Sunlight and the Wind - Bird photography

in Photography Lovers4 years ago

I've been off Hive for a while, not to avoid hive but because I've been busy. Busy working, busy with a crying baby, busy with friends, busy trying to spend time at our summer cottage, busy painting furniture, busy painting a wall, busy photographing, busy editing.

I have been skipping hive and pretty much all social media. I haven't been on twitter, I haven't been on hive, I haven't been on discord or chats. It's been exhausting. I haven't even been playing any games!

I don't even know what to play anymore.

I had a few thousand photos to fix SO FAR and I have still hundreds to go. Now to get to do something else, I'm making a collection post. The one thing I'm happy about is that I'm feeling more and more confident about myself as a photographer.

I've also had a few fun photo sessions with different people. Pregnancy photos for a friend, just casual photography on a BBQ with friends and a bit of fun time photographing my friend while he drove a motorcycle.

As I don't post photos about people, you're lucky enough to get the first bird post. I'm planning to make 1-3 more posts in the next few days as long as I don't get overwhelmed by all other things I'd supposed to do. Like more painting.

Linnut  232.jpg
Common sandpiper, Actitis hypoleucos

Linnut  233.jpg
Whooper swan, Cygnus cygnus

Linnut  235.jpg
Whooper swan, Cygnus cygnus

Linnut  243.jpg
Butts of common merganser/goosander, Mergus merganser

Linnut  251.jpg
Common tern, Sterna hirundo

Linnut  258.jpg
Common chaffinch, Fringilla coelebs

Linnut  291.jpg
Lesser whitethroat, Sylvia curruca

Linnut  293.jpg
Eurasian herring gull, Larus argentatus

Linnut  294.jpg
Eurasian herring gull, Larus argentatus

Linnut  297.jpg
Black-headed gull, Chroicocephalus ridibundus

Linnut  306.jpg
Common sandpiper, Actitis hypoleucos

Linnut  324.jpg
Lesser whitethroat, Sylvia curruca

Linnut  338.jpg
Lesser whitethroat, Sylvia curruca

Linnut  345.jpg
Lesser whitethroat, Sylvia curruca

Linnut  350.jpg
Common sandpiper, Actitis hypoleucos

Linnut  359.jpg
White wagtail, Motacilla alba

Linnut  361.jpg
Common tern, Sterna hirundo

Linnut  368.jpg
Lesser whitethroat, Sylvia curruca

It's amazing how photographing birds makes me see so many more birds. More birds, more species, more details in every bird.

It's amazing.

The sad thing is that I'm not sure if any of my birdhouses put in the woods around our cottage has birds in them. At least I didn't see any birds flying in our out from them, but luckily they're well built and should last long. Hopefully we'll see something more next year. I'm still looking forward in getting some owls to live there.

Before we get any owls I could have a chance to get some photos of mice/voles/other rodents living there, as they're EVERYWHERE. Too bad they're really good at hiding, but you can hear them running almost everywhere. They're rustling under the bilberry shrubs, running under the leaves and hiding in all small holes between the rocks. That's also the main reason why we want to get one or two owls living there.

A small owl would be much more preferable predator than a mink. Small owl shouldn't be an issue to children or pets, but if we'll get a pack of minks living in the island, they can be aggressive towards both children and pets. They'd be a bigger issue than the rodents are.

Sort:  

Beautiful, totally great pictures! :)

Thanks :)

All the time and money have not been completely wasted :D

Totally not, great work 👍

Lovely photos! I wish you good luck and energy for all of your projects!

Thanks :) I'm doing my best! Doing a bit different kind of painting than what you do..

It is beautiful. I appreciate art in any style, you are a good artist!

Really amazing pics. Love to see the raw nature. Thanks for sharing❤️❤️❤️

Thanks :)

The summer is short in Finland, it's a hard job to have enough time to get photos of everything.

You are doing a pretty good job then.

Congratulations @apsu! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 27000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 28000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board And compare to others on the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Introducing the HiveBuzz API for applications and websites
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!