I had an idea. And it failed.

It was the best idea ever. It will look great. Well i think we all think that about our ideas.

1.jpg

Then i started to set up things. And the best idea started to look like a so so idea. The first thing is, the background looks bad, and it is really busy.

2.jpg

Then i started with lightpainting, and realized that my 3 small led lights are not really perfect for what i wanted to do.

2P3A1093.jpg

Then i added my subject. Me. The problem here could be that i don't really like me as a subject in photos, but who would you call at 2AM an -5C to be a model?

At least i did a decent job of not moving for 25 seconds.

spojeno 4.jpg

In the end it was not the best idea ever. it was not the worst idea ever, it could be fixed, maybe, snow is melting.

The only idea for cleaning the background is to try light paint everything with flash, and even then i am not sure would that faster shutter speed kill the back lights.

For the tree i need some battery powered Christmas lights.

And i need to accept my self as a subject :D

I also learned that wi-fi connection to my phone sucks. It is max 10-15m in range.



New to photography? Struggling to understand Manual mode? Check out some tutorials for easy understanding of Manual Mode shooting.

Photography Basics: Learn Manual Mode (tutorial, Part 1)
Photography Basics: Learn Manual Mode, Shutter speed (tutorial, Part 2)
Photography Basics: Learn Manual Mode, Aperture and ISO (tutorial, Part 3)
Photography Basics: Learn Manual Mode - Thinking process (Tutorial Part 4)

Sort:  

Lol, you are funny. I guess not many likes themselves on the photo, except selfie addicts, suffering from selfitis.

But remember, the beauty is in the eyes of the beholder they say and it's true.

Obviously it depends what so you want to do with the photo, but it's not bad. I like the one without the lights though :)

2AM and -5C? That's -10C here nowadays :)

well the idea was a contrast of happy and depressing, or maybe just depressing and loneliness in this times. can't you see my great empty expression? :D i even darkened my eyes :D

sunday was -10 with fog, so i gave up. yesterday was more bearable, and there was no wind, it is important here that there is no wind :)

We don't have wind here either, which is good as I hate wind, fog too, but fog at least is nice to photograph.

I didn't want to over complicate my reply, but I think it's best not to mix happy and depressing. That's why I like the photo without the Christmas lights. But then again, it's just me, others may see things differently :)

i struggle with fog, it never loos like i imagine it will (well one time a dron video of a tree was exactly what i imagined :D)

I agree that for photos never look like what we imagine but still. Or maybe I like it as we don't get much fog either :) That is how living surrounded by mountains look like 😂

Ovakve fotke su dobre kao materijal za projekciju :D npr sedenje na praznoj klupi u snegu sa pogledom u daljinu moglo bi biti odraz mira a isto to sa jelkom i pogledom prema praznom mestu na klupi nedostajanje, usamljenost, nostalgija... :)

ideja je bila knotrast srecne jelke i nekog samog na klupi. cini mi se da je realizacija delimicno uspela, ali zahteva mnogo vise tehnickog igranja da bi izgledalo generalno lepse a mozda i doprinelo vise samom osecaju.

svakako podrzavam ideju; ako je verovati meteorolozima, bice jos sneznih dana a do tad imas vremena i za ideje i da usavrsis realizaciju ;)

Hah, that's a great way to take a selfie though.

I've maintained before, and will keep doing so, there are no failures in art. Besides, I think lightpainting the tree was a really nifty idea.

well that is a good way of thinking. i will change the fail to it did not fulfill my expectations of the photo i had in my head :D

i don't do lightpainting that often so my lightpainting equipment is well almost non existent :D

I've maintained before, and will keep doing so, there are no failures in art.

I fully agree with you on that :)

This is so satisfying, haha. Making yourself the subject is such a brilliant thing, I love this.

i only do it when i have no one else. and 2AM on a freezing night, i had no one :D

Makes sense. Its Impressive. Timer or remote?

remote on bulb mode (phone app through wi-fi). it would be hard to do the tree light painting with a timer. i am not in that good of a shape :D

Haha, i have to try this.