Moving, an opportunity to start practicing minimalism?

in The MINIMALIST2 years ago

How many times have you moved? Several times? None? Enough?

Whatever the answer, moving sometimes seems like a nightmare because of the amount of stuff you have to pack. It is where we wonder if it's a good time to start practicing minimalism. What do you think?
I invite you to read on to see what moving is all about.

Moving and Minimalism (5).png

Source

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

Many reasons lead to a move. Sometimes the move is planned, and sometimes it is not. When I say that the move is planned, I mean that there is no rush to move house. It assumes that there is a stipulated time to pack calmly. On the contrary, hurried moves happen in a short time, so packing everything is a challenge. However, whether the move is planned or unplanned, sometimes the result is the same: too much stuff to pack. If the new place is smaller than the old one, it's a headache. Has it happened to you?

Moving and Minimalism (4).png

Source

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

Is moving an opportunity to get rid of material things?

Far from what you would like to hear, from my personal experience, the answer to this is a resounding NO.

Moving involves coordinating several aspects, from receiving the keys to the new house to buying the boxes you will need to pack as well as the truck that will transport your things. Believe it or not, you even have to take how many heavy objects have to be carried up the stairs since there are places that do not have elevators or prohibit moving heavy objects in them.

image.png

Source

The truth is that the time of the move is the worst time to decide what to leave and what to pack. In case you have things that you no longer want, this decision is very late because there is no chance to deliver them where they can be used. Therefore, it is best to periodically make a review of your material things and select the ones you don't use, and get rid of them quickly. Do not wait to move to do it 😉.

image.png

Source

Once you select the things you are going to give away or donate, get them out of the house early. A trap that used to happen to me was that I would leave the bags in the living room waiting to take them somewhere, and that never happened. It would take up space, cause clutter and ultimately be a temptation to take things out of the bags or boxes and put them away again. It was terrible!

image.png

Source

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

Is there a method to get rid of some material things?

There isn't. Each person establishes one according to various criteria. In general, lately, I have been selecting things by item. I have been reevaluating kitchen items for a month now. I had shelves full of containers that I never used, so I got rid of them based on how much I used them. I did the same with my baking tools. As you may know, I love to bake, but I'm not in a restaurant, so there are tools I use very little. Although there was a time when I used them frequently, nowadays that is no longer the case, so I got out of them as well. With this practice, I realized that the cupboards in my kitchen were enough, what happened was that they were full of things with little use.

image.png

Source

This same criterion I am using with bed linens. My son has grown, and we have changed the size of his bed. It used to be a single bed, and now it's a king size. So now I have a lot of small bedding and not enough for a larger bed. So what to do? give that linen away and have a couple of sets, taking into account the season of the year (winter or summer) to dress that bed.

If you go from room to room, surely there are things to select, things of little use or maybe none at all. I suggest you take a couple of days a week to go through and get rid of some of them. Don't fall into the trap that "maybe you'll need it later". It usually doesn't happen 🤣

image.png

Source

Frequently reevaluating the use you give to your material things is the opportunity to practice the "Less is more" and live in an orderly environment, do not wait to move to try to do it. If you don't do it, the only thing you will achieve is to move all your objects to the new place where they will only take up space. If you have to move at some point unexpectedly, I can assure you that packing will be less cumbersome since you will have things sorted according to their usefulness. When we are in orderly spaces, we can focus better.

image.png

Source

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

After this, I would like you to tell me, do you have to move frequently? How has your moving process been? Do you often get rid of things you don't use?

Thanks for reading. See you in next post!

cintillo atardecer definitivo.png

English (2).gif

Sort:  

Yeap, in our home we always practice the saying "less is more". I know a lot of people who are hoarders, I've seen what it does to them and it's not good. Well, we can't really judge them because it's their happiness.
As for the moving, I am glad when I got married my husband already constructed a little house for us like a bachelor's pad. Little by little we tried adding some room and now after 26 years it's already a third floor... haha.
Grateful for all the blessings.
I like your article, you've got a new follower here.
Thank you.

Thank you very much for your kind words. I am glad that after so many years you have grown together. It is always good to review and not accumulate.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @chaodietas ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

Hello @chaodietas

I agree with this 100%.

Therefore, it is best to periodically make a review of your material things and select the ones you don't use, and get rid of them quickly. Do not wait to move to do it 😉.

Excellent tip!

Once you select the things you are going to give away or donate, get them out of the house early.

Good point.

It's very true what you've said, but I think people tend to delay getting rid of stuff thinking that they might need them. However, if we all did the things you mentioned, then moving would be half the nightmare that it can be.

Nice post:)))

Hello @millycf1976,

I think people tend to delay getting rid of stuff thinking that they might need them.

This is very true so the practice of "less is more" is an everyday thing, it is about making it a habit.

In my country we have a local saying when you want to wish someone the worst: "I hope you move". It's a kind of incantation for that person to experience first hand the nightmare of packing a lot of stuff 🤣🤣🤣

There is another saying: "I wouldn't wish it on my worst enemy to move". It is curious?

Thank you very much for stopping by. Have a nice weekend 😃

"I hope you move"

I like that 🤣

It makes so much sense!