Techno Friday (an early one) is back - DJ ANNA from Brazil

in Music3 years ago

Introducing DJ ANNA do Brazil

I admit - I did not know her - probably due to my age as an old fart (or dinosaur) of Techno I miss many talents. So indeed time to dive into talents again with a new Techno Friday post - personally missed a lot to write about my favourite sounds. So here we go with Anna - a real talent from Brazil, living in Barcelona and playing gigs all over the world, doing the usual Techno events such Tomorrowland just recently. And as usually I want to hear what my friend @edje thinks about her skills and sounds in general as well as my buddy @andyjaypowell thinks about her style?

Background of Anna

What we can find on the web below (source: Wikipedia and thedjlist.com) - indeed an interesting story behind which touches and motivates - who of you did know her already? Like the story of her playing since 14 in dad's club - is that underground techno then?

“ANNA is one of Brazil’s finest exports and she’s quickly climbing the ranks with her seductive yet heavy-hitting brand of techno and tech-house.” – Mixmag

Brazil-born and Barcelona-based, ANNA is in high global demand – creating success out of everything she turns to whether producing originals for well-respected labels, remixing top-flight acts or moving dance floors the world over.

Recent releases on the likes of Tronic, Yoshitoshi, Terminal M plus a tech house signature etched on remixes for NERVO through Ultra Records and Gorgon City through Virgin EMI are cementing ANNA’s rightful place at the forefront of dance music and a credibility validated around the world after years of dedicated hard work and uncompromising dedication.

ANNA firmly believes that everyone has a purpose, and at the age of 14 she found her own calling; growing up behind the controls of her father’s popular nightclub in rural Brazil, absorbing the clubbing atmosphere and developing a strong connection to music.

Having not much of a reference point for underground music in her rural DJ booth, it took moving to Sao Paulo for ANNA to dive in to the electronic music scene – quickly joining a local booking agency and getting to grips with producing her own original tracks. Hard work often isn’t glamorous, especially in the face of financial difficulties and playing for free at a young age, but ANNA’s persistence and love for what she does began to pay off as she landed a huge residency at D-Edge, a global stronghold for quality music in Sao Paulo.

Early production support came in the form of Christian Smith and his renowned Tronic label, where ANNA is still a regular collaborator. After meeting Christian once he relocated to Brazil, “Behind The Groove” was a name establishing release in 2011, with highly acclaimed follow ups on Kraftek, Bla Bla, Witty Tunes and Toolroom Records reaffirming her deft studio talent.

Sort:  

Hey Hey, like you am getting a little disconnected with all the 'new' artists on the Techno front. For a few years, Techno is mainstream and soooo many artists are now in this space, either changed whatever they played before or just newbies on the block. Really really hard to keep up. Last two months I had Soundcloud on auto select with the aim to discover new artists, but to be honest, much of what I listened to didn't move me at all. So yesterday I had to get back to my 'like' list again to hear something new, but something I knew it would touch me. Couldn't resist and posted about it.

Anyways, Anna. I know the name... Yes, everybody knows the name Anna since its quite common in many countries {lol}. What I meant, I heard about this Anna in the sense that I know she exists. But, I never listened to anything coming from her hands. To be able to form an opinion, I need to really take time to listen to various of her set recordings and productions. While skipping through the recording in your post, it seems she is indeed in the Techno side of things and it also seems she is maybe not too boring, ie I hear some different types of tracks and vibes throughout a set. But that's way too little time I spend to form an opinion.

Take your time dude! I personally have my opinion and curious to hear your final judgement :-)

Nice I have never heard of her either, really enjoyed the sets,( especially the last one) that you posted here. Thanks for the introduction, I look forward to having a dance to these with my tribe over the next few weeks xxx

Dance and show the tribe movement here :-)

 3 years ago  

Wow, I fell in love!

With the music or the lady :-)?

 3 years ago  

With both of them...! 😍😍

Hahaha!

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!

Nice performance music ! 😎

Your content has been voted as a part of Encouragement program. Keep up the good work!

Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

Congratulations @uwelang! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 5 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the August 1st Hive Power Up Day