MusicMonday - RIP Chick Corea

in Music3 years ago

´
Source

My weekly MondayMusic post is unfortunately a sad one this time. A few days ago, Armando Anthony "Chick" Corea passed away after losing his battle to cancer. He was 79.

This post will be a little different from the usual but I just had to say a few words about Chick Corea, one of my biggest influences in music and one of the artists who got me into jazz.

Chick is widely known as one of the greatest jazz pianists of all times, and the one responsible for "electrifying" jazz music.

During his long career, he played with a lot of great musicians - way too many to list here -, including jazz legend Miles Davis.

Like I said before, some say Chick is the person that electrified jazz and that happened mainly through his work with his "Chick Corea Elektric Band" a fusion of elements of jazz, rock n roll, and experimental music - another one of Chick's trademarks.

Chick's legacy will live on through his work but also through the many other great artists and bands he influenced such as one of my favorites, Steely Dan. He will be sadly missed but never forgotten.

That's it for today. I decided to include fewer songs than usual because Chick's work is very intense and the tracks are often very long (it's jazz after all hehe) but hopefully next week I'll return to my usual format.

I hope you enjoyed the post, despite the sad event that it talks about.

Thanks for reading

Sort:  

Congratulations @tfranzini! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 2750 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 3000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Tour Update - Advanced posting
Valentine's day challenge - Give a badge to your beloved!