Never Say Never - The Joys Of Groups Shoots

jess-34.jpg
Jess In White

Last Sunday I went over to my friends studio in Grimsby. We were having a little group shoot, three photographers and two models. I need to get this out there straight off. I really, really don't like group shoots. I tend to tolerate them if the photographers are good friends, but can't think of many things worse than a group shoot with people I don't know.

jess-17.jpg
Jess In Black

Don't get me wrong, I love the social aspect of groups shoots, the chit chat, the to-ing and fro-ing of ideas. But when the shooting starts, forget it. It like an all out free for all. Even with friends. I never EVER get the shots I want at groups shoots. It always ends up being a make do kind of job.

jess-50.jpg
Retro Colours

And why? I think sometimes photographers get in the zone and don't think of other photographers. They are so focussed on their ideas that time and any form of "studio etiquette" goes out of the window. I have literally had other photographers shooting over my shoulder, nicking my ideas (and the idea thief getting the images posted on Social Media before I even get home), eating into your other people's shoot time etc, the list goes on.

jess-30.jpg
Jess In White (again)

During a group shoot last year I managed just four shots with one of the models - that's literally how bad it can get. Sometimes it just seems such a pointless activity (other than the social interaction). Once again, during this latest shoot I got some shots I quite like - some featured here - but got none that I actually wanted. Again.

So, why do you still go to them, I hear you ask. Sometimes the chat, the banter with good friends can be a tonic, sometimes being with like minded good friends is just what is needed. So in spite of me saying never again, I can guarantee I'll be there at the next one, and probably come away whining about not getting the shots I wanted 😂

divider-black.png

About me:

I can mostly be found shooting models, aviation, motorsports and, when I can, wildlife. But I enjoy most aspects of photography. You can find more of my work on the links below.

divider-black.png

Social Media
Facebook
Instagram
Twitter

divider-black.png

Website
https://brianbroganphotography.com/

Logo-header-v2.jpg

Sort:  

Hi @bbphotography,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

@teamuksupport many thanks, much appreciated

Congratulations @bbphotography! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain And have been rewarded with New badge(s)

You got more than 500 replies.
Your next target is to reach 600 replies.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!

@hivebuzz many thanks

That's great @bbphotography! We're thrilled with your commitment to Hive! Let's go for this new goal!

When I saw the title, I was expecting a group of models, yet, you have one single lady, a lovely one I must admit.

So in spite of me saying never again, I can guarantee I'll be there at the next one, and probably come away whining about not getting the shots I wanted 😂

Lol, you are funny, but I know what you mean and that's the right mindset. You did an excellent job in my eyes, so congrats.

@erikah we did have a couple of models, I've just not got round to editing yet. 😁

Lol, good, then there's more to come. Looking forward to seeing those shots as well 😃

interesting photo composition especially with a very extraordinary model and I like what you provide

@elkan ,any thanks, very much appreciated.

Wow, these are some stunning shots! I think some of the best group shots were at that water tank place... but that was more out of necessity than social gatherings.

@castleberry thank you buddy, very much appreciated. Tank space was another kettle of fish altogether. A bizarre way for any photographer to shoot. Kinda reminds me of a pack of paparazzi vying for a space to take the same shot as the guy (or girl) next to him.

That was well put! hahaha
untitled.gif

Ha ha, spot on 😁