Music Monday - Feeling The Blues On a Cold Autumn Day

in Music3 years ago

It's a cold autumn day where I'm at. Dark clouds fill the sky and the cold bite of winter frost is in the air. Spent the afternoon setting up Christmas decorations outdoors and starting to make preparations for our Thanksgiving here in the US. We're doing a small family gathering. We debated it over the weekend but the family voted unanimously that they wanted to get together.

With everything that is happening the holidays just aren't feeling very holiday like. The Dood's kind of feeling the blues.

Chris Stapleton - You Should Probably Leave [Cover by Mary Spender]

I found Mary Spneder searching for YouTube guitar lessons. I love her style of guitar playing and singing style. I've never heard the original of this track but I absolutely loved her cover of this!

JT Coldfire - She's Crazy

I first discovered this track on Hive in the comments section of another music post. The Dood loves slow blues and thought I'd share it in this post. I love finding new music, feel free to post tracks in the comments.

Fleetwood Mac's THE CHAIN | Acoustic Fingerstyle Guitar Cover

If you follow my #MusicMonday posts you know this guy is one of my favorite guitarists. This cover of Fleetwood Mac's - The Chain is just incredible IMHO

Rising Appalachia - I Shall Be Released - On the Farm Sessions

I'm loving the rise of what I would call roots music. There are so many new styles of cultural hill music, blues and country surfacing. I love the use of acoustic instruments and harmonizing vocals. I just discovered this looking for music to add to this post, and need to find out more about this band. The vocals are incredible! Had to share this!

Jimi Hendrix On An Acoustic Guitar

Ever since the first time I heard a Jimi Hedrix record around the age of 12 he's been one of my favorite all time guitarists. I'm not sure if I posted this before but I absolutely love this video. There are two songs here of Jimi on an acoustic guitar. The first one is his rendition of Hear My Train A Coming on a 12 string. The other appears to be him hanging out with some friends playing You Ain't Nothing But a Hound Dog on an acoustic. I love finding stuff like this online.

The blues have a way of making you happy when you're down! If I had to pick my three all time favorite blues guitarists right now it would have to be in no particular order.

  1. Clapton
  2. Hendrix
  3. Justin Johnson
  4. Jimmy Page

Well that's 4 but I thought of another as I made my list!

The Dood's sure fire remedy when he's feeling down.

Some decent whiskey neat and mixed with a double serving of slow blues!

Wishing you all happy hodlday's from Buffalo NY!

Sort:  
Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Nice selection. Some stuff that was new to me, but I have seen the Hendrix one before. He was really something special and it's so sad he died so young. The blues can be so varied. I was messing around over some blues chords last night and I may do a video based on that.

!BEER

Very sad how young Hendrix died. I often wonder what his music would of sounded like had he lived a full life. Would 50 year old Jimi have played more traditional blues or mellow out with age like a fine wine.

I was gonna suggest to you awhile ago, you should consider doing some 3speak dTube guitar tutorial videos. I don't think anyone is doing anything like that on here yet. I'd love to see some tutorials on here.

!BEER

I think Hendrix would have branched out into jazz, maybe classical or film music. He was an experimenter, but he knew about the roots of rock.

I'm not sure I'm qualified to teach guitar, but I can possibly give some tips. If you have something you would like me to cover then I can give it a go.


Hey @steevc, here is a little bit of BEER from @the-bitcoin-dood for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.


Hey @the-bitcoin-dood, here is a little bit of BEER from @steevc for you. Enjoy it!

Learn how to earn FREE BEER each day by staking your BEER.