Winter dog walk through the woods

in Photography Loverslast year (edited)

Winter can be frustrating sometimes. Not just because of the cold, but leaving for work in the dark, spending all the daylight hours at work before coming home in the dark is just so miserable.
But now it's the weekend, and that means I can finally take my dog for a #SublimeSunday walk somewhere nice in the day time.

Glowing dog

Our favourite place is a forest only a short drive away. I can let him off the lead which means I don't have to worry about the constant battle of training him not to pull, and he can run around and sniff everything as he pleases.

Max watching a squirrel

As the world seems to be falling to pieces everywhere and people treat each other worse and worse, it's a place I can just walk and clear my head. As I get older the urge to live off grid like Ted Kaczynski gets stronger and stronger. Especially when walking past houses hidden in the forest like this one.

House in the woods
Can you see the house through the trees?

Having Max off the lead gives me a good chance to work on his recall. I've discovered short bursts of whistling gets his attention well and he's rewarded with a treat when he runs back to me. It doesn't work well when he's distracted by something like a squirrel but he's definitely getting better at it.

20230122_094159.gif

I was having an extremely lazy day today so we got to the forest pretty late. The upside to that was the amazing low sun shining through the trees just painting everything with colour.

IMG_20230122_093240.jpg

I always thought taking pictures facing the sun was a terrible idea but my phone always seems to produce better pictures when I do. It's the rare occurance where taking a picture captures an image even better than what your eyes can see. I guess that's the power of the AI that they pack into phone camera software nowadays and why I don't feel compelled to bring my bulky Lumix camera with me to walks.

Sunny log

Bridge

It was even a productive walk, I recently purchased a glass cutting kit so that I can make plant pots from glass bottles. Just before we got back to the car I spotted something in the undergrowth, it was a screw cap glass bottle that has a leaf pattern around the base and neck. Any ideas what it used to contain?

Glass bottle

It's currently sitting in my sink soaking the trapped dirt. Tonight I'll try cutting it and writing a review for the DIY community on Hive that I've been enjoying recently.

Sort:  

Awesome shots!

Thank you!

Hi @cryptosneeze,
Thank you for participating in the #teamuk curated tag. We have upvoted your quality content.
For more information visit our discord https://discord.gg/8CVx2Am

One of the think I dislike about winter is definitely the cold.

I used to prefer winter to summer because it's much harder to cool yourself down than to warm yourself up.

That was before I had to pay for my own heating though, haha.

Yes, I guess heating can cost a lot.

Congratulations @cryptosneeze! You received a personal badge!

Happy Hive Birthday! You are on the Hive blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking

Check out our last posts:

The Hive Gamification Proposal
Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!
 last year  Reveal Comment