Walking around with my wide angle lens

in Photography Lovers2 years ago



cl8268xro01nw0pm76zqa3j3d_walk-.webp
cl82690yk01pd0im7anjwb0sr_walk--2.webp
cl82694rf01r621m7clglh7rj_walk--3.webp
cl82698ij01nz15m76sqt29j1_walk--4.webp
cl8269cc801pd1tm7edtm0026_walk--5.webp
cl8269fwh01ok0wm72oj43jwo_walk--6.webp
cl8269l8j01oa2dm7e916764y_walk--7.webp
cl8269piw01t91lm7hka11ng9_walk--8.webp
cl8269rzc01ny0pm7fdnccbp8_walk--9.webp

I have been wanting to get more familiar with my 17mm lens, so I decided to go to a few different places and walk around to get some shots. It has been pretty rainy today, so there wasn't any sun, but the storm clouds did look cool in a few of the pictures.

I started off at the MTECH Campus near my home. It is a smaller technical college that offers some interesting classes. My son went to some of their welding classes while he was still in high school and learned a lot. They also have some cosmetology classes that my daughter is a bit interested in. It is a pretty good school that offers some great classes without all of the extra general courses that normal colleges make mandatory.

After MTECH, I headed over the Thanksgiving Point, which has a lot of different buildings. The movie theater at Thanksgiving Point is the one that I normally go to, but they also have some really cool places, like a butterfly sanctuary, dinosaur museum, a little farm with animals for the little ones and even a place that teaches you how to do glass blowing. I have wanted to go and do the glass classes because I have always been intrigued by that whole process.

There are some really cool garden areas in Thanksgiving Point. They are pretty snotty about people taking photos on their grounds, especially when you have a tripod and a real nice camera. I have had people try and kick me out before because they thought I was doing some professional shoots and those require permits. It's pretty stupid when they try and kick you out of a place for taking pictures just because you aren't using a cell phone. But luckily I wasn't bothered by anyone today. They did have a pretty cool reception area for weddings or something and it even had a little waterfall feature.

Taking landscapes with this super wide lens is getting easier. One thing I learned was that when the sun really isn't out, you don't need to shoot bracketed for HDR and it is basically a waste of time to do that. It's always nice to get out and get some fresh air and take photos.


For the best experience view this post on Liketu

Sort:  

I've always been scared of wide angle lenses (the widest I've ever shot with is 24mm), but yivue blown me away (once again 🤣). I think I'll get myself a nice manual focus wide angle lens for my a7iii.

I have a question that's been eating away at me. What time of the day do you shoot? Your exposure, highlights and shadows are just perfectly balanced that I doubt it's midday/sunny day.

Thanks man. This lens is a 17mm, but its a bit different because its a tilt shift, so it allows me to control a lot of the distortion. As far as the time of day, this was actually around noon. The storm clouds offered some protection against blowing out the highlights, but I was shooting bracketed, which gave me three images and then I stacked them in Lightroom to get details in the highlights and shadows.

Ahaaaa, that explains quite a lot.
I wondered how you were able to get such straight edges on your buildings 😄.
I assume you use a tripod while shooting landscape then?

Great work as usual! I've learnt something new once again!

Ya, using a tripod with this lens is a must to try and keep the lines as straight as possible. I do some corrections in lightroom for that as well. But with the tilt shift, I don't have to correct as much.

Niiice. Thanks for the useful hints!

People love to make rules according to their own minds. It's fine if you shoot from your phone, but no tripods or professional cameras. Who made these rules? Their asses.

Great photos, man. I think I'd like to have my wedding in a place like this. And I love it when the sky is gloomy like this. It gives me a feeling of peace.

Great captures, love the third photograph of the large window panes… somehow that photo looks truly vintage. Pretty cool @derangedvisions 😊😎
Have fun playing around a bit more.

This post has been manually curated by @steemflow from Indiaunited community. Join us on our Discord Server.

Do you know that you can earn a passive income by delegating to @indiaunited. We share 100 % of the curation rewards with the delegators.

Here are some handy links for delegations: 100HP, 250HP, 500HP, 1000HP.

Read our latest announcement post to get more information.

image.png

Please contribute to the community by upvoting this comment and posts made by @indiaunited.

Both the camera and the lens matter to take such good pictures. Anyway the locations were very nice

The wide lens brings magic to a picture! Happily, I have these already on my phone and can use them whenever I can't capture a whole building or landscape as I want but they also lose lots of pixels :(

Wow that's amazing man😮😍

I like waterfall🌸

mesmerized at first sight when I saw this.. so cool