TDC Tunes on Brixton Radio - highlights from my 69th Show

in Musiclast year (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


I'm working through my backlog of unpublished highlights from my weekly show and here's a good sized chunk of my 69th show, originally broadcast on both Brixton Radio and Twitch on 21st November 2023.

TDC tunes' thoughts about this set

Even though there are a few elements of the production in this one that I'm not totally happy with there is a vibe I like a lot - which is that it is generally quite a bit more sparse than many of my sets.... and it's also somewhat more melodic. I guess I was being a bit more restrained at least during this part of the show in terms of how many voices and sounds I was using at once.

In particular I like the very simple 4 note motif that is the dominant element melodically until about 4 mins into this highlight. The notes it's using change and evolve but the rythmn stays quite consistent for some time ad is fairly simple. I think this works really well and I'd like to try and remember to so something similar in future sets.

The main things that I felt didn't quite work so well are:

  1. The kick drum seems to really stick out and though it's not that loud doesn't really sit in the mix and therefore seems a bit distracting. Now - it's very hard (impossible?) to do release quality production on a live set like this where I'm effectively doing sound design, composing, improvising, mixing and mastering all at the same time and live. But I do think I often get this aspect a bit better than you hear in this video.
  2. Some of the transitions are a bit rough/sudden. This is quite common when I'm experimenting and trying to take things to new places. I can still work on making the transitions better though even then!

Shoutouts

If you like what you see and hear, I'm live every Monday night (9pm UK time) on Brixton Radio and Twitch. And there's always a bunch of people from Hive and especially the @risingstargame community hanging out in the Twitch channel. @stickupboys are ususally there doing Rising Star card and starbits giveaways too! Big thanks also to regulars:
@pixiepost
@mypathtofire
@caulderfreeman
@ph110

Rising Star Police outfit!

HOWEVER - I will not be doing my normal show this coming Monday 23rd January. I will be back though on the 30th! And not just back but... there will be a special 'TDC Tunes Policeman edition'! This has come about because I did a couple of mini competitions in the last show... both were guess the tempo (speed) that I was playing at.

Now, I had intended to give Rising Star cards to the winners... BUT - the two winners were Jux (@atomcollector) and @stickupboys - and it doesn't make a lot of sense to give the creator of the game cards from his own game OR indeed particularly to one of the top 25 players of the game who surely have more cards already than they know what to do with! Instead though they BOTH requested that I do the next show in the policeman's outfit that I wore for the little skit we did at the beginning of the Rising Star talk at Hive Fest last year.

If you missed it here it is again:

https://www.youtube.com/clip/Ugkx4gBuIUh-thSoaHrCSDvF-KnE2to8XMVe

So... ok guys get ready for 30th January - TDC Tunes on Brixton Radio - Police edition!

Hope to see many of you in the Twitch channel on the 30th Jan - from 9pm UK time!


Screenshot (449).png

▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Awesome, thanks for the flashback! Having a listen now. 😎

Policeman style show? Will try to catch it for sure! 😁😁 Cheers! !BEER

Monday 30th Jan - 9pm UK time! See you there!

YESSSSS!!! Get our police mod onnnnn!! Ready for it @stickupboys ?? I will bring the baton!

untitled.gif

Thanks for the shout out as always. I always have fun at your show & it gets better each time. ;)

!PIZZA
!WINE

untitled.gif


Hi @pixiepost, You Or @tdctunes Belongs To Hivewatchers/Spaminator or In Our Blacklist.
Therefore, We Will Not Support This Reward Call.
(We Will Not Send This Error Message In Next 24 Hrs).

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.137


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us

Hi @tdctunes,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

Groovy little tune! I love the full on synth rack. I would not want to have to move that around for gigs very much, lol.

Posted using BlockTunes


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @tdctunes ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.


Hey @tdctunes, here is a little bit of BEER from @pardinus for you. Enjoy it!

We love your support by voting @detlev.witness on HIVE .

My God! @tdctunes this machine, immediately reminds me to the one from this picture: "The Imitation Game". I believe It was called "Christopher". Pretty much like that one. What a good and interesting post of yours, mate!

Ah I haven't actually seen the film but it's been on my to watch list for a long time - hopefully very soon!

Thanks for reading/watching!

🍕 PIZZA !

I gifted $PIZZA slices here:
@pixiepost(14/15) tipped @tdctunes (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza!