Music A to Z Challenge - Letter R

in Music4 years ago

Here's my selection of music to share with you today. As usual, we have a variety of styles, all things that I enjoy listening to from time to time.

Let's start with some Country...

Rosanne Cash - Runaway Train (1988)

Rosanne hit Country music #1 with this song, written by John Stewart.

This is another singer that I didn't realize how much I liked her work until looking on YouTube for things to add to my playlist. Song after song went onto my playlist. If you like any 80s country music, I'd give her a listen.


Here's a song that made me buy a movie...

Alexander Rybak - Superhero (Russian - 2009)

I first heard of Alexander Rybak when he won Eurovision for Norway in 2009. Soon, my children and I were listening to everything he sang.

This song drew our attention particularly well - as the trailer for the Russian movie Black Lightning (Chernaya Molniya), which we soon ordered on Amazon - and loved. It wasn't like American superhero movies... it was very different and wholesome, yet sweetly satisfying as well - very much Alexander Rybak's natural music style.

Alexander Rybak is a Norwegian violinist who is the son of two musicians - one Norwegian, one Russian. That is why he is fluent in both - and English.

More recently, he's also sung "Into a Fantasy" from How to Train Your Dragon 2. He's worth a listen.


REO Speedwagon - One Lonely Night (1984)

I never truly appreciated this song until I came across the video, which is really an artistic, dramatic piece in its own right. This song did okay in the USA in 1984, though never reached the popularity of some of their other songs; still, I can say that this gives a good feeling of what 80s music was doing in the USA. Go back to the 80s tonight...


This was today's post for the Music A to Z challenge given to us by @psos

Music A to Z Challenge is here!

Rules

  • Each day one alphabet letter, 2 Bands or Singers, one song of each Band or Singer. (I have chosen to do 3 Bands/Singers.)
  • Your feelings about Bands or Singers.
  • Link to the songs.
    I will post YouTube link to musics that may not be able in your country, please follow the link in the song name, sorry for that!

This is the challenge, use the hastag #a-zmusic and participate!

Previous Letters

A - Arvelaiz, Avicii & Aronchupa
B - Buggles, Bruce Springsteen & Boulevard des Airs
C - Cher, Caramella Girls & Colbie Caillat
D - Dream Academy, Joe Diffie & Dixie Chicks
E - Elton John, Enrique Iglesias & Ella Marie Hætta Isaksen
F - Glenn Frey, Florina & Frank Mills
G - Peter Gabriel, George Strait & Gabrielle
H - Morten Harket, Peter Hollens & Home Free
I - Indila, Icehouse & Irving Berlin
J - Jon Bon Jovi, Sofia Jannok & Julie Fowlis
K - Alison Krauss & Union Station, Kool & the Gang & Freddy Kalas
L - Cyndi Lauper, Lindsey Stirling & Ruth Lorenzo
M - Reba McEntire, Maroon 5 & Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh
N - Willie Nelson, Sanna Nielsen & Napoleon XIV
O - One Republic, Ozuna & Oscarcito
P - Patty Gurdy, Yann Perreau & The Piano Guys
Q - Queen, Stacey Q & Queeva



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter


Discord Link