Discovering Calabria - Day 3 [Eng-Ita]

ENG

Late Early Summer memories from Calabria
day 3

Yes, I'm the worst! I completely ghosted the Hive community for MONTHS... BUT, I decided to be back for a little bit and trying to focus on the huge amount of photo-work I got piled up due to my long absence. So here it is, a reportage from my 3rd day of holiday in Calabria, from June 2022, when I went off with my friends to celebrate the Italian Republic Day, which happens to be also my birthday!

Hope you enjoy this gallery, you will see some descriptions from time to time, especially of the most significant pictures.

I'm starting from the end, I guess. The sunset from the local beach of Coccorino is outstanding. Indeed, we were lucky enough to being able to appreciate the sun going down next to the volcano island Stromboli. The light was so soft and dreamy that it did feel like it wasn't real. We relaxed and enjoyed the beautiful view till it was basically dark. Amazing vibes...
We spent the day at the sea, of course and specifically I went around with my SUP board, discovering the gulfs, the sea rocks, and all the terrific spots nearby Tropea, where we stayed for most of the day. In these pictures it is easy to appreciate how clear the water is in this area: however, you should know that Tropea is one of the most touristic towns of the entire region of Calabria, hence also the sea is pretty "crowded". Of course, in June, when the Summer has not really started yet, a lot of people have not come yet to spend their Summer holiday in Calabria, but still there were a lot of people compared to the other spots where we went on those days. Especially going round my SUP board I met many boats, in particular one took my attention because it was pulling up a kind of paraglider, over the water surface. It was so cool to see it! I was able to report all that happened during my SUP session thanks to a waterproof phone that my friend kindly lent me.
If you have never been in Calabria, I recommend spending at least a full week in the paradisiac beaches of Tropea and Capo Vaticano, two gems of the Italian sea. I fell in love with the atmosphere, the water which is so clear and beautifull... Now that is passed 7 months I realize how much I needed, at that time, such a lovely place where to recollect with my own soul and mind. I went through such hard times during that period and staying in the water, all alone, or admiring a sunset at the beach with my friends, those little moments spent within nature helped me a lot in the process of healing. Nature always helps me, no matter what pain I'm suffering from. I just wish that holiday lasted a lot more!

Equipment:
  • Nikon D3200

  • Nikkor Lens 16-85mm

  • Post-production: Lightroom, soft enhancement of colors and contrast.

  • Pictures on the sea were taken with an iPhone and postproduce with LR



All pics and words are mine. Please, feel free to leave a comment with your feedback. If you need to use one of more of the photos, please, contact me and I'll share with you the original files.


Yours | Flewsplash



ITA

Ricordi di fine estate dalla Calabria
giorno 3

Sì, sono il peggiore! Ho completamente ignorato la community di Hive per MESI... MA, ho deciso di tornare per un po' e cercare di concentrarmi sull'enorme quantità di lavoro fotografico accumulato a causa della mia lunga assenza. Quindi eccolo qui, un reportage dal mio terzo giorno di vacanza in Calabria, da giugno 2022, quando sono andato via con i miei amici per festeggiare la Festa della Repubblica Italiana, che guarda caso è anche il mio compleanno!

Spero che questa galleria vi piaccia, vedrete di volta in volta alcune descrizioni, soprattutto delle immagini più significative.

Sto iniziando dalla fine, immagino. Il tramonto dalla spiaggia locale di Coccorino è eccezionale. In effetti, abbiamo avuto la fortuna di poter apprezzare il tramonto del sole accanto all'isola vulcanica di Stromboli. La luce era così morbida e sognante che sembrava non fosse reale. Ci siamo rilassati e ci siamo goduti la splendida vista fino a quando non è stato praticamente buio. Vibrazioni incredibili...
Ovviamente abbiamo passato la giornata al mare e nello specifico sono andato in giro con la mia tavola da SUP, alla scoperta dei golfi, degli scogli e di tutti i posti fantastici vicino a Tropea, dove abbiamo soggiornato per la maggior parte della giornata. In queste foto è facile apprezzare la limpidezza dell'acqua in questa zona: sappiate però che Tropea è una delle località più turistiche dell'intera regione Calabria, quindi anche il mare è piuttosto "affollato". Certo, a giugno, quando l'estate non è ancora iniziata, molte persone non sono ancora venute a trascorrere le vacanze estive in Calabria, ma comunque c'era molta gente rispetto alle altre località dove siamo stati in quei giorni . Soprattutto girando intorno alla mia tavola da SUP ho incontrato molte barche, in particolare una ha attirato la mia attenzione perché stava tirando su una specie di parapendio, sopra la superficie dell'acqua. È stato così bello vederlo! Ho potuto riportare tutto quello che è successo durante la mia sessione di SUP grazie a un telefono impermeabile che il mio amico mi ha gentilmente prestato.
Se non sei mai stato in Calabria, ti consiglio di trascorrere almeno un'intera settimana nelle spiagge paradisiache di Tropea e Capo Vaticano, due perle del mare italiano. Mi sono innamorato dell'atmosfera, dell'acqua che è così limpida e bella... Ora che sono passati 7 mesi mi rendo conto di quanto avessi bisogno, in quel momento, di un posto così incantevole dove ricordare con la mia anima e la mia mente. Ho attraversato momenti difficili in quel periodo e stare in acqua, tutto solo, o ammirare un tramonto in spiaggia con i miei amici, quei piccoli momenti trascorsi nella natura mi hanno aiutato molto nel processo di guarigione. La natura mi aiuta sempre, non importa di quale dolore soffro. Vorrei solo che quella vacanza durasse molto di più!

Equipment:

  • Nikon D3200
  • Nikkor Lente 16-85mm
  • Post-produzione: Lightroom, esaltazione morbida di colori e contrasto
  • Le foto in acqua sono state scattate con un iPhone e postprodotte con LR


Tutte le foto e le parole sono mie. Per favore, sentitevi liberi di lasciare un commento con un vostro feedback. Se avete bisogno di utilizzare una o più foto, contattatemi e condividerò con voi i file originali.


Yours | Flewsplash
Sort:  

Calabria is a good choice for a holiday. There are also a lot of photos :)

I kinda piled up so much photography work that I couldn't focus too much on each single shot unfortunately, this post of mine was indeed meant to be more like a gallery :) Calabria is amazing 🤩 I miss it so much!

Yay! 🤗
Your content has been boosted with Ecency Points, by @flewsplash.
Use Ecency daily to boost your growth on platform!

Support Ecency
Vote for new Proposal
Delegate HP and earn more

I just want to get on a plane and go there. Kayaking or paddle boarding around the coast taking photos, just lovely, lovely!

You should definitely come to Italy and explore Calabria coast if you can! It's just so outstanding 🤩

I've been to Calabria's neighbour Campania many many times, the North of Italy and Rome but not Calabria yet. Will definitely visit.

I'm from Rome and I love Campania, but I think Calabria has just better sea, beaches and shores... you will love it!!!