Spread The Vibes - Music That Moves Me!

in Music3 years ago

I was very excited to get tagged by @nickyhavey in his post yesterday. I love his mixes and my first thought was that he was sharing some more wicked tunes and didn't want me to miss them. He knows full well that he always gets me up and dancing in my truck! (I tell him often enough, as there isn't much higher praise than that, in my eyes). So I went to check out his post and that is what led me to write this, because he nominated me to take part in the Spread the Vibes Challenge, which was created by @edje.

8d2558f49be69d5d67d5bf773f699116.jpeg

Image Source

The Challenge


So the aim of the challenge, is to share your thoughts and feelings about the music that has been shared with you. Then you get share some music, also sharing why and what it means to you. It's good to share genre’s of music, that you think those you choose to share it with, will like.

The rules, which are not really rules but more guidelines are as follows :
- Your reaction to the music that was shared with you
- Your music selection and related story
- Your invites of other HIVE members
- Link to the post you react to
- Post Tags has - to include #spreadthevibes #music
- Community - any community you like.


My Reaction

First up Nicky hit me with an old hospital DnB mix, which is right up my street and had me up dancing right away. Listening to this brought back memories, of my time living in London and going to squat parties.

Oh the mischief I got up to and the many, many hours of dancing. I love to dance and I love big fat basslines which is ever so present in this mix. When I listen to music, I want to be carried away by it, to be elevated, it is my favourite way to meditate. Getting lost in the music, dancing like no one is watching. Just me and that beat! Drum and bass has always done that for me, with so many different layers of sounds all fused together in a way that is so high in energy and progressive. A perfect unison in my eyes and ears lol . Thanks for this trip Nicky!

And then Nicky shared one of his own mixes,To Better Days . Better days indeed, 30 minutes of smooth uplifting DnB, with some wicked beats. I always find Nicky's DnB so smooth, so will put together. Once again this had me up and dancing. Full of positive vibes and elevating energy, just what we need to see us through this plandemic. Loving the fat bassline and progressive beat. This sounds so good turned up loud and I can not wait to get Nicky over to Spain at some point to DJ, we so deserve to have a massive rave after all of this!


My Music Selections

And now the hard bit, well not so much hard as near by impossible (to pick one or two tracks that is). I love music and I love a wide variety of genre's as well. I really want music to move me, to take me on a journey and weave me into it's story. That to me is magic!

My earliest memories of music, is listening to my dad play Jimi Hendrix and Led Zeppelin records and my Mum play Neil Young and Joan Baez. Something I am forever grateful for. I love almost all music, especially experimental music, be it, folk, rock, electronic, bring it on I say. But then I also love world music and classic music. See how difficult this is for me.

But I have to narrow it down, so to begin with I have chosen Clann an Canadian group who's music is so hauntingly beautiful, with so many wonderful sounds and a singer who's voice is like velvet. It also has piano and string instruments, which always, always move me. I have written many a poem to this album, it just stirs so much emotion up in me and on top of that it has some wicked samples of electronic music (trip hop) in there too. In my eyes (and ears) it has it all , it takes me on such a beautiful journey and really sparks my imagination. I really look forward to reading other peoples reviews of this masterpiece (well it is to me).

Next up is the wonderful DakhaBrakha, a Ukrainian group that sing traditional folk songs in their own unique style and way, even incorporating bird sounds. This song that I am sharing is so uplifting and it really puts you in a trance. The combination of their voices and instruments is just magical to me, so beautiful. I love have progressive it is and can only imagine what it would be like to hear them perform this live, wow. When those vocals come in and that beat just keeps climbing. One of my all time favourite songs I have to say and yes I can not listen to this without dancing, I dare you to try not to!


I would like to invite @riverflows, @drrune, @samstonehill, @phoenixwren and @kennyskitchen to take part in this wonderful challenge and to share some music that moves you or makes you move!


image.png

image.png




image.png


DESERT ADVENTURE.png

Sort:  

Thanks so much for the nom. Im not sure if ill have time to join in this week but i want too. @nickyhavey thinks i dont like drum and bass but thats not strictly true, and yeah mems of Bristol squat parties and site parties are nice. Now it just comes out of Jamie's shed ha. I think we have such similiar tastes, very eclectic. I would find it hard to choose, this week its either mantra or reggae, URoy died so theres been a bit of that on Melbourne independent radio


Posted on NaturalMedicine.io

I know you love drum and bass! I reckon you've even sabotaged Jamie's radio so it only plays dnb for your benefit 😜

Oh this is cool! Thank you for nominating me. I am listening to the Clann album you linked and I am already SO intrigued. 😃 Will definitely have to make a post for this!

Clann has the same effect on me. Straight to the favourite section in my Spotify! :)

Yeah can't wait to see your post, glad you like Clann xxxx

Yeahhhhh Aishlinn!! Thank you for putting a post up so quickly and spreading those vibes! Hospital Records just kills it every time, those guys are phenomenal and that Hospital Mix 4 is one well worn CD I can tell you haha! Thanks for the kind words about my mix as well - I can always tag you in my posts so you get a little ding when I share a new or old track that you may have missed previously - just wary of spamming notifications, that's not my gig really!

I'm listening in to Clann now and loving the chilled out trip-hop style vibes in this one. The main singer has a lovely voice, like you say, velvet like! Thanks for sharing - I'll be having this on in the background as I try and squeeze another music post out myself!

We'll have to hang out in Spain when things open up again!

Oh couldn't wait to get a post out, the difficult was choosing what music to share. Please so tag me, I do not consider it spam when I get to dance lol.
Here's to hanging out in Spain and having a huge rave xxxx

Haha, that's good to hear, I'll try to remember to tag you in future - got a new release out tomorrow so should be a good time to dance again!

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Thanks so much for the support xxx

wow those are some seriously unique selections love it!

Thank you, I do love them both and was real happy to get the opportunity to share them xxx

¡Hey me gustaron estos ritmos!

WOOHOO! What great music selections, and super you picked up the invite from Nicky that quick and help to Spread the Vibes. I think, Clann as a new fan! Two albums they seem to have of which the last one is from 2017. Hopefully, they did not split up and come out with a new one. The Ukraine folk one is something that I need to get adjusted to a little, though I like their somewhat unusual approach. Definitely, a piece I'll listen to (and watch) a few times more.

When having a 'like' in a brought spectrum of music, it's soooo difficult to make music selections into list of a few. About a year ago I jumped on a top 5 (or was it 10?) must changing albums in my life challenge. After hours of selecting, I downsized it to 14 and went with that. All this downsizing made me drop all sort of albums that should've been on that list too.

Thank you, I'm glad you like them. Was easy for me to response quickly as I was real hyped by the music Nicky choose and very enthusiastic to share some myself. But Yeah it was hard for me to choose, so many different genre's as well to pick from. Like that idea of top albums that changed your life, was that on Steem? maybe you could bring it back, and leave out the no. bit lol xxx

The challenge was in HIVE times, at the beginning back in April. Slobberchops was the one who initiated it. I had to check my own post for this one: https://peakd.com/hive-193816/@edje/hive-challenge-14-albums-that-changed-my-life-an-off-the-beat-list-without-the-usual-suspects I'll tell you so many great albums not in that post, even some life changing ones, but couldn't make a 50 album post that nobody reads 🤣

Aha, you made me laugh there. Glad you like DakhaBrakha and it brought back some fond memories for you lol.
Thanks for sharing your tunes/mixes with me, very nice and here's to huge parties once this plandemic is over xxx

Huuuge Parties! 😀 😉
Thank you for the inspiration!
1 Love