[Blog #81] Minimalistic Lifestyle Choices | Are you a minimalist?

in The MINIMALIST2 years ago

Heeeyho Readers! In the spirit to support new communities, let's explore minimalism.


I've recently discovered that @millycf1976 created a community to discuss minimalism. According to the community description, The Minimalist is centered around a minimalistic approach to all aspects of life: Minimalistic Living Spaces and Decor, Minimalism for Spirituality Purposes, and Minimalism in Tangible and Intangible Possessions and Usage. If you are into the minimalistic lifestyle, consider subscribing and check her contest down below.

Minimalistic Lifestyle Choices: A Posting CONTEST

Being fully conscious of a minimalistic life or pursuing it as a goal has never been my priority, even though I've become — depending on the definition — a minimalist person over the years. Since this is a topic I don't often talk about, and because I like to expand my mind, a contest came just about at the right time.

She gives us three topic options to choose from, but I think option one can't be answered without touching option three. Sooooo, let's approach both.

SAM_0626.JPG

Living with the basic in Patagonia


I can't start without explaining what I perceive as a minimalistic lifestyle, which comes through the lens of a person who finds happiness on adventures, travels, challenges, sports, and different outdoor activities.

What does minimalism mean to you? And why did you decide to apply minimalism to your life?

Minimalism is directly linked to freedom; it's one mean to achieve that end. Freedom comes in four shapes: geographical freedom, spiritual freedom, financial freedom, and freedom of time.

There’s the geographical freedom to roam and explore every corner of this world without being locked in one place. The spiritual freedom that permits us to exist as an independent and confident individual without bothering about the perceptions others might have of us. Financial freedom, serving to ease life. Lastly, the ever-important and scarce freedom of time, the only one we can’t get back once we lose it. — from Tales of a Patagonian Journey by Arthur Oliveira.

Geographical freedom can't exist without a minimalistic approach regarding our tangible possessions. A car, house, and loads of useless stuff that we only remember when the dust becomes unbearable are anchors to a person pursuing the freedom to roam the world. In this sense, minimalism means having less. It hit me naturally since I began traveling with only the essentials to sustain life on the road, and then continued as a principle whenever I came home, to the realization that most of my possessions were useless.

IMG-20181204-WA0000.jpeg

Everything I need is on this bicycle


Spiritual and financial freedom are also linked to minimalism. To be spiritually free one needs to avoid overly-complex relationships; needs to be an independent soul without forgetting to value those who are important to us.

Financial freedom is the product of less consumerism. When we are minimalistic with our expenses we can invest more, thus resulting in an optimized passive income. Cutting living costs to the bare minimum and making the most of our income (without selling the soul on a crossroad) is what I understand as being minimalistic.

SAM_1491.JPG

Doing nothing somewhere


Lastly, freedom of time, of living without worrying about surviving. Freedom of time is the end goal of a minimalistic lifestyle. When we master the art of living with the essentials, maximizing our passive income, and getting rid of negative people, we discover the wonders of free time. Our relationship with loved ones becomes brighter, more intense. We live. We ditch the rat's race.

How has minimalism impacted your overall quality of life and well-being?

It's interesting to think about the impacts of minimalism in my life. I've always been a "low-profile" guy. One who never pursued a materialistic living. The type who runs away from complex relationships. Am I a mimalistic person? I don't know. Some say I am; traveling has surely taught me to naturally be one.

The impacts are many. I have less to worry about, and not having the latest smartphone bothers me not. I also have more time to eat proper food, which wasn't possible when I had a... let's say, more complex lifestyle. I certainly don't see myself surrounded by technology, doubtful friends, possessions, etc.

Are you a minimalist?

Given my perception on the subject, I'd like to hear what my friends @rimicane and @phortun have to say about their experiences.

I hope you have enjoyed this post, and don't forget to check The Minimalistic community.

Peace.


Did you know that I have a book out? Check this!

Access Link: https://www.amazon.com/dp/6500272773?

Sem Título-2.jpg


If you enjoyed this post consider leaving your upvote for a hot coffee.

Find me on Twitter: https://twitter.com/mrprofessor_

~Love ya all,


Disclaimer: The author of this post is a convict broke backpacker, who has travelled more than 10.000 km hitchhiking and more than 5.000 km cycling. Following him may cause severe problems of wanderlust and inquietud. You've been warned.


I'm Arthur. I blog about Adventure Stories, Brazil, Travel, Camping, & Life Experiences.

Follow me to stay tuned for more craziness and tips.

Sort:  

Very nice read my friend, I can relate to a lot of that ;) Life is so much easier and enjoyable when you just let go of stuff... Thanks for the mention. I usually read your posts anyway but thanks for remembering me. I might come up with my own contribution ;)

I knew right away you'd be perfect to talk about the minimalistic lifestyle, at least from the little I know about you ^~

Thought I was one but perhaps I'm way far from that. Just watched the minimalist or minimalism on netflix recently, I think I'm nowhere near :/

So cool you published a book!!!!

Is there a documentary about minimalism??

I don't do Netflix. I only watched that social media doc, The Social Dilema, and even though I knew about the subject it scared the living shit our of me thinking about the future generations. Now thinking better about minimalism, I think some people take it way too extreme... in the end minimalism might be about making the most of what we have available. Who knows.

Hello @mrprofessor,
IMG_20211215_152200.JPG

Hello @mrprofessor, I knew you had a lot in you to offer this community.
What a great post 🙌

Freedom comes in four shapes: geographical freedom, spiritual freedom, financial freedom, and freedom of time.

This, is SO important!!

You also shy away from being defined as a minimalist, which shows me just how much of one you are 😆. Even that title you'd not carry.
I don't know you personally, but I detect that your minimalism is innate, and I admire that.
Thanks for sharing info about your book, I'll definitely check it out:)

Thank you for taking part in this initiative, your input and participation is valued and appreciated!

Yeeey, I'm glad you like it. I believe we don't choose minimalism; minimalism chooses us \o\o\o\

I believe we don't choose minimalism; minimalism chooses us

💯% Well said! :)

I love how you draw a firm link between minimalism and freedom here.

You've never needed, or refused to entertain the prospect of 'needing', heaps of money to find freedom. Lucky you have the family ranch to subsist on!

A lovely exploration of your relationship with money. I still think you should confront your fear of complex relationships though... You might be missing out on some riches there and I think that you would be a good catch for a lucky someone x

Lucky you have the family ranch to subsist on!

This is absolutely true. Actually, growing up around ranches is a bless and a priviledge not everyone have--for that I'm grateful enormously.

I still think you should confront your fear of complex relationships though...

I'm not sure fear is the word. I've been around 'complex' people and in the end I realized it was just wasted time and noise. Perhaps a balance between giving attention and having my own moments? I guess I just got used to the quietness and the random stuff I do alone.

I think that you would be a good catch for a lucky someone x

untitled.gif

Doing nothing somewhere.

I love it! No guilts, no worries... It is a necessity but so many think of it as wasting your time. Things have gone so complicated that the beauty of just being has turned out to sound weird.

The part of your book is wonderful! Made my day! Thank you for sharing!

Isn't it so true? When we live the present is when we are at peace. Have you ever tried sitting at a park without a cellphone, a book, anything... just sitting there... how people look at us in a strange way. I'm glad you liked it and thank you for taking the moment to comment--much appreciated. I wish you a super awesome New Year, full of doing nothing moments to relax \o\

My friends say that my cellphone is more like a landline :)
Yes, the feeling of not being distracted all the time is priceless, as well as some of these looks, haha!

That's a fantastic wish!!! To you, too!

Thanks for giving me some ideas to consider when I practice my own version of minimalism. I started practicing this when I was backpacking as well simply because I like travel light and I could focus on other things around me when I had less stuff.

Backpacking does change us, doesnt it? Don't you feel like getting rid of a bunch of stuff whenever you go back home? I find it absurd how we 'pile stuff' at home.

Thanks a bunch for stopping by

Couldn't agree more, LOL, I'm still new to this, so I still learn how to let go of things gradually 😂

Really loving and appreciating the way you broke down FREEDOM into all of it's important components. And yes, that's what's totally at the heart of Minimalism of every kind.

Lovely post contribution to a fab new community - look forward to reading more from you.

I'm excited for the Minimalist (how the heck we didn't have this one before).


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the person sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.