Music A to Z Challenge - Letter S

in Music4 years ago

Here's my selection of music to share with you today. As usual, we have a variety of styles, all things that I enjoy listening to from time to time.

Sting - Fields of Gold (1993)

This is another singer I've sort of rediscovered as I build my YouTube playlists. His actual name is Gordon Matthew Thomas Sumner, but is known as Sting. His gentle voice is perfect for this and other ballads. Probably his best-known work is "Every Breath you Take" which he recorded with The Police (and makes him sound like a stalker...)

According to Wikipedia, "Fields of Gold" (written by Sting) was inspired by the fields of Wiltshire (where I spent 7 years, myself), and reached no. 2 on the UK adult contemporary chart.


Sawyer Brown - The Race is On (1989)

Originally performed by George Jones in 1964, I think Sawyer Brown took this to new levels with their performance. I've even had the privilege of getting to dance West Coast Swing to this song, which is a real workout - and a real buzz because of the high tempo.

I even got to see Sawyer Brown in concert at the National FFA convention in 1990 (back when it was still in Kansas City, Missouri.) I like a lot of their music for the fun aspect they bring into their music. If you think you don't like country music, give these guys a chance.


Continuing with the fun...

Sofia Reyes & Wisin - Muévelo (Spanish/English - 2014)

Translated as "Move it" - this is a fun and active song that makes you want to dance and... "Muévelo"!
I could easily imagine doing Zumba to this song.

I like a lot of Sofia's music, especially this extra feature for you - the one which shot her into fame in 2018...


This was today's post for the Music A to Z challenge given to us by @psos

Music A to Z Challenge is here!

Rules

  • Each day one alphabet letter, 2 Bands or Singers, one song of each Band or Singer. (I have chosen to do 3 Bands/Singers.)
  • Your feelings about Bands or Singers.
  • Link to the songs.
    I will post YouTube link to musics that may not be able in your country, please follow the link in the song name, sorry for that!

This is the challenge, use the hastag #a-zmusic and participate!

Previous Letters

A - Arvelaiz, Avicii & Aronchupa
B - Buggles, Bruce Springsteen & Boulevard des Airs
C - Cher, Caramella Girls & Colbie Caillat
D - Dream Academy, Joe Diffie & Dixie Chicks
E - Elton John, Enrique Iglesias & Ella Marie Hætta Isaksen
F - Glenn Frey, Florina & Frank Mills
G - Peter Gabriel, George Strait & Gabrielle
H - Morten Harket, Peter Hollens & Home Free
I - Indila, Icehouse & Irving Berlin
J - Jon Bon Jovi, Sofia Jannok & Julie Fowlis
K - Alison Krauss & Union Station, Kool & the Gang & Freddy Kalas
L - Cyndi Lauper, Lindsey Stirling & Ruth Lorenzo
M - Reba McEntire, Maroon 5 & Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh
N - Willie Nelson, Sanna Nielsen & Napoleon XIV
O - One Republic, Ozuna & Oscarcito
P - Patty Gurdy, Yann Perreau & The Piano Guys
Q - Queen, Stacey Q & Queeva
R - Rosanne Cash, Alexander Rybak & REO Speedwagon



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter


Discord Link

Sort:  

I wasn't never too keen on Sting... but his Desert Rose song was pretty amazing.

About the others, I don't know them at all. I'll bookmark this and listen to them tomorrow while I'm working. 😁

Yes, Desert Rose was pretty good too.
I'm glad to introduce you to new musicians.