Discovering A MasterPiece - Introducing - Little Simz

in Music3 years ago (edited)

I am always on the look out for new music, I love the fact that I could spend every waking hour, listening to music and still not hear every piece that has been created. I enjoy quite a large genre of music, music that makes me dance, that makes me think, that uplifts me.


image.png

Little Simz

Most of all, I love music that has a message, that helps to spread awareness, as well as empowering us as individuals. Music really has the potential to instigate change, so many artists have such a wonderful opportunity to spread their message and right now, music can bring us messages of hope and healing.

I listen to different types of music, depending on my mood and whether I want to be inspired or uplifted. Mostly the music I listen to, I want it to move me. I want my emotions to be stirred, I want to be transported, to feel alive!

I recently came across the Hip Hop Artist, Little Simz, real name Simbiatu "Simbi" Abisola Abiola Ajikawo. She is a British/Nigerian artist and she has been making music and spitting rhymes since 2015.

This song, Introvert, is the first song of hers that I heard and wow, it is quiet simply a masterpiece. The intro, wow it really packs a bunch, the drums, the horns, the strings and the singing in the background. Really set the scene for what she is about to share with us. Her flow is amazing, as she raps about the state of the world right now, with so many truths, so much insight.

The message in this is Fire and I have listened to it everyday since. Here is a little sample of the lyrics......

Like they strip you of everything you're deserving
Realise there is a prison in us, we are conditioned as fuck
Man, it's like they can't sleep till our spirit is crushed
How much fighting must we do? We've been fearless enough
All we seen is broken homes here and poverty
Corrupt government officials, lies, and atrocities
How they talking on what's threatening the economy?
Knocking down communities to re-up on properties

It was hard for me to pick just a slice of this epic, epic song. This song really hits home and talks about so many things that others do not wish to speak about. I have mad respect for this woman for doing this, for using her voice to spread awareness! The video as well, is stunning, just watch and see for yourself.

This next one, is such a personal song and I can only imagine how emotional it must have been for her to share this part of her life, but also how profoundly healing. Hip Hop was originally, always about sharing truths, sharing personal pains. Then it seemed to have gotten hijacked by artists who wished only to be seen, who done whatever it took to gain attention and along the way used mostly derogatory content.

But Little Simz, she takes it right back to what it is all about and once again in this one, her flow is so on point. This song, is about her family life and the affect it had on her, especially with her father. She is not afraid to share her truth and ask difficult questions. As well as using really powerful imagery in her video.

Anxiety givin' me irregular heart rate (I love you)
Used to avoid gettin' into how I really feel about this (I hate you)
Now I see how fickle life can be and so it can't wait (I love you)
Should've been the person there to hold me on my dark days (I hate you)
It's easier to stargaze and wish than be faced with this reality (I love you)
Is you a sperm donor or a dad to me? And still

This next one, is a celebration of her culture and her determination to get what she wants. It includes an artist called Obongjayar, who was born in Nigeria, but then moved to the U.K. He adds a whole other level to this track, I love his voice and the Afro Beat sounds that go along with it. This track gets me u and dancing every time I listen to it and the video that accompanies it , is like a 70's movie, the portrays in it, are stunning.

Can't stop greatness, what's the point in trying hard
Not to recognize with all this pressure we applying
Tell my people rise up, can never be silenced
You think we're apologetic, I think we're defiant
Mummy say I gotta be a go go getter
Got the devil tryna tempt me but I know better
Never been the type to not acknowledge all the signs
It's a fact that everything I want is in front of my eyes

This last video, I included because it gives you an idea of what her and her band would be like live. The band but, wow they are great and the backing singers. They all create such beautiful music together, spreading such powerful messages and creating quite the Vibe.

I am just super excited to get to listen to this music and to see artists using their platform to spread powerful messages. The rhymes and flow from Little Simz are masterful and her lyrics are so evocative and empowering. I can not wait to see what she will create next!

I would love to hear what you think in the comments. @riverflows, @elamental and @tezmel. I think you will enjoy this amazing artist as much as I do, would love to know if you already know of her xxx

image.png

Sort:  

Wow, thanks for sharing this artist and her work. I LOVE it. I really like HipHop that makes sense and has a message. So much of HipHop is all about hate, killing, and sex with just words repeated over and over. I've added her to my Pandora play list, they have 98 of her songs online and I'm working my way through them.

I have still to check out all of her material, but I love everything I have listened to so far. I am very happy to share such excellent artists xxxx

Daaaaamn! I love me some Little Simz now!

Introvert had me bopping my head to the beats. The introduction has effortlessly summoned the African royalty in me. It is also how rhymes flow out of her like a fountain. She easily captures a certain side of me to top it off.

Yes. The second is personal. I don't know how to explain how my soul relates.

Point & Kill is mellow. It is inspiring and artful. I love love how it incorporates her Nigerian roots.

Her concert is a whole mood. The set up is to die for. The vibes she anther band are oozing is to die for.

Did I mention her hair is goals? Mine is in dreads too but hers are huge ♡

Thank you 😊

yah, I kind of knew you would love her and her ensemble as much as me. She blew me away to be honest, everything about her is on point. I just had to share the experience xxxxxxx

Wow! I watched and listened to all of this in a row. I especially loved the tiny desk concert! Beautiful, great rap and what an energy and a great band.

Thanks for sharing this, amiga! xx

She is aweome, her rhymes, her video's all of it, I just had to share xxxxx

Wow! Amazing!!!

I know, Right, she is a very talented Lady, I really had to share her creations, so that more people can enjoy them, as much as me xxx