What Is This?🤔 (A #wednesdaywalk)

The little ladies and I took the dogs for a walk yesterday and something whizzed through the air in front of Maddux and my face! We saw it land on the ground and apparently, the reason it caught our attention, was because it was such a brilliantly shining green color. Does anyone know what kind of beetle this is?


edit and the original

We watched the little fella skirt back and forth across the hot pavement like it had a predetermined destination - until it saw us. Then it was a frantic flit about the blacktop as it tried to decipher whether or not we were friend or foe. Or lunch? It was a good time before I was able to get some photos of it.

It wasn't very happy about being photographed. I wasn't sure if it was trying to come at me or just trying to get in my shadow and hide but it would seriously not stay still. I'm amazed I got such decent looking pictures of the little critter! It almost looks like one of those bombardier beetles that shoots hot acid from its butt, so, I didn't get too close 🤣

It finally propped up and looked at me, almost hungry but confused. You ever wonder what's going through a bug's head? Like, "are you gonna eat me?", "please don't step on me." or do they even think? What do you think? While you are pondering that, REMEMBER TO BE YOU! I always am, even while avoiding beetles assses.

Killer Posts I'm PIMPin:
image.pngimage.pngyoutubesub.pngimage.pngimage.pngteleg.pngtumblr.png


thealliance new pagebreak 2.png

because I can
So Can WE
Vote Witty

Is Voting #WITNESSES difficult?
Let me do it for you!
Set Witty as your --->PROXY VOTER!<---

enginewitty hive witness.png

Sort:  

Cicindela sexguttata also known as Six-spotted Green Tiger Beetle
Wiki

A sex bug? My new favorite bug.😁

LOL its latin and means six but hey lol why not

That’s a six spotted tiger beetle. They are common in Up State New York and Pennsylvania. They are cool looking, but are horrible on trees. They eat the shit out of them. Nice pics

They aren’t carnivores though...🤣😂🤣😂

Oh we kinda need trees man, maybe they should stay up there lol! Don't see many here so was odd. Only seen 3 in the past 10 years. Lot of ladybugs, junebugs and boxelder beetles here tho.

I don’t see them at all in Jersey. But hunting and fishing in NY and Penn I’ve seen them. Beetles in general are bad on trees, if you camp at all you can hear them eating away at them at night.

Hello @enginewitty Thanks so much for your visit to my post. I appreciate the mention and exposure.

As far as the insect, there is a mobile app that can help identify it called: Pest Identifier.

There's also one for plants.

Have to check those out, Android?

This is one I heard about. I don't normally use mobile apps, but it looked interesting because I'm paranoid about spiders.

https://www.pctonline.com/article/pest-identifier-app-android-users/

I'm glad to hear you were not eaten for its lunch! 😱

Looks like it was licking it lips, right???

Thank you for the mention my dear.

Good Karma goes a long way 🤗

The beetle looks beautiful. It might just be one of those aliens that dropped from space. Anyways I dont imagine what a bug thinks of

Was it a body snatcher? 👽

A sexy sex bug 😜 sniny beauty.
Really love how you took those pictures as the Green really stands out in them.
Cool little Creature and good it didn't bite ya 😁

Me too! Not a huge fan of bugs, especially the bite-you kind. Love the color though! 😘

Im no bug fun eather, but I sure do love to BUG People 😁 lol

It is very strange, I have never seen it before. It looks like a gem

Almost does! Little shiny emerald ✨

This post has received a 100.00% upvote from @fambalam! Join thealliance community to get whitelisted for delegation to this community service.

Looks like you already got the answer to your question of what bug it was. 😊👍

Thank you for the mention. I appreciate that. Cheers! 😊

Anytime, thanks for stopping in!