Monochrome Monday Submarine Galley

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I'm here with some more pictures of the submarine, this time of the Galley!

IMG_1016.JPG

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Monochrome Monday Submarine Galley

The submarine had all kinds of really interesting stuff going on with it. There were a considerable amount of cool things everywhere you looked! I guess it makes sense because you have to squeeze all kinds of equipment and electronics into such a small space, you can turn and there's something new to explore and figure out!

The wall outside of the Galley area was separated by the steel of course but right on the side of it was this contraption here. I have no idea what it was for but it's certainly some type of measurement device. Below the device had some type of wheel to turns something, we can see the spindle that's left there of what used to be some type of mechanism. Interesting stuff! I think there's also some type of high pressure pump of sorts, you can see the steel pressure lines there poking out of it so I wonder if that was to help the submarine go up and down in depth.

IMG_1010.JPG

The galley though was a cool spot. To think that when you're out at sea, you need to have all of your meals in this one spot here. With a crew of 50 guys, that's a lot of food to prepare and cook in a short amount of time! The guy who was in charge of the galley for a period of time was this guy here. It's remarkable to see and read some of the history of these guys I think!

IMG_1015.JPG

It's funny to think of a galley like this. I get cramped in my kitchen at home where I'm able to spread out a considerable amount more than the people who were working on this place could! Lol and I don't have competition for room in the kitchen most times when I'm in there! I couldn't imagine being in this spot with 3 other dudes. That's tight for space but you make due with what you got when you're under water that's for sure lol

IMG_1016.JPG

I like the stainless steel counters and everything stainless steel. Having those counters is easy to clean but I think it's also a pretty good look. I wouldn't mind having an ancillary bar or kitchen in my house one day where we have this type of setup. Would be a talking piece for sure at least!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 2,720 PRE tokens, with a market value of $380.27. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link below and spread the word!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043


Image source

Sort:  

I feel like the sink’s position could’ve been a design flaw. Putting the sink right under a cabinet just feels…I don’t know how to put it. Odd?

And wait..Is that a two handle faucet in the sink or is it just the lack of color and my eyes playing me?🤔

Haha yeah the cabinet above the sink may or may not be a good idea. Taking advantage of the space as much as possible was important though so gotta do it like that!

Lots of sinks in America are two handle like that for whatever reason!

I’m sure it must’ve been inconvenient as fuck using the sink like that. Imagine having to bend over and forget to watch your head when you’re coming back up.

Then again, nothing screams we didn’t have the time for convenience more than the tight space in the kitchen like you said.

I’ve never seen a two handle faucet irl before but you guys have it all over the country? See this is one of the best things I’ve found about joining Hive. Every new day presents something I didn’t know or haven’t seen.

Yeah that's definitely one of the coolest things about hive! You can get exposure to all kinds of different cultures and stuff just on here and learn so many things! I know I've learned a lot about places in Africa, although I knew a fair amount more than the average person as I took an African culture class in college but that focused on the Tuareg people more than anything.

Ya with a submarine like that, convenience goes out the window when you’re in a tin can a few hundred or thousand feet under the surface lol

Have you written about your experience with African culture before? If you haven’t, I’d love to hear about it sometime. And if you ever plan ok coming down here, I’d suggest you come around Ghana. Meeting a distant friend from the internet is a check on my bucket list lol. I might just have to work on earning a free Hivefest ticket in the next round haha.

so cool! 😎🤙

i luv that clean industrial look.. all shiny metal and stuff..

The photos reminds me of my time in the Navy and the months I spent as a messcook. Seeing all of those metal surfaces made me think about who'd end up polishing all of that! :) Good times!

Ah someone with direct experience with it! Lol nice. I always wanted to be in the navy but those days are gone at this point hehe. I’m sure the junior people had to polish it all!

That surely is a tight spot to prepare food for that many people.
only a selected few who can work there. .

Hahah yeah for sure! It's not easy!

Can you imagine trying to fit a submarine galley into your basement! That'd be epic!

Hahah that would be cool as hell! You wouldn't need a lot of space to do it actually!