MidNight Gems - Undiscovered, Underrated and Forgotten Songs vol.33 "Pump Down The Volume"

in Music2 years ago

pump down.jpg

For those of you that are new to my MidNight Gems series. Welcome to this nightly trip on which we will uncover & recover some amazing covers and tonight we will be looking at some very special acoustic/live versions.

All drugged up in Amstedam.... I saw this then I see this now and it´s amazing. Acoustic does not have to be perfect, it has to breathe music and come on what John does there.... Frusciante covers everything here, bass, rhythm, lead, drums, vocals, and a chord structure (yes I stole this from one of the comments as I could not say it better myself).

1. Red hot chili peppers - Under the bridge Live acoustic on VPRO 1992


Let´s talk about Drugs.... and how they influenced that beautiful psychotic voice of Keith....this is one of the very few acoustic versions where he sounds so Schizo I love his vocal wicked ways.

2. Life Of Agony - Wicked Ways (Acoustic)


Looks like Pete finally found a guitar his size....."Why so serious?" these guys made the darkest gloomiest stuff but never took themselves too seriously.

3. Type O Negative Unplugged - Black No. 1


The next one I think I shilled once already but it fitted jus perfectly in this list and it´s a great acoustic version of one of my fav bands.

4. Apoptygma Berzerk Until the End of the World (Acoustic)


There were some tech failures and the band just picked up their instruments and made lemonade and Til is not too sure if he should join in....probably not used to intimate sessions....but this ends up being probably the best live performance of Ohne Dich ever.

5. Rammstein - Ohne Dich (Acoustic Version) Live at the Rock In Vienna 2016


Another set of heroes sitting down in a weird place and generating such positive energy and sound. How I love these two and as I bragged before I know the guitarist and we had some beers, some chats, and I kissed one of his students back in the day.

6. Within Temptation at The Orchard: And We Run


Talking about shilling these girls have been in the latest two Midnight gems and this will be the last time ....but still, they are my biggest discovery in the last month and deserves airplay in my book.

7. Giolì & Assia - Your Lullaby (Acoustic)


Another song I have been sharing with you all in different versions, but this version can compete with Kavinsky and London Grammar....how beautiful small and acoustic can a song be.

8. Michael Schulte - Nightcall (acoustic cover)


After having so many bad boy metal bands showing their true acoustic colors I needed to find some acoustic Therion songs to end this I never saw these guys do acoustic....I did not think it was possible but they do an amazing job.

9a. Therion (Live in Budapest: Adulruna Rediviva and Beyond) - Lemuria (acoustic)


This next one is truly amazing, this should not be done acoustic....but they did it and it´s different....but I would not want to have missed it for the world.

9b. THERION rare unplugged To mega Therion Greece 20-10-12

What the fluff are midnight gems?

Somewhere lost in time, trying to escape out of the rabbit hole back into the rat race there is a vacuum..... that´s the place where midnight gems are found.

My Midnight Gems will try to uncover & recover those beautiful songs that nobody ever noticed or might have been forgotten.

Who the fluff am I?

Being a former DJ playing about everything and having an uncompleted study of radio journalism. I have been wanting to do this for years....Thought about it many nights and guess now it´s time to finally take it to the streets.

Hope you enjoyed this slightly confronting wave of amazing music and you still feel like joining me on the next trip as vol. 33 of Midnight Gems is coming soon.