#Kiss Blog: Slowing Down.

in The MINIMALIST2 years ago

The world seems to move too fast and oftentimes we find ourselves doing too much just to keep up with the ever busy revolution of the modern world but while keeping up is good, we sometimes forget to “live” and enjoy living. We tend to focus more on money, connection and other things that cause us burnout and this affects our mental and physical health. I once read these words somewhere “I don’t want to watch my life from the sidelines'', it takes a ton of discipline to slow down most times because life and time doesn’t wait for anyone, instead life moves faster and we have to be constantly running to keep up with it but if we are not cautious, we’ll spend our entire life running from one point of life to the other.


Pixabay

For someone like me that easily gets overwhelmed, i tend to take slowing down a bit too seriously, I take mental breaks for days and even weeks and some of the things I do during my mental breaks are;

  • Solo Dates.

When I’m having a breakdown or taking a break, I take myself out. Sometimes it’s to get ice cream, buy makeup products or eat and it’s definitely not expensive. I take my time and enjoy the scenario.

  • Tea or coffee.

As a Nigerian, we rarely go on coffee dates, which typical Nigerian would want to get dressed, leave the house and go on a date to take just coffee or tea, in fact, it is an unspoken abomination 😅 (although there are people who would, including me 🙈). Taking coffee or tea while watching the weather, be it sunny or cloudy brings you back to your surroundings, it makes you “present” and honestly, I don’t get tired of this.

  • Going back (mentally) to a happy place or moment.


Pixabay
I do this when I’m both broken and sad. I pick a happy moment and relive it in my head, especially moments with loved ones.

  • Taking a long and quiet walk.

  • Sitting outside and taking in deep and fresh breaths.

  • Spending time with loved ones.


Pixabay

This is my reply to this week's #kiss blog

Life sometimes moves very fast, too fast it seems. What are some ways that you slow things down?

Thanks for reading my blog ❤️
❤️&🕯️ From @orah14

Sort:  

Build your own dreams or someone else will hire you to build theirs.

Just like in case of working for others, if you let others influence you and impose a lifestyle for you, you will be living by other people's rules.

Life is meant to be enjoyed and letting people impose their definition of living on you is abusing the breathe in your nostrils.
Thank you so much for engaging 🤗❤️

Congratulations @orah14! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You received more than 1250 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 1500 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Our Hive Power Delegations to the September PUM Winners
Feedback from the October 1st Hive Power Up Day
Hive Power Up Month Challenge 2022-09 - Winners List
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!