It's A Process–Learn·Unlearn·Relearn.

in The MINIMALIST11 months ago

Having skills is really pertinent in the world we I live in. You could see a person do so many things at the same time and the fun fact is that they do these things with so much confidence; making it hard for people not to believe that they're perfect at it.

IMG_9095~2.jpeg

Sometimes I wonder, why not be a Jack of all trades and a master of all?. From my perspective, this isn't totally impossible as the human brain is capable of taking in so much information but then, why haven't I reached this phase yet?

My simple truth is, as humans we cannot thrive with just one A+ skill. If a person decides to be very good at one thing, that's great but what about the rest of the things. I am one very independent person and this has helped me with my minimalist lifestyle. As a minimalist, the goal is to declutter as much as possible and also live a very simple life. Well, this can't happen when you're always having a lot of people around you in a bid to help you out with certain things.

You want to fix a bulb, you call someone, you want to paint your regular nails, you call someone, you want to stitch a tear on your dress, you call someone. This way, you're taking away the "minimal" from minimalist. These simple skills could help a great deal. I wouldn't want to be the greatest electrician or the world's best nail technician but I'd most definitely want to have the basic idea about the skills.

To answer the question, I'd love to have a 'C' in various skills rather than an 'A' in just one skill. Why? Because I have tested both and the "jack's of all trades" always have the upper hand.

To reiterate, I started the first paragraph with the line "the world we I live in". Being a master of one particular skill was a very big thing in the past. Literally everyone would depend on that master and when the master wasn't in the mood to do a job, it was their loss and not his. Life must have been very easy for the master and not for the rest of the people of course. But then things changed. There was a need and so the 'Jacks' were birthed.

IMG_20230513_172511_467~2.jpg

sep14.png

There was a time when I was very reluctant to learn any type of skill and on top of the "don't learn skills" was how to use a personal computer. To show you how serious I was, I dropped the subject computer at a heartbeat when I was given the opportunity in highschool. Funny fact, my house is filled with computer guru's and here I was. I didn't even know how to copy and paste. Terrible.

Moving on, I eventually came across the blockchain after so much hesitation and that was when I realised that there was no running
anymore. I had one skill–writing– but that wasn't enough. In the beginning, I wasn't just learning one skill, it was an array of skills from using the computer, to writing error-free, to photography, to graphic design. One wouldn't believe that I learnt graphic design because of Hive but yes, I did. I'm still far from perfection but I could always get by.

In comparison to when I began and was always dependent on literally everyone around me, it feels better now to be able to do your thing to a degree of perfection.Till date, I have no regrets about learning so many skills but I'm certain that I would have been troubled If I didn't learn those skills when I did.

I'd love to end with one of my favourite quotes from Alvin Toffler. It says "The illiterate of the 21st century will not be those who cannot read and write, but those who cannot learn, unlearn, and relearn."



This is my article in response to the #kiss blogging idea. You could check here for more information



All images used belong to me and were taken with my mobile device



With love, wongi ✨

Sort:  

To show you how serious I was, I dropped the subject computer at a heartbeat when I was given the opportunity in highschool

I would too but it was forced on me and I hated my school for that. Anyways along the line, I needed that skill to write jamb and it came in handy. I didn't have to tutored on where to click to pick my answers or how to use the right click and left click buttons.

Nice writing perfect cous. We still have a deal on you teaching me how to crochet for FREE huh😂? I'm just looking for the perfect day to avail myself as school has resumed and I have lots of work to do.

I didn't have to tutored on where to click to pick my answers or how to use the right click and left click buttons.

Dayym😂. I took few lessons on how to use the computer before writing the exams and that was it😂. No added stress.

We still have a deal on you teaching me how to crochet for FREE huh

I like how you made caps locked the free😂😂😂. Yes love, we still have a deal. Tell your lectures to stay with their family 🌚

like how you made caps locked the free😂

I really had to mehnn😂😂😂😭.

Yes love, we still have a deal. Tell your lectures to stay with their family

I'll use the whole of this week to tell each and everyone of them then I'll see you on Saturday if you don't mind 😂🥺

Saturday could work😌.

I'd be expecting you ✨

Another perspective to this argument is how being a content creator requires more than just creating the content.

Imagine what YouTubers generally have to do to get their content out. They'd have to do videography and photography, sound production (for some), be tech wizzy in some aspects, and the list can go on.

Being good in many areas than one is no longer an option but crucial in this day, especially if one is looking to thrive.

This is another interesting perspective to this discussion. I like that you used YouTubers as an example.

content creator requires more than just creating the content.

I'd agree with you on this too. Many people see content creation on the surface, they fail to put into consideration that there are other intricate things that make up content creation.

Thank you so much for coming around✨

You've highlighted some valuable skills that you've learned to demonstrate your point and have done so convincingly well:)
small KISS Gif.gif
Thanks for your #KISS
I enjoyed it 😉


lips sealed

speaking lips

I'm glad I was able to put up a convincing article :⁠)

Thank you so much for stopping by. I do appreciate ✨

What a beautiful and true quote by Alvin Toffler. I agree with you, being a jack of all trades is better than having one great skill. I do so many things, sometimes I feel like I'm doing too much and I know how to do too many things😂😂..

Sometimes it's good to do too much as it's necessary for our general wellbeing. We all need these skills one way or the other😅.

Yeah, it's more like you bring out your C+ skill when you need it.... Whatever situation you find yourself, you have a skill that can help you

Exactly my point.

It seems like I saw this coming when I mentioned "jack of multiple ideas" lol😄..
Truthfully, gone are days we put all eggs in one basket. What if the basket falls?🤗.

Nice write up🙌
Let me check if the contest is still on and write🕵️

That the question. What if the basket falls.

The contest is still on. I'd love to read your entry🙃.

The contest is still on. I'd love to read your entry🙃.

Okay, let me go and invoke ideas

abeg which time make sense to post?...if dem dey kurate sha?

On to the other side