F35. Go!

take off.jpg
F35 take off sequence #1

A couple of years ago I saw an image on line that really piqued my interest. It was a composite of airliners taking off from one airport. It was nicely worked and it sort of intrigued me just how many aircraft departed in one day. I think the image that day was from East Midlands Airport (EMA) in the UK, but I've since seen a number of different images from different airports, doing something very similar.

take off-2.jpg
F35 take off sequence #2

It's been something I've wanted to try since I saw the image the first time. But I didn't want to copy it, I wanted it to be my own take on the image. It wasn't until I went down to RAF Lakenheath earlier in the year that the idea presented itself to me. Actually, it was the images I took that day that gave me the idea just a few days ago, Why go for multiple airplanes? Why not just show a sequence for one aircraft? So here we are. Three different sequences, each showing one individual F35 taking off, each from a different viewpoint around the airfield.

take off-3.jpg
F35 take off sequence #3

Now I've done it once, I can see the possibilities and know I could do it better. I took all of the shots hand held and stitching them together in photoshop was a bit problematic at times - shooting through the fence, the surprising way the light could change almost from shot to shot, and the angle my lens seemed to point - sometimes I had more sky in the image, sometime more grass. Next time I may try it on a tripod and work for the outcome rather than get the images and then create the outcome from what I have.

Also, one thing I need to look into is the speed at which I am firing the trigger. In my mind I would have liked all of the different iterations of each of the aircraft to have been an equal distance from each other (I know, I could have done this in photoshop by cutting out the planes and putting them where I needed, but that wouldn't have been quite so honest as stitching the images together). So, already planning and getting ideas together. Watch this space.

divider-black.png

About me:

I can mostly be found shooting models, aviation, motorsports and, when I can, wildlife. But I enjoy most aspects of photography. You can find more of my work on the links below.

divider-black.png

Social Media
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter

divider-black.png

Website
https://brianbroganphotography.com/

Logo-header-v2.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @bbphotography,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

@teamuksupport many thanks and many thanks for the re-blog too

brilliant matey... loving these..

@richgaynor cheers pal, appreciated