Lost On The Lincolnshire Wolds & Seeing The Light...

I thought I'd go for a little drive today as I'd heard about a abandoned medieval village called Calceby that I've been wanting to visit.
I have passed this place so many times that I cannot count, all the way back from me being a kid and going on our summer holidays to Skegness.
However, it's only recently that I'd even heard about it.

The village is in my favourite part of the drive to Skegness, the Lincolnshire Wolds, fields stretching for miles and miles, such a beautiful place and certainly another one of my favourite parts of the world.

The drive was lovely, only the odd idiot tail gating even at 60mph, but the majority of the drive, I had the road to myself, now that's what driving is all about!

I got to where I want to be, and low and behold, there was place to park, but how to get to the ruins.

Here's it is on Google Maps

Walking down from where I'd just parked I saw an old and tired wooden gate, it certainly needed a bit of TLC, but it still worked, I opened the gate as I didn't even want to attempt to climb it, and I was in, what a great feeling.

When I had looked up this place, there was an archway between the walls, sadly this has now gone, I would have loved to have seen it.

Anyhow, what you are looking at are the remains of St Andrews church and this dates back to the 13th century and the last service to be held in the church was in 1692 or so sources lead me to believe.



(You can see where the foundations lay for other buildings etc.)

There wasn't really much to take pictures of so I decided to have a drive in to a village that I have always wanted to have a little walk around, and to have a good look at their church.

Click here to see Google Maps location.

St Michael's Church is steeped in history and sits on a hill just above the village of Burwell.

I just love how the fields just roll on for miles and miles.

The church is very old and is a grade I listed building, dating back to the 12th century and the tower being built around the 16th century, with works being carried out throughout the 12th-16th century, the church was restored in 1911 but in 1981 the church was sadly made redundant.

The sun was starting to set and the beautiful warm light of the day shone through the old windows adding a warm glow inside the church, right place right time or was it something divine?

I really hope you've liked todays adventure.

Thanks for reading.

Pictures shot using a Sony A7iii & a DJI Mini 3 drone.

All the best :-)

Sort:  

What a beautiful village !! it is full of green and full of history