Three Tune Tuesday: Punks Not Dead

in Music β€’ 2 years ago (edited)

Hello music lovers! 🎡🎧 🎡

After three weeks I'm here again! That's my second contribution to #threetunetuesday started by @ablaze.

In my first post I just introduced how all these music things started with my first gramophone, somewhere about 1977, and I started listening to vinyl records I have at that time. Yes, younger members of the community - they have A and B sides, btw... :) 😎



So, I have some records, all music was created by so-called supergroups (Pink Floyd, Yes, Led Zeppelin, King Crimson, Genesis, and so on...). The music was great, of course, super-produced, long songs, improvisations and so on, boring actually (for the teenager as I was).

Well, even then the music was starting to change, the news wasn't coming as fast as it's nowadays, but I didn't know that at that time there was already a decline in this kind of music, all these musicians were already rich people, a completely different caste from the youth of the street, with no work, no money and angry.

Everything had turned back to three chords and three minutes. Punk emerged from garages and teenagers' rooms, almost at the same time in America and Europe, first as a kind of spam. Still, it quickly caught on among the youth because, as I said, three chords, anger, and a few minutes of banging and humming were something completely different from boring old farts. The older ones were scolded that it wasn't music, but the record companies smelled the money and the stars were made.

I first came into contact with punk when I went to high school and I knew straight away that it was for me. And here I would like to introduce some of these songs and bands that I listened to when I was 17. That was my first contact with punk. The most famous was, of course, the Sex Pistols but I came to them later and I'll skip them for now.

🎡 🎧 🎀 🎧 🎡

The Vibrators - Baby Baby

The Vibrators are an English band, formed in 1976 and still performing today. This song is their first single, later added to their first album "Pure Mania" in June 1977. The song topped the UK charts for quite some time and is considered one of the all-time punk songs, and can be found on many punk compilations.

🎡 🎧 🎀 🎧 🎡

Buzzcocks - Ever Fallen In Love (With Someone You Shouldn’t’ve?)

The Buzzcocks are an English punk rock band from Bolton, started in 1976. This song was their third single for United Artists and they achieved quite a lot of success, this song is also on many punk compilations. They broke up several times and then got back together, I think they even still do live shows occasionally. I remember the lead singer, Howard Dewotto, who later on was in a band called Magazine, which was already post-punk.

🎡 🎧 🎀 🎧 🎡

The Stranglers - Hanging Around

I still listen to The Stranglers with pleasure. They are among my favorites. They have been performing as a band since 1974. Because of their uncompromising nature, it took them a while to make it. But then they just went up. One of the few punk bands that have developed into a remarkable musical institution that can hardly be placed in just one genre.
This song is from their debut album "Rattus Norvegicus", which was one of the biggest sellers of the punk era in Britain.
Growling vocals, heavy bass, and keyboards are their trademarks.

🎡 🎧 🎀 🎧 🎡

Well, looking back now from a distance of more than forty years at my first contact with punk, at the age of seventeen, I hear that it's all catchy pop tunes that talk about exactly what teenagers do - looking for love and hanging around.

Thank you for your attention. Next time there will be more.

Title image created in NightStudio AI

🎡 🎧 🎀 🎧 🎡

Stay Healthy!
logosecko.gif
@seckorama
NFT Showroom Gallery
3Speak Channel
Photo Manipulation
Beer Tasting
Foodies

Ready for Web3
hive_nft_200x200.gif

Sort: Β 

Great choices!! The Buzzcocks song is an absolute classic. I love the Stranglers but their best song is Golden Brown.

Not only Golden Brown, but agree. I like No more heroes also... Nice'n'Sleazy and many others ... :)

Oh yes, they are a great group

Β 2 years agoΒ (edited)Β 

I first came into contact with punk when I went to high school and I knew straight away that it was for me. And here I would like to introduce some of these songs and bands that I listened to when I was 17. That was my first contact with punk.

Cool man, great little trip down your memory lane, never got much into punk myself, but can definitely appreciate it now looking back. Those three songs all packed a punch.

Buzzcocks - Ever Fallen In Love --- an absolute classic, have always liked this tune...

The Vibrators - Baby Baby --- New one for my ears and I liked it, nice one..

The Stranglers - Hanging Around --- Best of the three for me, really good song

Thank you. Yes, it's true what you say about music and #threetunetuesday feels like going back in time.
The Stranglers are for me one of the best bands ever. Actually, from that punk euphoria at the beginning, I just kept listening to them regularly. I was a bit disappointed when Hugh Cornwell left the band but they were quite original after that too.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @seckorama ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Uh, I like that English punk, nice set list.

I cannot help but notice how strange it is to listen to punk rock from a band making a TV appearance in such nice clothes. ;-)

!BBH

That's true. They remind me of moods from sixties, with clothes and ties 😎 (From Quadrophenia movie)

@seckorama! Your Content Is Awesome so I just sent 1 $BBH (Bitcoin Backed Hive) to your account on behalf of @hannes-stoffel. (4/20)

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more