ONE OK ROCK Free Acoustic Show on Instagram! (04.05.2020)

in Music4 years ago

Yesterday afternoon, I happened to check Taka's Instagram story and found out that he will have another Instagram Live 19:00 (7 P.M. Japan Time). That will be 18:00 (6 P.M.) here in the Philippines so I tried to water the plants in our little garden quickly. Lol. I was about 15 minutes late to his live stream you can replay live streams on Instagram for 24 hours so it's okay.

I entered his live stream and he was talking on his seat although I got excited when I saw where he is. This means he is going to sing. Then I heard a familiar voice on the background. It's Toru! Wow, they're having an acoustic performance in their home studio. I just don't whose home was it, Taka or Toru? I know Taka mentioned it but I don't understand Japanese language that much. Ugh.

ONE OK ROCK is a 4-member Japanese rock band, by the way. Their songs are mix of English and Japanese lyrics which is surprisingly nice. They have English and Japanese version of their recent albums too. They do album world tours and are actually about to begin with their Asia Tour but must be postponed due to the pandemic. ONE OK ROCK is popular in Japan while they captured the international attention for making the songs for the film series of Ruruoni Kenshin. They will actually be doing a song again for the upcoming sequel of the film. (I hope this is enough as an introduction to the band. I recommend you to try listening to some of their songs. It's really good.)

Screenshot_20200405184048.png

The live stream seems to have a relaxed vibe even though Taka mentioned that he feels nervous. Lol. They were taking request from fans through the comments. They read it and weighed which one was the most suggested then Toru checks if he still remembers the chords of the song.



- SET LIST -


Wasted Nights
Wherever You Are
Yokubou Ni Michita Seinendan
Heartache
Intentions by Justin Bieber
One Way Ticket



While performing, Toru forgot some chords on one song while Taka was surprised that he was singing the English lyrics for heartache instead of Japanese. Lol. Having English and Japanese version of songs can be confusing sometimes, right? But Taka really has a long history of singing the wrong lyrics or worse, forgetting them. Hahaha. Meanwhile, they also performed Justin Bieber's song, Intentions. It was nice although I am not familiar with Justin's songs anymore. (Justin Bieber's fans might want to check Taka's cover of the song and tell me if it was good or not. Lol.)

Tomoya, the band's drummer was also watching and commented twice but wasn't recognized by the two since they were busy with choosing their next song. Lol.

Screenshot_20200405183211.png

On the other hand, there were also a couple of Taka's friends who watched the live and also dropped a comment. Some of their fellow Japanese musicians, female friends and photographers in Japan and United States. Glaiza De Castro, a Filipino actress and a fan of the band, also can't help but comment a couple of times. Taka didn't noticed her unfortunately. Lol. But I appreciate her effort. This was the funniest comment she posted on the live.

"Ang kyut mo po kuya Taka" (You're so cute brother Taka)

Screenshot_20200405185416.png

LOL.

All the songs were performed nice. Taka sang well even if he was sitting. His voice is really nice even on live, actually much better than the recorded ones.

However, the video ended while they were performing One Way Ticket. They went back live but didn't repeat the song. It was quite sad because I like this song but it's alright. I still thanked them for the free acoustic show. They also didn't forget to remind their fans to stay home. They repeated it a couple of times before ending their live.

A lot of artists have been doing online concerts recently and I really appreciate it because it's a great help to ease people's minds and forget their worries of the situation even just for a while. :)

Screenshot_20200405190345.png

I think they will do another live soon. I'm just worried because Taka and Toru are too close for the "social/physical distancing" being implemented over the world. Lol. I wish them to be safe so they will be able to perform more lives in the future. :)

You can still watch the live stream within 12 hours. It's on Taka's Instagram account @10960taka

Sort:  

This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and reblogged by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

I love ONE OK ROCK!!!
That is so nice fo them putting the show on instagram.
I hope they’ll do another one xD

Oh my gosh, hi!!! Nice to meet a fellow one ok rock fan in here!
Yes, I hope they'll do another and sing some of their old songs. 😍