Georg Andreas Sorge, Helft mir Gottes Güte preisen | Secrets of Organ Playing Contest, Week 106

in Classical Music3 years ago (edited)

▶️ Watch on 3Speak


This is my entry for the Secrets of Organ Playing Contest, Week 106. I play Sorge's choral prelude on the melody of "Helf mir Gottes Güte preisen".

thumbHive.jpg

Georg Andreas Sorge (1703 – 1778) was a German organist, composer, and, most notably, theorist. Sorge’s first professional appointment was at the age of 19 as court and town organist at Lobenstein, a position that he maintained until his death. Though Sorge is mostly remembered as theorist, he was also a prolific composer. His 12 Trios for organ are still used in organ playing education.

That Sorge had a knack for writing trios is also clear from his choral preludes. His best choral preludes are the ones that were conceived as choral trios. Typically Sorge writes a three part introduction and accompanies the choral melody with a two part accompaniment.

Sorge's choral prelude on the melody of "Helft mir Gottes Güte preisen" is a very nice example of this type of choral prelude. Sorge writes a very lively introduction in three parts and accompanies the choral melody with a two part accompaniment employing the same motives as the introduction.

Sadly, Sorge just finishes the piece where the chorale melody ends. I would have expected Sorge to repeat the introduction. As I like the introduction a lot, I decided to add it at the end of the piece. I think it creates a nice musical structure, though I had to add half a bar to create a firm ending in g minor.

Of course it's very debatable to adjust someone else's composition in this manner. I think it creates a satifying whole. What do you think?

As per the contest rules here's the youtube vdeo:

The score is available on my website: http://partitura.org/index.php/georg-andreas-sorge-helft-mir-gottes-gute-preisen/


▶️ 3Speak

Sort:  

Hehehe, so you just added the introduction as you said 😎 Upgraded version 👌

I don't want to repeat myself, but man, I am here again impressed with your agile left hand 🙌

I'll take that as a big compliment and I thank you for it.

Like I said, I had a little help from mother nature and a lot of pratice. Organ music literature has lots and lots of music like this (Trio writing) where both hands and feet are treated equally, as if each was a seperate instrument. Every organist needs two agile hands and two agile feet. You should see my post about Bach's a minor fugue, BWV 543. Lots and lots of sixteenth notes for the feet....

Posted using Dapplr

Resteemed, your post will appear in the next curation post with a share for you!


Your post has been supported and upvoted from the Classical Music community (Subscribe at peakd and Steempeak) as it appears to be of interest to our community. We also support jazz and folk music posts!

If you enjoy our support of the #classical-music community, please consider a small upvote to help grow the support account!

You can find details about us below.



The classical music community at #classical-music, Peakd, Steempeak and Discord. Follow our community accounts @classical-music and @classical-radio or follow our curation trail (classical-radio) at Hive Vote or SteemAuto!

Thanks for your entry!

Very good choice to add the ritornello at the end! Bravo!