Kalmar Continued

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

~ A Warrior's Walk ~

DSCN0369 (2).JPG

Here, we are picking up where we left off as i mentioned in my last post. We had made it to the lowest ground level just outside the castle on the edge of the moat.

I also mentioned that as i was walking around this castle my imagination led me to see things from the vantage point of a warrior. I couldn't help but consider what it would have been like as a warrior to try and invade this defensive behemoth.

DSCN0371 (2).JPG

From the looks of it a successful invasion seemed pretty daunting. This fortress and the design of it's layout was really impressive. I would imagine that would be demoralizing for an invading force.

I used to make art drawing images of castles being invaded when i was pretty young. I even studied castles to make sure my depictions were accurate. This caslte walk took me back to those feelings and emotions of creativity when i was a kid.

DSCN0373 (2).JPG

I finally made it to the edge of the moat. This would be as far as a foot soldier could make it without getting wet. That would take full commitment because i am sure that the time it would take to cross the water would make one a sitting duck. Those canons probably didn't play around back in the day!

“All the flowers of the tomorrows are in the seeds of today.”
– Indian Proverb

I thought about ancient battles fought here that probably never were... and noticed that a few patches of flowers were growing in the wall.

DSCN0374 (2).JPG

I wouldn't imagine when this portion of the defensive structure was being designed and built (with potential war in mind) that some day in the distant future, flowers would grow there in the peace of a fine summer day!

dividers-04.png

The image below is pointing towards the sea. I know those canons are probably just for show now but they felt very ominous to me. Not in a bad way... but in a sense of power and awe.

DSCN0375 (2).JPG

DSCN0376 (2).JPG

Now, we are heading for a view from the coast. At this point my mind was wandering towards ships rolling in what an invasion from the sea might have looked like. Considering a ground assualt would be extremely difficult from the looks of things.

I love how far behind you can see i got from taking photos. Off in the distance are a couple of people i was with. Now, i tried to catch up on the walk a bit. hahaha

DSCN0377 (2).JPG

This image below is the view from where they were standing once i got there.

DSCN0378 (2).JPG

It's difficult to fully appreciate since my camera doesn't zoom that well... but the stone walls to the castles have these skinny slit windows made for archers. I can't say from this angle that things would be looking any easier for an attacker. But that view of the sea is getting pretty nice.


Me pretending

dividers-04.png

I tried to zoom to show that as i was just getting around that corner a wedding procession was leaving the castle across the bridge exiting from the main entrance.

DSCN0379 (2).JPG

DSCN0380 (2).JPG

I really liked this corner partition of the castle. I tried to show the castle in the backgound while featuring the cornerpeice but found the perspectives to always be off in one way or another.

DSCN0381 (2).JPG

I am ocd about my horizon lines and architecture lining up. It's always fun to try and find the best balance of perspective. From this angle you really start to get a fuller sense of the dimensions and scale of this castle.

DSCN0382 (2).JPG


~ Sea Wall ~

Of all the defensive structures that this castle had mustered over the ages, none impressed me more than the castle's inpenetrable Sea Wall. You've heard about The Pass of Thermopylae but have you heard of the Great Kalmar Sea Wall?

DSCN0383 (2).JPG

Me either, actually. I was just kidding. This wall was more of an artwork if i had to guess. It was in a semi-circle shape with the gap in the middle. In my photographic framing of the wall... to honor it, i cropped out the beer can at the pinnacle and tried to angle the graffiti out of the shot.

DSCN0385 (2).JPG

This thing seemed pretty aimless but i liked it a lot. There was a little bit of a marshy area between the water and the edge of this little bit of grassland leading to the coast.

DSCN0387 (2).JPG

I did keep laughing to myself imagining an invading force trying to find cover behind this wall upon approach. The farther away i got... the more intimidating this castle became.

DSCN0389 (2).JPG

Maybe this is just the peak-a-boo wall for photo-ops!?

DSCN0391 (2).JPG

Now that we had made it to the sea we started to head back. My imagination went right back to a force from the sea landing on the shore and what the soldiers would have seen upon approach by foot.


Imaginary Well-Wishes


~ Circling Back ~

DSCN0394 (2).JPG

I really wanted to show how the marsh area acted as a natural defensive.The vegetation was taller than a man and hid much of the upcoming features on the ground. It would have made it difficult to plan a direct approach in my opinion.

DSCN0395 (2).JPG

This was as far as i could get so show the most of the castle at once as we headed back the way we came.

DSCN0396 (2).JPG

I'm glad that this is now a park and an amazing place to go spend time. When i consider the battle aspects i see killzones more than picnic areas but it's interesting to think of how things change.

DSCN0397 (2).JPG

This was what the castle looked like from the ground level on teh otherside of the bridge.

DSCN0398 (2).JPG

These were some other shots that made the perspective hard to line up but i think they turned out pretty cool.

DSCN0400 (2).JPG

This is the last shot i took of the castle on my way out an i was pretty much in awe at this point. I had never seen a castle in real life this cool before.

DSCN0402 (2).JPG

I never would have thought that i would visit one of the inspirations for my art as a kid and on the way out through the gard i saw this. These kids were playing inside this giant little mushroom house.

DSCN0403 (2).JPG

It was funny watching the kids play so i tried to get a shot or two of the mushroom house. Perfect timinig too because that boy got stuck crawling out of the window.

DSCN0404 (2).JPG

Just about then another group of kids was coming to play in there and one girl was already crying so that was my cue to go catch up with the group once again. hahaha


Kids Will Be Kids


~ Heading Out ~

On the edge of the garden the park ends with a cool cemetery. As we came to the cemetary we saw the wedding couple loading up in their limo.

DSCN0409 (2).JPG

We walked across town just looking around and trying to find a place to stop for a drink. Along the way we saw many quaint houses with really cool Swedish gardens.

DSCN0410 (2).JPG

I have mentioned the roses here and the color they are being somewhat more vibrant than my camera can translate in how vivid these reds are.

DSCN0411 (2).JPG

Not all of the flowers on the way back were Roses.

DSCN0412 (2).JPG

But i did find this one Rose bush that had a cluster in the shape of a heart. I didn't want to tresspass so these were the best angles i could get.

DSCN0413 (2).JPG

DSCN0414 (2).JPG

I really loved the shape of these. I could have stayed and tried to get the best shot of them i could until my battery died... but i didn't.

DSCN0415 (2).JPG

I actually had to run to catch up this time. Well, i guess i didn't have to run but i did. hahaha I cut through a little grassy area to get to the street they were turning onto. As i was trotting across something in the grass caught my eye.


Don't Tread On Me

“You’re only here for a short visit. Don’t hurry, don’t worry. And be sure to smell the flowers along the way.” – Walter Hagen

This tiny red flower caught my eye and i had to stop and get a shot. It was so random in the middle of this little mini green field among all the normal flowers i would expect to see. In fact, i almost stepped on it mid run.

DSCN0417 (2).JPG

Once i did catch up this time there were some more flowers in window planters to shoot.

DSCN0418 (2).JPG

DSCN0419 (2).JPG

These flowers had a really cool looking silvery purplish sheen on the outside.

DSCN0420 (2).JPG

I also liked the bell shape they opened up into.

DSCN0421 (2).JPG

The insides were pretty bizarre and crazy looking too.

DSCN0422 (2).JPG

“A flower’s appeal is in its contradictions — so delicate in form yet strong in fragrance, so small in size yet big in beauty, so short in life yet long on effect.” – Terri Guillemets


Pushing Up Daisies


~ This is the End ~

We were glad to make it into the shade of another cemetary along the way. They had some really cool old headstones and gravesites. Some of them were extremely old compared to the cemetaries we have in Texas.

I thought the one in the image below was cool because the heads were missing. Were the lady was there was a beam of light shining right where her head would have been. It was pretty extraordinary.

DSCN0425 (2).JPG

I don't usually convert my color photos to black and white. I prefer to shoot in black in white if my intent is to have that as the outcome. But i liked this image so much i decided to give it a try. Sure enough that head of light was even more emphasized in the black and white realm.

DSCN0426 (2).JPG
I didn't want to mention the cod piece but it was hard not to notice. hahaha

The old stones took on a color much like the petina on the castle top. I thought it was really cool looking. I bet they were super detailed when they were new. They have weathered and aged well considering how harsh Winter is here.

DSCN0427 (2).JPG

dividers-04.png

I figured this would be a nice stopping point before continuing on. I took a lot of shots on this walk. I edited a majority of them but fortunately for you all i skipped a lot of the shots when selecting which ones i would share here on Hive. So, we will finish this in the next post. I appreciate your time and interest in my images or narrative. I hope you all have a great week.


Thanks For Stopping By

Source for All of the Flower Quotes

honeybackg - Copy.png

Sort:  

Just imagine what the Kalmar Slot used to look like with its copper rooftops when it was still shiny... That must have been such a site to look at! I think we often forget that some buildings that are now light-green colored used to be looking gold with all that copper. Paris, for example... what a city must that have been 'back in the day'.

Nice shots CastleBerry

It's really amazing to think on things like that. I knew it was copper and for a sliver of a moment remembered that the patina wasn't always as aged looking... but i didn't think about what it must have looked like coming in from the sea with the sun shining on it. That must have been a site to see. I can only imagine how some of these European juggernauts of architecture must have been in their glory days! The next shots are my favorite ones that will end this series. Always good to see you homie! =)

Hey man seems you visied a very nice place! And your photos are nice. Great angles and creativity.
Thank you for sharing and please get some extra support...

@tipu curate 5

Thanks for the curation browski! This was a nice place. The statues in the next post were my favorite part besides the castle. Good to see you back buddy.
untitled.gif

Hello @castleberry, this is @nathanko. Awesome photography😃. I like the castle and the purple flowers. Did you buy a souvenir? I always like to get souvenirs.
Hope you're having an awesome summer! Bye

Hey little buddy! Thanks for the compliment. I'm glad you liked the castle and those purple flowers were super fuzzy. I think you would have liked the way they feel because they were extra soft.

I didn't buy a souvenir... but i did take a rock out of the Baltic Sea once we went past that brick seawall. So, i have that rock for a souvenir and it was free! Yay. I think you will like the statues in my next post since you are such a sculptor yourself! Have a wonderful day my friend.

I think the rock is a coooool souvenir. I collect nice rocks and stones too. If you save money always put it aside for passive income investment and good times. I always do that.
I'll see your next post with statues for sure.
I'm glad we're friends. You have awesome day!

I'm glad we're friends too. See ya next time buddy. You have an awesome day or night too!

I am with you in imagining how to invade this castle. Pretty detailed tour you had us there. It's a walk in history for sure. It's cool that wedding ceremony can be held there. Lovely flowers shots too :D

Thanks! I appreciate you stopping by. If you haven't yet, check out the first post on it too and you will get the full castle tour (from the outside). =)

You're welcome! Sure I'll check it out :D

The photos look great. I like flowers, but I like historical buildings more. Health to your hands. :)

Yes, i think it depends on the mood for me as to when i prefer the imagery of flowers or historical architecture. I think they are both pretty majestic! Thanks for stopping by and i am really glad you enjoyed the castle. The next post will have more statues and a few shots of the exterior of the Kalmar Cathedral. Cheers! =)

The pictures taken were very nice especially the photo with the mising head where there is a shinning light on it

That was definitely one of my favorite shots of the day. Glad you noticed that one! Cheers.

Yeah it is really a nice shot

Wow, this is really beautiful, all of them, nice shots, taken from nice angle.

Thanks! I'm glad you enjoyed the beauty.

Yeah, it's worth everything.


The rewards earned on this comment will go directly to the people( @officialrosh1 ) sharing the post on Twitter as long as they are registered with @poshtoken. Sign up at https://hiveposh.com.

This really was a spectacular spot. All of the town that i got to experience was pretty cool. The flowers here are pretty amazing. Thanks for the support and for stopping by.