Three Tune Tuesday - April Fools Edition

in Musiclast year

It's time again for Three Tune Tuesday, that day of the week where members of the Hive community shares three songs of their liking with the rest of the community.

Blind Skeleton Three Tune Tuesday Transparent.png

I know, I post Three Tune Tuesday on Wednesday. It's done by design! I run a Three Tune Tuesday livestream on Tuesday, then post the songs the next day. Want to be the first to hear them? Tune in live!

12:00pm (noon) EDT
17:00 UTC
https://blindskeleton.one/radio/

I take a slow, relaxing approach to Three Tune Tuesday: I like to share pre-1924 78rpm songs from my collection, and record them while playing on an appropriate time-period windup phonograph. I encourage you to take a few moments and slow down with me. Settle down, close your eyes, and take yourself back.. way back.. in time, to a distant uncle's parlour in the early 1920's. There are comfortable seats, pleasant conversation, and old music.

And yes, it's not quite April Fool's Day, for those who celebrate, but it's close enough to have an April Fool's inspired Three Tune Tuesday!

The song "Surprise Symphony - Andante" is a movement from the Symphony No. 94 in G major by Joseph Haydn. The piece is also known as the "Surprise Symphony" because of a sudden fortissimo chord at the end of the otherwise piano opening theme in the variation-form second movement (Andante). The music then returns to its original quiet dynamic as if nothing has happened, and the ensuing variations do not repeat the joke.

Despite the name, the song Humoresque is not, in fact, a song intended to be funny at all. Rather, the word "humoresque" is a Czech word meaning "a light, playful piece of music." The piece was written by Czech Antonin Dvorak and is intended to remind him of his Bohemian homeland.


The advent of mass media has allowed the mischievous among us to take April Fools Day pranks to a whole new level. While, previously, it may have been hysterical to prank you children by dumping water on them in the morning to wake them up with a cheerful "Good morning!", mass media allows us now to prank an entire group of peoples at once, either by confusing them or sending them into an outright fright. Take, for instance, the BBC during the dawn of television:

Let's look at the BBC again, this time BBC Radio:

And the BBC yet again!

God bless the BBC.


The song "Surprise Symphony - Allegro di molto" is the third movement of the Symphony No. 94 in G major by Joseph Haydn, and the flip side to the first song of the day today. It is one of the most famous pieces of classical music, and I'm sure you'll recognise it.

In Haydn's old age, his biographer Georg August Griesinger asked him whether he wrote this "surprise" to awaken the audience. Haydn replied:

No, but I was interested in surprising the public with something new, and in making a brilliant debut, so that my student Pleyel, who was at that time engaged by an orchestra in London (in 1792) and whose concerts had opened a week before mine, should not outdo me. The first Allegro of my symphony had already met with countless Bravos, but the enthusiasm reached its highest peak at the Andante with the Drum Stroke. Encore! Encore! sounded in every throat, and Pleyel himself complimented me on my idea. (Source: wikipedia)

Three Tune Tuesday (TTT) is initiated by @ablaze.

I run a live stream of my TTT songs every Tuesday at 12:00pm EDT, then take that stream and share the songs from it here, on Hive, on Wednesday (or occasionally Thursday). These songs are all old pre-1923 78rpm records from my collection, played on my antique phonographs and recorded with a well placed microphone. Like what you hear? Come listen live!

Online Radio: https://blindskeleton.one/radio/
Three Tune Tuesday Live Stream: 12:00pm (noon) EST

Listen to the podcast!
https://blindskeleton.one/blind-skeleton-podcasts/


(c) All images and photographs, unless otherwise specified, are created and owned by me.
(c) Victor Wiebe


About Me

Sometimes photographer. Wannabe author. Game designer. Nerd. 78rpm disc jockey.
General all around problem-solver and creative type.

Blind Skeleton

Blind Skeleton Banner.png

Online Radio: https://blindskeleton.one/radio/
Three Tune Tuesday Live Stream: 12:00pm (noon) EST

Sort:  

Oh, I thought the concept of April is limited to us in Ngeria, hehe. I am surprised to see you talk about it.
Nice tunes as always. Taking time and making the best.
Weldone

I love April Fools. I'm hosting a birthday party for my son on Saturday, and I need to give some good thought to a good prank!

Hehe, that great man
Weldone

As usual you sharing your unique taste in music. I like how you matched the songs with April fools theme. I also love how you gave some background and info on the songs as it teaches people new things as well. Have a great week and see you next week!

Congratulations @wwwiebe! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 13000 replies.
Your next target is to reach 13500 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

Hive Power Up Day - April 1st 2023
Happy Birthday to the Hive Community
The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 last year  

Ah yes the old Spaghetti tree!! I believe they are endangered and you don't see near as many around anymore! Hopefully you caught your son with a good stunt!! Ha ha..

Nice trio as usual transporting me back 100 years.