Eurovision 2022 - My favorite songs

in Music2 years ago

Hello everyone! In today's post I want to share some of my favorite songs from this year's Eurovision song contest held in Turin, Italy. I've been watching Eurovision since 2004. and every year I look forward to discovering new music and interesting artists from all over Europe.


Serbia

I have to start off with my own country and amazing Konstrakta that was representing Serbia. When I saw her performance and heard this song for the first time, I had mixed feelings about it and I was a little bit sceptic mainly because I thought the audience won't really vibe with it but I was wrong! Konstrakta, her song and performance became so popular and it has a lot of views on YouTube and social media. We ended up taking 5th place out of 25 in the finals.


France

My personal favorite! From the moment I heard this song, I was hooked! The way they are singing and the mix of modern and mystical music is just amazing. They were actually singing in Breton, a Celtic language which makes them even more cool. I also loved their outfits, makeup, hair, their facial expressions, camera work and angles, scenography... everything! I still cannot believe they ended up second to last but what makes me happy is the fact they are getting more views/streams and even ended up on Spotify Viral 50 - Global with a lot of other songs from Eurovision.


Cyprus

This was the first song that caught my attention when I was listening to the entries before the competition started. I love that she was singing in Greek (with a little bit of English) as I find the language so beautiful and the melody of this song is amazing. Unfortunately, she didn't qualify for the finals and I think her performance was on the weaker side but it's a song I'll definitely continue listening throughout the summer.


Romania

Next we have Romania! I also really liked this song from the moment I heard it and it's a perfect summer song in my opinion. I think there's another version that was actually performed at the Eurovision, they made a few slight changes in their performance but this is the version I've been listening to and prefer.


Moldova

Now the happiest song at the Eurovision this year! :D This was their performance at the semi-finals and the audience went crazy. There's videos on social media of other participants and even press from every country dancing and jumping to this song. One of the reasons I love Eurovision is because of unexpected performances and mixes of modern and traditional music.


Ukraine

Winner of Eurovision 2022! This was expected and not a surprise at all, Ukraine got A LOT of votes from the public and I've seen that a decent amount of people disagree with this choice of winner thinking that they would not win if it wasn't for the current situation in Ukraine and that their song was good but did not deserve to win. I personally really like this song and I've been listening to it these days, I also had other favorites but to me, this song was better than UK and Sweden which were in the run for winning so I'm kind of glad Ukraine topped them and got to the first place.


Lithuania

This song is so different from all the above and to be honest, it's different from all the songs I've heard at the Eurovision so far. It sounds so sensual and I absolutely love the vibe and she is so unique and stunning. Another summer favorite for sure!


Norway

When I saw this performance and heard the lyrics of this song, I was like "WTF?" but then it got stuck in my head and I ended up liking it. At the end of the day, it wouldn't be Eurovision without this type of entry. :D


The Netherlands

Such a simple performance and a beautiful song, her voice is so nice! I love when contestants sign in their native language, it just makes it more authentic and emotional, especially if it's a ballad.


Italy

The last song I want to share is from Italy. Mahmood already was at Eurovision few years ago with a song called Soldi and it was my favorite song that year. This time he was in duet with BLANCO, the official music video for their song already has more than 50 million views and they took 6th place.


Have you been watching Eurovision this year? Let me know if you had a favorite song or what is your favorite Eurovision song ever? It's been a while since I liked this many songs in one year so I can say I am more than happy with all the music I have discovered and Serbia taking the 5th place. :)


banner.png

Sort:  

I truly enjoyed Netherlands this year. Such a beautiful song and what a voice! I'll keep listening this song even though I don't understand anything she's saying lol

Nice selection, btw! 😁

Yes, her voice is amazing! I also don't understand a word but hey, we can still love and appreciate great music, haha. :)

I missed to watch Eurovision this year. Been watching it since 2012.