Looking For Colors And Waiting For St. Nicolas

in Photography Lovers2 years ago

After having a long autumn abundant in colors, we've entered the grey period, that is mixed with light and dark days. Compared to other countries like UK and Scandinavia, we can't really complain as we're not living under a cloud or in total darkness. Light is very important to me, so I don't think I could live without it, but so are colors.

IMG_20211112_101116a.jpg

As I mentioned above, finding colors in this period of the year is a challenge, but I'm accepting it as it's not just a lot of fun but also gives me the opportunity to explore different areas.

IMG_20211112_101539a.jpg

What I had to realize lately is that unfortunately my knowledge when it comes to plants in general is almost non existent. It's a shame, I know and I'm trying to change that but this year is already too late. Without leaves or flowers you can't identify anything. Branches all look the same, so I'm going to have to wait for next year to start my journey.

IMG_20211112_101220a.jpg

Till then I can try to identify some of the plants using the photos I took this year.

IMG_20211112_101244a.jpg

The title of the post says looking for colors and here it is, an apparently black and white photo, which in fact is not black and white. This plant is like silver green, if I can say that, when it's not covered by frost. Now it looks amazing as it reminds me of snow and along with snow, of Christmas but during summer it's a bit strange. We expect plants to be green during summer and this one has the courage to contradict expectations by being silver green. It's a cool thing. I am associating this one with my plantain tree, but more about that in December. So, is white a color too? Of course it is.

IMG_20211112_100908a.jpg

Having a look at the weather forecast, I don't think we're going to get snow anytime soon, which is a bit of a disappointment as St. Nicolas is coming and kids love to have snow. We grew up believing St. Nicolas is coming on a sledge on the evening of 5th of December. We used to clean out boots as St. Nicolas doesn't leave anything in dirty boots. Then we were told to be good as well as otherwise we get nothing.

IMG_20211124_102832a.jpg

It was nice to get a few sweets in the morning, or even in that evening. Kids that were not good got a different present from the old man.

IMG_9457.JPG
source

What you see above is called virgács in Hungarian and it was usually given to misbehaving kids. If you got one, you knew you needed to improve your behavior and it wasn't pleasant. When we got older (I mean 5 - 6 years old) we could not care anymore as we knew it only meant a form or scaring kids.

Nowadays the virgács looks very different, it's totally artificial and is sold weeks before the event. Presents also got bigger and more expensive, many times don't fit in those tiny boots. It's not something symbolic anymore. Snow is also missing most of the times, you can't tell kids St. Nicolas is coming on sledge.

IMG_20191224_170227a.jpg

Sort:  

the crystallized snow looks so cool on those flowers. Great shots

Thank you! It's not even snow, it's frost. We've got some light snow this morning that melted as soon as it hit the ground. It's not cold enough yet for the snow to last.

Loving these shots :)

Glad to hear that.

Congratulations @erikah! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You have been a buzzy bee and published a post every day of the month.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

Hive Power Up Month - Feedback from Day 29
Hive Power Up Day - December 1st 2021 - Become an Orca!

Thank you! I'm trying 😃

You're welcome @erikah, keep trying like this, that's great! We wish you a nice weekend 😊👍

Thank you! I wish you the same 🤗