Picking A Subject And Changing Perspective

in Photography Lovers3 years ago (edited)

I Am The Hobby Photographer ..

Who is always trying to look at things from a different perspective. I think one of the best ways to polish up on this practice is to pick a subject and just play with one or two adjustments. For this exercise I like to choose a still life object, that way I have less variables, like movement, to worry about.

For these shots, displayed today, I chose multicolored margarita glasses. They were beautiful glasses that a friend of mine has. Their pastel like colors and dimpled glass surface made for some interesting subject matter, and I think a few of the shots express that very well.

My buddy and I haven't gotten together much lately to mess around with our photography like this, in a while. We both share a passion for it and love playing around with these types of things. Covid needs to go away so we can!

I figure out in advance what adjustments are going to remain constant, and which ones I'll be playing with. In this series, I left the F-stop alone at f/6.3, as well as the ISO of 3200, an exposure bias of -0.3step and no flash. The adjustments that I played with were the focal length and exposure time.

The Camera..

I am using a Canon EOS Rebel T1i, with a Tamron 28mm-300mm lens.

The Shots..

Like I mentioned above, I am going to shoot a series of photographs from several different perspectives. I'll accomplish this by changing my angle to the subject in as many different ways as I can.

I believe I captured about 50-60 unique shots, and bet I could have gotten more than that. I won't bore you with them all, but chose 10 of my favorites instead.

I will present them in both color and black and white. I LOVE black and whites and find it hard not to convert most of my pictures to B&W for the fun of it. Sometimes I am surprised by the complexity in values when I do this.

I'll only list the two adjustments that I may have changed when taking these shots

1/60sec at 39mm

IMG_3229.JPG

IMG_3229x.jpg

1/100sec at 39mm

IMG_3230.JPG

IMG_3230 2.JPG

1/50sec at 300mm

IMG_3231.JPG

IMG_3231 2.JPG

1/200sec at 300mm

IMG_3233.JPG

IMG_3233x.jpg

1/60sec at 135mm

IMG_3236.JPG

IMG_3236x.jpg

1/125sec at 135mm

IMG_3238.JPG

IMG_3238 2.JPG

1/250sec at 135mm

IMG_3242.JPG

IMG_3242 2.JPG

1/400sec at 97mm

IMG_3245.JPG

IMG_3245 2.JPG

1/400sec at 135mm

IMG_3246.JPG

IMG_3246 2.JPG

1/320sec at 28mm

IMG_3244.JPG

IMG_3244 2.JPG

Exercise Finished!! ..

There we have it, all done my mini shoot on changing perspective and through the process I always tend to learn something new, either about my camera, lighting, the lens I am using, or even the subject matter. I think the biggest thing I always end up learning a little about is lighting, and where I should be set up in reference to what direction it is coming from.

Hive text divider.png

0802001129.jpg

“You must forget all your theories, all your ideas before the subject. What part of these is really your own will be expressed in your expression of the emotion awakened in you by the subject.”
― Henri Matisse

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

There is a lot of detail in these pics. Looks great!

Thank you @anthonyadavisii 😁 I appreciate the support and compliments. They may appear a little grainy, but I like that look sometimes and that is why I shot them at an ISO of 3200.. to get that bit of grain in there.

Thanks!

Some beautiful practice on photography. I also loved the writing it looks like an ode to practicing photography.

Photography isn't my forte, though I had a trimester in college reading about it and writing about it. I guess that's why I'm not so fond of it in a sense. It is a complex thing.

My insight into these pictures is how each different set of pictures helps you focus on different elements like color, shape and light all present in some way or another in each picture, but highlighted by the effects. I don't know if that was the purpose or if I'm just talking nonsense. But I love the pictures. They are incredible.

focus on different elements like color, shape and light all present in some way or another in each picture, but highlighted by the effects.

No nonsense at all! this is a good description and interpretation of what I intended to brush up on.. the ability to find the right angle to the lights.

Thanks for the reply!

!ENGAGE 10

Thank you for your engagement on this post, you have recieved ENGAGE tokens.

Nice shots! My dad was a freelance photographer when I was a kid. I never really spent a bunch of time doing it with him like my sister did, so I don't know all of the technical stuff. We had a darkroom in our house which was pretty cool. We could only do black and white prints though because dad is colorblind.

HAHAHAHa... You made me laugh with the color blind thing. And it's true..

I have all of the dark room equipment, just haven't set it back up since our move into this house 13 years ago. I have a few different cameras and no free time for too many hobbies. I just grab a little time here and there for it. Retirement maybe! That's when I'll have time.😆

Fingers crossed right! I have a feeling I will be busier in retirement than I am right now. Especially if my wife retires near the same time I do!

It's funny how that is usually the case. I guess the planning and dreams are the fun part.. hopefully we all have enough time and funds to bring it all to fruition. hehe. Happy Planning!

Great results. Nice exercise.

Thank you! Nothing exciting or Tropical like you post.. but hey they ARE Margarita glasses! hehe.😄

Hello @bdmillergallery and thank you very much for your #monomad entry.
Please keep in mind that, in order to be valid and as stated in our rules, every entry needs to be posted in our Black And White Community.
Unfortunately we will not be able to consider this one for that reason 🙁

No worries.. It was an oversite on my count being that I used a template and did not see that monomad was one of the tags. Thanks for the heads up though! I removed the tag 😊

Congratulations @bdmillergallery! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 46000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 47000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

First Hive Power Up Day of 2021 - Get a Hive Power delegation
Offer a gift to your friends for Christmas