At the side of the road

IMG_7937.jpg

Last week @traisto and myself made some exploring of the Argolid Peninsula. It is an area close to Nafplio (you can check my previous posts for that) full of ancient ruins, picturesque villages and amazing landscapes. The weather was perfect for driving and it was a pleasure to see again favorite places and discover some new ones!

IMG_7939.jpg

IMG_7940.jpg

IMG_7945.jpg

IMG_7946.jpg

IMG_7949.jpg

The scenery is pretty much alike to Crete where we live so it was at the same time familiar and new. But there were some beautiful surprises. Like this mesmerizing field of red poppies! Although they are not something too rare or hard to find, I haven't seen so many of them for decades. Of course I stopped the car at the side of the road and grabed my camera!

IMG_7951.jpg

IMG_7952.jpg




IMG_7958.jpg

Maybe it was the childhood memories, maybe the fact that poppies seem to have disappear from the place I live or maybe they are just a sublime spectacle, in any case they gave me so much joy! I lied down among them, I smelled and looked at them from every possible position and I took a ton of pictures! It was a short but unforgettable break :)

IMG_7959.jpg

IMG_7960.jpg

IMG_7962.jpg

IMG_7963.jpg

IMG_7964.jpg

The olive trees next to the poppies was the cherry on top. My favorite trees next to those joyful flowers! As a farmer I know that the common practice is to destroy all the wild vegetation under the trees and although I totally disagree to that practice, I know at the same time, that most people don't share my beliefs about natural farming. So finding those beauties in an olive grove was more than enough to make my day!

IMG_7965.jpg

IMG_7972.jpg

IMG_7975.jpg

IMG_7976.jpg

IMG_7968.jpg

IMG_7978.jpg

The words sublime and beautiful kept popping on my mind as I was writing this post so I guess that it is a perfect fit for the #SublimeSunday, instigated by @c0ff33a , and the #beautifulsunday, hosted by @ace108!

Enjoy your Sunday!

IMG_7984.jpg

linebreak.png

All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

fields of poppies, so beautiful! it is hard to get the colours right under the harsh sunlight... so I like how some of the images turned out

Thanks a lot!
They are a hard subject indeed. Actually I was reluctant to edit them at the laptop (I am on a trip) but I think I did OK, more or less :)

The poppies have always been for me the signal that the season for the sea is starting. Because I always saw them on my first trips to the sea. I felt that they had blossomed and already at the end of the week I was leaving for Bulgaria, to the Black Sea.

You bring proof of the blooming of the poppies and have made a superb collection of photos. Thank you and glad you like these fragile flowers!

Thank you very much!
So nice to hear that you are going to the sea. I hope you'll have a great time :)

With pleasure!
Looking forward to getting there, hope the weather will be good, thanks!

Amazing to the a whole side covered with red

Thank you @ace108 :)

Πολύ Ωραίες φωτογραφίες

Παπαρούνες δεν είναι?

!PIZZA

Ευχαριστώ πολύ!
Ναι, παπαρούνες είναι :)

PIZZA!

PIZZA Holders sent $PIZZA tips in this post's comments:
@panosdada(3/5) tipped @fotostef (x1)

Learn more at https://hive.pizza.

Wow,how many wild poppies ... My favorite flowers ....🥰
Amazing picture

Have a nice day ☀️

They were many all right :)
Thank you for stopping by!

😊

My pleasure 🌸

What an incredible field of poppies! And you captured the light through them wonderfully!

Yes they are incredible! When I saw them I knew I had to stop and take a few pictures!
Thanks a lot :)

Wow what a field of poppies! I agree under the olive tree is amazing. I also love how you were down in them!

Oh yes, they were so amazing, I couldn't help it but becoming a little childish :)

    You have been manually curated by Brotherhood Community for sharing this awesome work.
    Brotherhood community will support 5 bloggers on daily basis.
    For more information about how to get curated by Brotherhood Community, check this Hive Blog.
    Delegate your Hive Power to @brotherhood for supporting more such blogs and also receive curation rewards.

Thank you very much for your support!

AMAZING! I actually showed this post to my husband and said "Look at these beautiful pictures! This guy is a good photographer! This is one of my favorites posts, coming from you! maybe because I love poppies as well, also sharing the same feelings and thoughts about 'em, like yours.

This one is breathe taking! Such a good angle! Love it!

Thank you very much for your nice words :)
Poppies are so lovable indeed!

Yup! I see them very often these days, along the road!

Thank you very much, I am glad you like them :)