for the festival are on its way. Though the general sentiment of the owner of this festival seems to be kinda like: "Maybe its not gonna happen".

Its anyway quite interesting this festival. Its in the middle of nowhere in northern part of eastern Germany. Held on lots of square kilometers private land. The owner is a true hippie and art and music fan. Most of the workers are freelance (anarchists and others). Policy very conservative in that part of the country and trying to block this festival from happening almost every single year. So far, they never succeeded. Edition 22 coming up this year, I hope :)

Its anyway quite interesting this festival. Its in the middle of nowhere in northern part of eastern Germany. Held on lots of square kilometers private land.

This already sounds interesting! Fingers crossed that it can be held.

If not, you will be sad, disappointed or angry, and your dark side might show up hehe. 🤣

Thanks, @edje for your always kind engagement, I am off now for lessons and other commitments. I wish you a good day 😀 👋

NJOY :)

Congratulations @mipiano! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 1500 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 1750 upvotes.
You received more than 30000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 35000 upvotes.
You made more than 1500 comments. Your next target is to reach 2000 comments.
You got more than 1750 replies. Your next target is to reach 2000 replies.
You received more than 5000 as payout for your posts. Your next target is to reach a total payout of 6000

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Nice new badges 🤩

Thank you @mipiano

Thank you too! 💐

The source of the picture of the angel is pixabay.

if theres probability you will need more of this kind in the future, you can use my pics from the cemetary. I made a few posts in the past, and will make more in the future :P

That is a kind offer @qwerrie , thanks ☺️

You publish stock photos as well? I saw @seckorama with snow stock photos, but I wanted a sad angel for my post and didn't find here.

I love that community and very into the idea, but I rarely add my contributions there -- but always think of it, and kind of mame memos what I have to shoot and share. (angels and some cemetary thematics didnt came into my mind, yet). up to date, I shared only mushrooms, medicinal herbs, and some food pictures. even if there is no post of said thematics from me (yet), you may ask me directly, i would gladly give it into your hands.

Oh, thanks ☺️

Hahaha, can I borrow some mushrooms for Friday??? Just kidding 😂

I DID find some humble shroomies on Sunday, they will come on Friday 😋

so many questions! and not so many answers...

are moments of sadness allowed in happiness?

highly recommended, I'd say

How do you channel your emotions?

I prefer to lock them down. well, depending precisely which sort of emotions they are..

Can music help with that?

yes. music is your only friend (sometimes). its very channelling medium.

so many questions! and not so many answers...

Hahah yeah, I think next time I will reduce the number of questions 😂

I prefer to lock them down. well, depending precisely which sort of emotions they are..

Depends, yes. I usually can not lock down or hide excitement, happiness, sadness ...But I don't show some long term concerns and insecurities.. but I pretty reduced them lately 😇

Thank you for your time and answers 🙏

Estas recibiendo un voto por parte del proyecto "Sound Music" (@music1sound) y este post fue seleccionado para el reporte de curación diaria. Contáctenos para saber más del proyecto a nuestro servidor de Discord. Si desea delegar HP al proyecto: Delegue 5 HP - Delegue 10 HP - Delegue 20 HP - Delegue 30 HP - Delegue 50 HP - Delegue 100 HP.

Thank you @music1sound
!wine


Cheers, @mipiano You Successfully Shared 0.100 WINE With @music1sound.
You Earned 0.100 WINE As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 1/3 Successful Calls.

wine-greeting


WINE Current Market Price : 10.000 HIVE