Not completely out of place

IMG_0959.jpg

When I was younger I had the fantasy of living in a castle. My own castle with all the protective walls around it and the breathtaking view and all! I ended up living in a place that I love (among other things) about the lack of fences, let alone stone walls :)

What I hadn't consider when I had the castle fantasy was that the walls that keep the enemies out are, at the same time, confining you inside. Now I appreciate more the openness of a landscape and the unobstructed space for my walks!

This little castle though, reminded me the old fantasy and got me thinking how life would have been in there. After all it was inhabited until the early 40s, so my query is not completely out of place :)

IMG_0965.jpg

IMG_0966.jpg

IMG_0969.jpg

We are at the island of Kythera in Greece and like in the two previous posts of mine, at the capital of the island, a small village called Chora.

The castle is attached on the village and there is a cobbled road, big enough for a car to come through, that leads inside. We had already finished our walk in the village (you can read about it here) and we continued for some more sightseeing!

It was no surprise that the view was stunning (@giorgakis is this good enough for you?) and the calmness of the sea was, for sure, a big plus!

IMG_0972.jpg

IMG_0974.jpg

IMG_0979.jpg



IMG_0978.jpg

Most of the buildings in the castle that still stand, are churches but I didn't mind imagining (as part of the fantasy) that one of them was my living room, another one my office and maybe a small one my bedroom :)



IMG_0982.jpg

IMG_0984.jpg

IMG_0985.jpg

IMG_0983.jpg

At the edge of the walls we had a panoramic view of Kapsali, the biggest seaside resort of the island and yet so small and charming! Everything is low scale here, except from the view :)

Walking back to the village, I kept fooling around with my camera and wondering what would have been like living in here!

IMG_0987.jpg

IMG_0988.jpg

IMG_0995.jpg

IMG_0997.jpg

This is my contribution to the #SublimeSunday by @c0ff33a as well as the #beautifulsunday hosted by @ace108 :)

Have a lovely Sunday!

IMG_0998.jpg


All the pictures and the words are mine.

Thank you for reading and if you want to know more about me you can check out my introduction post.

Commenting, upvoting and rebloging are highly appreciated!

Sort:  

Excellent shots as usual!

Thank you very much :)

Was interest in castles something that came from fairy tales?

Actually not! I don't remember any castles in the fairy tales of my childhood, although I guess that there mast have been a few. It was more of a feeling when I found myself in one of them, as an adult :)

Manually curated by EwkaW from the @qurator Team. Keep up the good work!

Thank you very much @qurator and @ewkaw for your support!

This is wonderful ! I love those old stones and white facades son much... Reminds me some medinas in Morocco, but this mediterranean style buildings :)

Thanks you for this trip by your side, I don’t drop enough comments, but I do enjoy your articles and reportages a lot !

Enjoy your Sunday ✌🏼

Still questing my castle too haha ..!

Thank you very much @anttn for stopping by and for your comment. It is always a pleasure to know that people enjoy my posts :)

You're very welcomed :)
Keep it up ☀️ and have a enjoyable weekend !

With this amazing goddess, life expectancy increases by around 15 to 20 years! Once again your post one reading is not enough! Great pictures!

Thank you very much! I don't know about the life expectancy but it definitely gives a boost to the quality of life :)

Nice Shots here

Thanks!

Beautiful photos of this beautiful town!!

we all dream of living in a castle but when we grow up we realize many things, for example, do you know how much maintenance a castle would require? we must have many people in our charge

Haha you are right! The bills of a castle would be astronomical!
Thank you very much for stopping by @malos10 :)

Fascinating place. The view from up there is fantastic.

Yes, it is a really amazing place!
Thank you for stopping by @ace108 :)

You're welcome

Congratulations @fotostef! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 24000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 25000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Check out the last post from @hivebuzz:

HiveBuzz World Cup Contest - Collect badges and win prizes - More than 4500 HIVE prize pool

very beautiful @fotostef! But i agree with u: life without fences is worth even more than a huge castle!!

Absolutely! We have too many fences and barriers around us, to seek for some more!