Nature Has Awoken From It's Sleep...

I had a good old macro session in the garden yesterday, after seeing a little curious jumping spider walking around the garden table, I really wanted to get a shot of the little cutie, I rushed into the house came out with camera all set up and flash ready, but the jumping spider had disappeared, seeing as the camera was already setup I decided to do some bug hunting and I was far from disappointed.

The above two shots are some of my favourites as these are of a very small Cucumber spider, and when I mean small, the males from to 5mm and females grow up to 8mm, it had setup home in a leaf on my apple tree, lovely little spider with gorgeous colours.

I really love the above shot, and would have been my favourite of the day, sadly the (I think it is) flying ant was moving pretty fast so didn't quite nail the focus before it flew away. I love the colours on this one too and I think the creature looks like some sort of robot.

I also shot some flowers as well, the details captured are fantastic, I'm kind of proud of these shots.

The above pic features a very very camera shy little spider, whenever I tried to get a shot through the leaves, the spider rotated around the branch it was on, finally managed to get a shot but this was the best I could do.
I do have a philosophy when I am shooting macro, I never cut any grass/branches etc, and never touch or move the little creatures I am shooting, I try to be the least intrusive I can be without disturbing them too much. The only thing I may do is hold a leaf or branch if it blowing too much in the wind.

All these shots were done with a Sony A7iii and a Sigma 105mm Macro Lens, I did add the Raynox 250 filter to the lens on a couple of the shots, I also used a Yuongnuo flash gun, in which I need to get replaced due to the battery compartment cover falling to pieces lol

Even though I didn't get the little jumping spider, I had a great time shooting, it's great to see all these creatures and plants in the garden from natures winter hibernation.

Thanks for reading.

All the best :-)

Sort:  

Really nice macros, I enjoyed the close up of the daisy, I also enjoy taking those pics where you can see the tiny details and the pollen pops.

Shame, that camera shy spider is very cute hiding like that. I've never seen that type of flying ant before, it looks almost like a wasp. Maybe the people in amazing insects could help with the identification.

Have a good day/night
🦋Emma

Hi Emma, thanks for your comment, I've found out that the camera shy spider is called a Running Spider, although I don't know the latin name for this one. As for the flying ant, now you have mentioned it, it does look like a wasp, I'll have to do a bit more research on that one.
Thanks again :-)

Hello Darren

Thanks for the reply and letting me know. Oh cute name, he's definitely an introvert if he's that shy and always running from people to have a name like that 🤣

I hope you can find out about the ant/wasp.

What a nice close up photo collection!

very interesting - your pictures, although I don't like insects so much to look at them. But I think they are all a wonderful creation of nature.
!WINE

Posted using Hive Images


Congratulations, @blicklicht You Successfully Shared 0.200 WINEX With @darrenflinders.
You Earned 0.200 WINEX As Curation Reward.
You Utilized 2/2 Successful Calls.

wine_logo


Contact Us : WINEX Token Discord Channel
WINEX Current Market Price : 0.050


Swap Your Hive <=> Swap.Hive With Industry Lowest Fee (0.1%) : Click This Link
Read Latest Updates Or Contact Us