Music A to Z Challenge - Letter T

in Music4 years ago

Here's my selection of music to share with you today. As usual, we have a variety of styles, all things that I enjoy listening to from time to time.


First, we'll start with a group that I didn't realize I liked so much until I was putting together my playlists... This is my favorite video of theirs.

Tears for Fears - Head Over Heels (1985)

I love the fantasy-like feel of this video, his apparent infatuation for this librarian who isn't sure what to do with him. I also love the way lots of different things turn up in the video - presumably as a result of reading various books by the patrons. Of course, the card catalog pretty much no longer exists in today's library. (Actually, Roland Orzabal's expression reminds me of my choir director who mentioned how they used to put Vaseline on the teeth to make them smile...)

Great music, anyway. So typical of the 80s, so give it a listen if you're unfamiliar. Read more on Wikipedia.


Terri Clark - Girls Lie Too (2004)

Here's a lesson for all the guys who tell little fibs to the ladies they're trying to impress...

So typical of the new century country music with plenty of twang, but plenty of fun and great music. As a fan of Johnny Depp and Captain Jack Sparrow (played here by the video director, Shaun Silva), I love the video for that aspect as well. Keeping with the fun, there's even a cameo appearance by Wayne Newton at the very end.

More from Wikipedia.


And the non-English selection for the day...

Michel Teló - Ai Se Eu Te Pego (Portuguese 2011)

This one is 100% because of one of my Zumba instructors a few years ago. He taught us the dance for this song which quickly became one of my favorites - especially when the instructor noticed that I knew it well and invited me to help lead this song every week while I was there. So, it sort of became "my" Zumba song.

This incredibly catchy song hit no. 1 in the charts in many countries including the US Latin Pop Songs Billboard chart. More from Wikipedia. Give it a listen.


This was today's post for the Music A to Z challenge given to us by @psos

Music A to Z Challenge is here!

Rules

  • Each day one alphabet letter, 2 Bands or Singers, one song of each Band or Singer. (I have chosen to do 3 Bands/Singers.)
  • Your feelings about Bands or Singers.
  • Link to the songs.
    I will post YouTube link to musics that may not be able in your country, please follow the link in the song name, sorry for that!

This is the challenge, use the hastag #a-zmusic and participate!

Previous Letters

A - Arvelaiz, Avicii & Aronchupa
B - Buggles, Bruce Springsteen & Boulevard des Airs
C - Cher, Caramella Girls & Colbie Caillat
D - Dream Academy, Joe Diffie & Dixie Chicks
E - Elton John, Enrique Iglesias & Ella Marie Hætta Isaksen
F - Glenn Frey, Florina & Frank Mills
G - Peter Gabriel, George Strait & Gabrielle
H - Morten Harket, Peter Hollens & Home Free
I - Indila, Icehouse & Irving Berlin
J - Jon Bon Jovi, Sofia Jannok & Julie Fowlis
K - Alison Krauss & Union Station, Kool & the Gang & Freddy Kalas
L - Cyndi Lauper, Lindsey Stirling & Ruth Lorenzo
M - Reba McEntire, Maroon 5 & Muireann Nic Amhlaoibh
N - Willie Nelson, Sanna Nielsen & Napoleon XIV
O - One Republic, Ozuna & Oscarcito
P - Patty Gurdy, Yann Perreau & The Piano Guys
Q - Queen, Stacey Q & Queeva
R - Rosanne Cash, Alexander Rybak & REO Speedwagon
S - Sting, Sawyer Brown & Sofia Reyes



Lori Svensen
author/designer at A'mara Books
photographer/graphic artist for Viking Visual
(Buy my work at RedBubble, TeePublic, PicFair and DeviantArt.)
verified author on Goodreads
(Buy my books at Books2Read and at LBRY)
find me on Twitter
kofi_giphy.gif


Discord Link