From Death's Door to Thriving

in Photography Loverslast year


3F4FEB18-B574-43B4-BB3A-CF47664E713F.jpg

That was a close one

break.png

A few weeks ago, my Crystal Candy autoflower seedling was having a very bad time. I think there were a mixture of things that I had done wrong that almost killed this plant.


IMG_8667.jpg

The two main things that I did wrong with this seedling was that I introduced a fan into its tent WAY too early. The seedling had only been above ground for a few days when I decided it was a good idea to put a fan in there and blow air across its fragile body.

I had also soaked the entire pot with almost a gallon of water, which almost suffocated the poor little plant. My reasoning for the water was to get the all the dirt wet which would encourage root growth. What I failed to think of was that the roots were not really developed and that they search out water in the dirt, so filling the entire pot with wet dirt was probably not the greatest idea.

I had never had an issue with watering like this before, but since the plant was already super stressed due to the fan, it just made things worse. The little seedling was laying on its side for a few days and I was at the point where I was just going to pull it and start a new seed, but after propping it up with a branch spreader and just leaving it alone for a few days, it started to stand back up and begin growing.


weed-2111.jpg

She is super short and bushy right now, but she just started her preflower stretch, so I think she will probably double in height in the next week or two. I cut the bottom two sets of branches off last week and just did some trimming of the lower flowering nodes to force those lower branches to lengthen.


weed-2112.jpg

I am trying to decide if I want to cut the main stem on this one or just let it grow tall and have a massive main cola. I am tempted to just let it grow because I've got it in a seven gallon pot and it should really fill up with some nice sized nugs.

This lady is going to stretch and prepare to begin flowering in the next two weeks, so I have some time to decide. I don't want to wait too long because I don't want to stress this plant out anymore than it already has been, but I think that the trouble that it had at the beginning helped to really strengthen it because its branches are a lot stronger now than some of my previous autoflower grows. It will be interesting to see if stressing plants out in the beginning makes them better in the end. It would be a cool experiment, but I think I would lose some plants in the process.

I am excited to see what this plant does. I have never grown an auto in such a large container, so I think she is going to do great. Once my GDP is done drying in the large tent, I will be moving this lady in there and have her under all four lights for flower. That should really fatten her up with all those lights, but I am going to have to introduce all that light slowly so it doesn't shock her. It should be an interesting next few weeks, so stay tuned.

Sort:  

It's crazy how fast time goes by, I remember when we were talking about this plant in the server. I think the general consensus was not to give up on her. 😎

Really glad to see the plant thriving like this, very nice job!

I also have the same thought process with getting all of the soil wet so the roots are able to properly shoot down. I don't think this thought process a wrong at all, but it certainly presents challenges with overwatering in the seedling stage.

Seedling stage is not my favorite, maybe you think that way too, so much can go wrong during the early stages and sometimes they seem to take forever to get a couple of nodes.

Strangely I was wondering what this plant would produce without any topping or training before I saw you stating it in the text. I think it's a good idea bro, just go with your instincts.

Can't wait to see how this Crystal Candy comes out.
Keep up the amazing work!

Thanks man. It sure is crazy how fast things progress in the early stages, but at the same time, like you said, i hate this stage because they are so fragile and so many things can go wrong. I am still trying to decide if I am going to top this one or just let it grow somewhat naturally.

Dam nice job on bring it back, I think once or twice we have all over watered.

Pre flower stretch is always a good thing, I mean if it ain't like the DR grin and stretch 10x it's veg size haha

Would you say you have a fair bit of posts on the how-to process for raising your own plants? Your shares feel like personal one-on-one's which I enjoy, but I gotta say again, every time I see any of the process, your voice in the writing makes me feel like I could do it. I tried raising roses for a spell and I fell off... I think I need more reading and practice, but I feel capable thanks to you.

Im not sure if I have enough knowledge in my posts that it could teach you all you would need to know, but I am glad that I am writing in a way that makes it easy for people to understand and gets them interested in the growing process. We have a really awesome community of growers here on Hive that I have learned a lot from. I started growing about two years ago when I found a seed in some weed I bought and then I spent a lot of time researching what it takes to grow. It isn’t that hard to do, and one thing I have found is that if you are willing to spend the money on good equipment, your chances of success are much higher. Growing my own weed has been one of the most beneficial things I have ever done for myself tho, so if you are considering growing, I would say that you should go for it.

Wow, a story of resurrection from death to life. It was really moving. I think that plastic rod really works. I'm looking forward to seeing how it grows.

I think she is going to do great. She is super strong right now and has a lot of space to grow.

Always a great felling when you bring a plant from deats door. Cant wait to see how this CC does.

Posted using WeedCash Network

Ya, I thought she was a goner for sure. Good thing I gave her a couple days to make a comeback instead of just ripping her out.

Cultivating and harvesting seem to be quite a journey and it requires a lot of skills!
Are you cultivating outdoor or indoor?

This is an indoor grow. I would love to grow outdoors, but the climate I live in would not support that.

I never knew marijuana can be so beautiful

It really is an amazing plant.

i only saw dried ones and it did made me high lols

Normally, I'm not very interested in flowers, but your article intrigued me. The photos look beautiful that I read the whole article, it seemed strange to me that we talked about them as if they were something very different, which I really liked :) I can start to take an interest flowers, thanks to you. I will follow your articles carefully, thank you.

Very awesome bro! I'm glad it came back! Looks like it's gonna be a nice one too! 🔥