Tonight’s Beautiful Sunset - The Smile At The End Of My Day

What A Spectacular Sunset Tonight..

It's nice to see the days getting longer, even if it's just a few minutes everyday. Now when I leave work, I get to enjoy about 20 minutes of the sun and arrive home just in time for the sunset. Here in the Northeast, the winter season gives us some of the most colorful sunsets of the year.

017670db8801d48e11b861547f879259b1880bb10b.jpg

Tonight's Sunset Was No Exception.. To this rule I have come to appreciate. It was quite the beauty. The sun dipped below the wintery white horizon, while painting the snow tipped trees and the powdery white ground, a gentle shade of orange.

My Wife Told Me.. As I arrived home, placing my coat on the back of the chair and letting out a days end sigh, "You better get outside and take a picture of that sunset!" And That's just what I did.. Good advice honey.

I zoomed in on this one shot because it looked like the last ray of sun was shinning an orange beam of light straight up into the sky. I thought it looked pretty cool, even though it lasted for only a minute. It is quite hard to see in this photo unless you really look at it and maybe squint.. lol. Just of to the right of center above that thin tree.

01e2eb85f3a552fd984c6df91ed9dc09c371ee3a03.jpg

The Day Was Done..

And I was hungry and chilled. I left the warmth of my home and realized that I didn't put my coat back on before heading outside. I thought I would be quicker than the minute I spent out there. Brrrrrr... I hustled back inside, but first smiled at the sound of the ducks and geese, frolicking on the lake. The skim of ice must have melted enough for them to splash around in it. I could hear the splashing water as they squawked and squawked.

I then ran inside, shut the door and peaked out the window just before the remaining color had vanished.

0183a08bac6c76f22be78fea691695f5cea1586afe.jpg

Hive text divider.png

4HFqJv9qRjVeVQzX3gvDHytNF793bg88B7fESPieLQ8dxHzWTU2GAk2yiKb1G3jC8TtATvmLaqqVnTnWtxn8NYs6bxLzQN1DDeA1qB9NjBuAynW3ZvzUvUg1MreGKRNWuZExFxNt3kJoTbYVLCzLgGHGdafdADVn14r.jpeg

'HEARTWORK'

"Each day is born with a sunrise
and ends in a sunset, the same way we
open our eyes to see the light,
and close them to hear the dark.
You have no control over
how your story begins or ends.
But by now, you should know that
all things have an ending.
Every spark returns to darkness.
Every sound returns to silence.
And every flower returns to sleep
with the earth.
The journey of the sun
and moon is predictable.
But yours,
is your ultimate
ART."

― Suzy Kassem

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

Sort:  

A very nice sunset for you. So far we have not had many colorful sunsets, but we are getting snowfalls again per normal, some colder temperatures, (we finally got in the single digit range). It is kind of nice seeing the weather get back to some semblance of normal for us.Soon it will be the colorful sunset season for us, and I am hoping for at least one night that the northern lights will make an appearance.

The Northern Lights.. That's on my bucket list of things to see before .. you know .. before "The End" haha. They are calling for an artic cool down here too next week. We may see single digits, over night at least. I have to say though, I AM READY for summer. 😊

Very nice! We get some pretty fantastic sunsets at my house too. I think the main reason for that is we have a massive chemical plant off to the West of us as well as a big power plant. They put off a lot of smoke so that it does some pretty cool things with the sun sometimes.

haha.. reminds me of Christmas Vacation.. "That's not the friggin' Christmas Star, Gris... Its the light at the sewerage treatment plant." Guess that's why they are so nice here too. We are snuggled between a bunch of nuclear facilities. I think you have quite a few within a relative short distance too.

Yeah, I drove down by the one in Ohio a while ago. I think there is something down by Detroit too. I have heard Dow has a rector somewhere on the property, but who knows if that is really true.

A legit sunset...Something about them appeals to me...Free show from nature.

Yeah.. You've shared quite a few of them over the years. You just can't beat a good display of color 😁

Yeah, I have I guess. Love me a sunset. I tend to do some productive thinking whilst watching a decent sunset, and also at times I let the old noggin slow down and just enjoy the moment. Thanks nature.

Very beautiful capture! Everyone seemed to be under the spell!

Thank you and I think your right! Spot on actually. 😁

It is a magnificent shot, the color of the sky and the contrast with the snow is incredible.

Thanks!!! Just taken with an iPhone. I never have enough time to capture these shots with the Canon unless I am on vacation. I liked the contrast better with my eye.. never turn out quite the same through the lens.

Very nice! I really thought it was with a Canon.