Cruisin' and Jammin' on a Warm Christmas Day

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

Cruisin' and Jammin' on a Warm Christmas Day
.

. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
| photos and writing by @d-pend |
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
.


IMG_8470.jpeg

IMG_8476.jpeg

IMG_8464.jpeg

IMG_8454.jpeg

IMG_8443.jpeg

IMG_8474.jpeg


A very warm Christmas Day
.

Having grown up in North Texas, I'm quite used to balmy weather from time to time on Christmas Day. I have experienced, very, very few "White Christmases," where everything is covered with idyllic snow and people huddle together indoors to keep warm and cheery. That being said, I was still surprised that it happened to be so warm here in Nashville, TN where I recently moved on this Christmas Day! It was incredible weather actually, sunny and in the 70s with a light breeze.

My close friend Lucas came to visit me and my roommate Sam on Christmas since his family was going to Germany this year and he decided not to make the trans-oceanic trek this time around. Sam elected to remain since he just went home for Thanksgiving, and I declared a non-stressful holiday season for this year — really wanted to just relax and chill at my new house rather than either driving 10 hours or hopping on a plane back to Texas — as much as I'd like to spend time with the family down south. Sam, Lucas and I were in a touring band back in the day and it was great to have the crew back together again for a few days after so many years of doing our own things.

.

In any case, it was an immensely enjoyable Christmas albeit a nontraditional one! I did quite a bit of cooking for my friends, which is always fun for me, and something I don't invest as much time in when I'm just doing functional food preparation for myself. Years ago when our band Williams & Company lived in a house together, I was the band chef. It was a nice throwback to that! And more to the point of this post — the weather on Christmas Day was so excellent that we took pretty lengthy bike and longboard ride to the lake that's fairly close to my house. Lucas was mainly riding the board and even had a tow rope to get pulled by Sam up some of the steeper slopes which was quite hilarious as well as impressive. I got some decent video footage of it as well which I'll have to edit at some point.

Lastly, I organized a big Christmas Day jam where my friend Ethan came over and played some sax while I played keys, Lucas played drums and Sam played bass. It was a fair amount of work planning where everything would be situated down in our basement and setting my computer up there. My iMac is easily capable of tracking 8 parts at once, but it took some finagling for this non-audio-engineer to make sure everything was functional and at decent sound levels with no feedback/buzz! Sam helped me work it out and we tracked a few loosely arranged jams — they are still unmixed, but I look forward to using the recordings for various purposes in the future, including giving the files to my friend Rusty for sampling to make beats.

.

I hope all of you had an excellent Christmas this year and that you enjoy some of my smartphone photos from our bike ride down to the lake!

.
Peace,
@d-pend


IMG_8437.jpeg

IMG_8465.jpeg

IMG_8466.jpeg

IMG_8458.jpeg

IMG_8463.jpeg

IMG_8451.jpeg

IMG_8453.jpeg

IMG_8446.jpeg

IMG_8455.jpeg

IMG_8449.jpeg

IMG_8450.jpeg


Writing and photos by @d-pend
compiled for HIVE on Dec. 29, 2021.
.
Photos taken with iPhone 13 Pro


IMG_8440.jpeg

IMG_8436.jpeg

IMG_8442.jpeg

IMG_8438.jpeg

IMG_8468 (1).jpeg

IMG_8473.jpeg

IMG_8469.jpeg

IMG_8445.jpeg

IMG_8439.jpeg

IMG_8444.jpeg

Sort:  

Sounds lovely. My daughter lives in Nashville, loves it there (so do I) and while she was with me in snowy and cold upstate New York, her BF was playing golf in Tennessee.

It is way too warm there.

Dear @d-pend,

The current HiveBuzz proposal will expire in a few days.

Do you mind supporting our proposal for 2022 so our team can continue its work next year?
You can do it on Peakd, ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.
https://peakd.com/me/proposals/199

Thank you. We wish you a Happy New Year!

Looks like a lovely and fun day!