Dark light and a winner shot | 15 rolls in 15 days - Day 8

Welcome back! I took a weekend off and paused the challenge and instead decided to go to the beach and enjoy the sun. I did take pictures of my cats running around the backyard, but those are just for me. :D

If you look through today's images, you can see how dominant the black color is on such a sunny day. It depends how you look at it and from what perspective - the light can be both dark and bright. It certainly brings out the contrast in images. With skillful editing, photos can be processed in such a way that only highlights are dominant and lead the viewer's eye to important details.

It can be done by shooting towards the sun, subjects are backlit and you get either a halo-like contours or clear silhouettes. Or you can point the camera towards the spot directly hit by the sun - subjects are well lit and everything in the background falls into shadows.

As you can, I like to use bus stops a lot, the ones on a good location during golden hour, to play with this concept. Shapes of the bus polls, seats, window textures can frame the subjects well.

I saved the best shot for last. A silhouette of a girl on the window, dimmed light, shapes and dirty windows - everything came together in this one. Hope you enjoy!

This challenge is designed to push me to shoot more, think more about what I'm shooting and also to start posting more regularly. It's supposed to imitate shooting a film camera, 1 roll each day and posting the results. Recently I shot a roll of Kodak film and it inspired me to bring this series back. Here are the general guidelines:

- Create up to 36 photographs each day
- Select and post at least 10 photographs
- Don't look at images on the LCD screen


Sort:  

such a lovely series of street moments taken of film.
live the idea of the personal challenge pushing you to shot more
you're very welcome to join my film photography community and to post there as well
https://ecency.com/created/hive-120035