Waiting For the Snow to Come

We are still in a late autumn atmosphere when, according to the calendar, we should be in the middle of winter. Waiting for the snow to come!

I'm not so eager to see the snow or to feel the bite of the frost but I want it to snow for my small, very small garden. The increasingly obvious effects of global warming have upset the small plants that live in my garden. My flowers, shrubs and trees.

I'm afraid for my flowers, for all the plants in the garden. The fact that now, in the middle of winter, not only did not snow but there are also spring temperatures, it disturbed the natural evolution of the plants. He awakened in them the desire for life and the belief that spring is behind the door.

With these thoughts I grabbed the camera and took some pictures, photographing flowers in January. Photographing the fruits of my shrubs, the future food of birds after the winter will lay the snow carpet.

IMG_05942.jpg

IMG_0517.jpg

IMG_0526.jpg

I photographed for the first time in RAW mode and edited in Lightroom. I've wanted to do this for a long time and now it's time. I'm not used to it yet and I haven't got the necessary skills. These photos are like a kind of test and of course they have the inevitable mistakes for an amateur like me.

IMG_0515.jpg

IMG_0519.jpg

IMG_0539.jpg

But let me go back from photography to the garden and tell you why I'm worried it's not snowing. Because a series of spring flowers have already begun to grow, they have emerged from the soil that protects them.

IMG_0547.jpg

IMG_0551.jpg

IMG_0596.jpg

Romania is a country in Eastern Europe but also quite northern and because of this the winters are (meaning they were) frosty. I'm afraid a frost could kill young, tender plants. The snow behaves like a blanket, it protects what is under it from frost. so I have two wishes now, either to snow or not to come too low temperatures to freeze.

But there are also plants in the garden that are not afraid of frost and very low temperatures. These are evergreen leaves, plants brought from warmer countries and adapted to the climate here.

IMG_0542.jpg

IMG_0552.jpg

IMG_0563.jpg

Then there are the trees. They are also not affected by low temperatures because they are now asleep, hibernating. They have not yet been disturbed by hibernation by these climate changes, that is, by global warming, but I think this will happen soon. My favorite trees are birches, I love their white bark.

IMG_0582.jpg

IMG_0583.jpg

Not long ago, the Winter Holidays passed, I spent only a week in the new year. The signs of the holiday are still there.

IMG_0545.jpg

At the same time, the garden is full of flower debris that is not scheduled for winter. They die with the end of autumn but their remains are often very decorative.

IMG_0570.jpg

IMG_0573.jpg

IMG_0576.jpg

I like it when my passions support each other. Now I'm talking about photography and gardening. Gardening offers subjects for photography and photography preserves the ephemeral beauty of flowers, the changing beauty of nature!

A dead Japanese maple leaf. It looks like a fossil, it seems to be a creature that lived hundreds of millions of years ago.

IMG_0554.jpg

This is what a small garden looks like waiting for snow. We have little hope that it will snow a little next week. The real winter is coming, in recent years it has been, in February. In general, a short winter, shorter than a month.

Image.png

banner.gif

Sort:  

Hello @bluemoon, the climate has changed around the entire planet Earth due to global warming and other factors. I sincerely hope that winter comes in your country or province where you live, so that your plants grow and bloom beautifully. Let me tell you that your photos are beautiful, I like those fruits. Regards.

Congratulations @bluemoon! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You received more than 80000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 85000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @hivebuzz:

Feedback from the January 1st Hive Power Up Day

We woke up with heavy snow today at Sibiu, hope it comes on your way too :)

Your January plants look very beautiful, I hope it won't be too cold and nothing bad will happen to them. I love the picture of your "fossil" leaf!