Music Monday - Gothic Surfabilly

in Music3 years ago

As many of you know my musical tastes are all over the place. What you may not know is that I'm a huge fan of surf music. To my surprise I discovered a whole genre of gothic surfabilly style music and I've been completely hooked ever since. I want to shake the hand of the person that said, "Hey lets crossover Goth, Surf, and Rockabilly"!

It's freezing here and snowflakes float by my window as I write this. I love listening to this stuff on a warm summer day sitting in the yard maybe working on one of the motorcycles and knocking back a few beers. I guess I'm feeling nostalgic for the summer!

Warm weather and backyard brewskies might be out of the question but I can put on a little surf and reminisce about warm summer days.

Messer Chups - Magneto

With a sound like something off a Tarantino movie set, this band rocks! The guitarist is simply incrdible. I'd actually love to find an online course that specializes in surf style guitar to learn the basics of this style of music.

Satan's Pilgrims - Live at The Kenton Club

These guys are my favorite in this genre. There are so many good bands though. I think they have a really polished style though.

The Bomboras Live 2018 LA

I'd love to see any of these bands live, but these guys look like they'd be particularly fun to see.

The Coffinshakers - The Vampire live

These guys have a little more western sound to a lot of there songs but fit the genre perfectly.

The Space Cossacks Surfari Tour 97

This style of music just looks like it would be super fun to play. I love the hypnotizing melodies and the constant lead guitar. Seems like it would be exhausting!

Well that's my unique and different take on this #MusicMonday. Hope you enjoyed the selections. If you're a fan of surf, surfabilly, gothabilly and any of the other sub-genres leave a comment with some suggestions. I'm always looking for new bands to fall in love with! Have a great week ahead!

Sort:  

I like the first one. Sounds like the guitarist has his reverb off the scale, but I guess that's part of the surf sound. It's not a genre I've explored too much, but this is a twist on it. Sounds like fun anyway and that's what music should be about.

!BEER

Looks like BEER bot has been having some issues. ENGAGE too. 🙁

The heavy reverb is definitely part of the sound. I think I'm going to tear into the electric guitar this weekend. Change the pickup selector switch and work on the intonation then see if I can find some tutorials on the "surf sound" there has to be something out there. It just seems like a really fun genre of music to play.

!BEER

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

You've done it! You made me listen to all the tracks! And you know what? I do like the first one "Messer Chups" quite a bit. Maybe because it's all instrumental and the guitar play is darn good. Plus a tune that resonates with me. If I list this one in my Spotify, it'll be the first Surf, Rock, Goth and whatever you cool it, in my Spotify!

{pauze}

Done, Messer Chups is in my Spotify list to further explore ;)

Nice! I like them a lot too. They have such a unique sound. Glad you enjoyed them, I love sharing new music with people!

!ENGAGE

I do too as well, but been not focussing on the music sharing part lately. Need to pick it up again.

Feel free to share selections in my MusicMonday comments anytime. I love discovering new music :)

Did you ever go through my history of music shares? Its in the footer of mos of my posts, links to all my music posts which usually contains a single song, album or set recording plus some story I shared with it 😉

EDIT: I'll not forget about the MusicMonday tag and letting you know when I get down an write a music post :) Today I decided it was more Fun day in Crypto spheres than Music though 🙃

I might have... I'll have to check out the link though.

It's super simple, just get to my profile and select the last post, or any other in recent history. Most of them have the same footer {LOL}

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...