Smoky American Flag Photography

in Photography Lovers4 years ago

Hi fellow Hiveians,

Today I wanted to share some interesting photos I got recently while at the lake house. I'm enjoying the different opportunities to snap some photos near the golden hour where the light is more dramatic!

F196E059FFEA405B899459D1BEC47357.jpeg

Hive Divider Bar Text.png

Smoky

So when our son and I were at the lake the other day fishing, there were some people down the street cutting up some firewood for the long cold season to come. They were burning some other stuff and it smelled fantastic, wish we had a fireplace or a fire pit! We were enjoying the cool dramatic effect of the smoke as it drifted through the air and I saw these cool pictures forming.

So this is the guy that's got the fire going somewhere over there. One thing I love about fall and winter are the nice looking and smelling fires! Given that it's New Hampshire, I think we will see a lot of these over the coming weeks, definitely going to be nice.

F6C50DBE6ECF4CC5B7B55C81092BA644.jpeg

I like how this one came out, I kept trying to get the sun to show up behind the flag but with the positioning, it was challenging so I didn't get a burned out photo.

F196E059FFEA405B899459D1BEC47357.jpeg

These next few are some interesting ones with the sun behind that big tree and how it's blasting through the smoke, making some cool effects!

1686120C0E194E49890CF8BC80F1CE5D.jpeg

ED02CCBAC4704D0AAB122BF380E3C8E0.jpeg

I think this one here might be my favorite of the day. Got a cool effect to it with the sun blaring through but also very slightly visible there. Was happy with that one!

E212FA5DA07E442BA8F75226E36FFFF7.jpeg

The neighbor across the street was in the military, I think the marines. I'm not the best with the different flags but I'm pretty sure that's a US Marine flag. Really cool guy and although I wasn't really into the flag pride stuff, I can definitely appreciate it and enjoy it. Might even fly a flag someday ourselves when we get a house lol.

3EB84D5EAF87490D9C208180636AAC6F.jpeg

Have you got any cool flag pictures you've taken? I haven't had much luck or opportunity to take interesting ones like this but I've got a very special flag that hopefully someday can put in a scenario where I could take some interesting pictures!

Hive Divider Bar Centered.png

Connect with me!

Do you want to get paid, in crypto, for searching the internet? Try using and signing up for Presearch to earn some great crypto! I've currently got 1,415 PRE tokens, with a market value of $27.57. It doesn't sound like a lot but when you search using sites like Google you get paid $0! Join Presearch to break Google's stranglehold on the internet searches. If you'd like to sign up, use my referral link!
https://www.presearch.org/signup?rid=513043

7A36AE34B54F4858AC52330E621AD424.jpeg

5849FC2FAB184E7688010673E7C111AE.jpeg

C29A4DE87BF04156A562DB218CB864F7.jpeg

874B25D34B354A0C999C174645FFEFFC.jpeg

Sort:  

Good shot cool view

Indeed, thanks.

Oh you got to to the lake house! That's amazing - so happy for you. Did you son mind the long journey?

Thankfully the journey for us isn't long at all! It's only about 20 minutes with a bit of traffic so it's really worked out perfectly. Where we plan on moving though, it will be a hell of a lot longer than that so we are trying to enjoy it as often as we can lol

Thanks for stopping by! :)

it's an interesting effect, we're plannning on putting up some flagpoles at some point a Manx and a Welsh possibly an English too, thank you :)

Yeah that's awesome, it seems to be how things happen but as you get older you tend to appreciate things more. I never really appreciated the flag symbolism but I've enjoyed it this summer and will probably continue to! Now we just need to get an Italian flag and it will be complete, I think!

I'll have to look and see what those two flags are, never heard of Manx as a region.

Very nicely done. I love fall and the smell of a fire too.

I'm glad you got some photos that show what you saw. I take a lot of 'bracketed' photos in attempt to get one or two that will show the scene. It looks to me like your percentage is way better than mine.

Thanks for a really beautiful post.

Thanks Tom! I have to edit it, the orientation is all screwed up lol I'm not sure why there was a drastic change with this HF and how things are working from visual sides but that's what happens. Still trying to clean up some of my issues!

These were the first flag pictures I've ever really taken so it was cool to do. I should probably have a bit more pride in living where we do but it just hasn't really come up. Glad I was able to snag these!

I have a bit of a fun hobby with taking pictures so I try to take many of the same scene, these are just the good ones lol there are a whole lot more useless ones on the memory card!

Yeah. That. I most generally delete the images on the card after I have put the ones that even might be usable in a file. The evidence trail is a lot harder to follow that way :)

Hahah yeah, gotta hide the evidence!