Blues.... Emotion.... Magic.....and so much more

in Music3 years ago

A genre that everyone knows and has a different form for everyone is blues music. One finds a howling guitar blues, while the other finds a lamentation typical of blues. The truth is somewhere in the middle I guess, although ... It is what someone experiences.

Blues music originated from the music made by slaves in the south of America, a lament about the daily worries. Actually, if you look at it objectively, it is strange on the one hand that people now enjoy a good piece of blues so much and on the other hand (have) forgotten its origin. To be honest, I am also guilty of that, for me music is emotion (lamentation) and magic (the feeling that music can bring about).

Probably one of the most famous blues guitarists is BB king. A great appearance, with his Lucille (guitar) and his always shiny costumes. The simplicity of his playing immediately makes it extremely difficult to match, precisely because it is all about feeling. Feeling and the emotion that releases it.


Source

The Thrill is Gone is probably one of his most famous songs to 'the general public'. The chord progression is a true 3 chord blues, its lyrics are repetitive .... complaining ... and full of feeling ...
His mimicry while playing says it all ... he tells a story that he has lived through.


Source

I never forget that I once bought a compilation CD, one of those cheap ones that was in a bin in the record store. One of the performers featured was Jeff Beck. An old hand in the business, I was overwhelmed by his guitar playing. That too (although it was with other guitar sounds) was blues ..... Again feeling .... Virtuosity and telling a story with his guitar. By the way, the bass player in this clip is also absolutely great .....


Source

One guitarist who really surprised me when it comes to blues is without a doubt Gary Moore. Although some musicians disagree with me, I found Still got the blues a typical example of modern blues ..... Whining guitar, blues scheme with beautiful bass lines .... Just music optima forma. I got to see Gary live during his Blues Alive tour. That was in Utrecht (Holland) in the support act of Tina Turner (really) ... I was almost in the front and watched with open mouth from start to finish ... What a musician and what music. When I think about it, I get goosebumps again.

Which is unprecedented, he plays so many notes in a solo and so fast, but it's still blues ...


Source

I close with a duet by the 2 masters, Gary Moore and BB King. If you have the time, watch the whole clip .... How BB king looks at Gary Moore's guitar playing, just great .... Two masters each with their own style .... but with a blues heart.

I hope they play some awesome duets in heaven... :)

Good evening !!

Greeting,
Peter

Sort:  

I got to see Gary live during his Blues Alive tour. That was in Utrecht (Holland) in the support act of Tina Turner (really) ... I was almost in the front and watched with open mouth from start to finish ... What a musician and what music. When I think about it, I get goosebumps again.

I imagine it can not be forgotten, never.

Thanks for your post, now I am listening for the second time already to Gary Moore Still Got The Blues song. ( I don't want to press that "reply" button and go from here until that amazing solo is done hahaha)

Thank you @mipiano , It wil be a great memory for ever :)

We hope that live concerts can be enjoyed, one day... again...

We sure will, can't wait. Untill that time, I am joining a lot of live streams. This weekend a stream of Geoff Tate, former Queensryche vocalist. :)

Two of the albums I have been listening to a lot lately are from Eric Clapton. Riding with the King and Me and Mr. Johnson are both great albums. You should check them out if you haven't already, those I am sure you have!

Can't recall I did, will do first thing in the morning while I have my email ritual :) Thanks @Bozz

Logo-comments2.pngYour post was reblogged by us and received a (still) small vote from the Music community on Hive.

Do you want to get involved? Do you want to support music and this project? Follow us to keep you updated and read our Introduction post!