Spontaneous Trip to Haapsalu, Estonia

in Photography Lovers4 years ago (edited)

DSC_0516.jpg

A little while ago, in mid-August, I decided to go on a short road trip with my GF. The idea came pretty much out of nowhere. It was at 8 pm when we wanted to do something but what... I just did a joke, lets drive to Haapsalu and just camp with a tent. My Gf didn't get the joke and agreed to go, I was like whet, okay let's go then and we did 😂
Haapsalu is located on the western shore of mainland Estonia, about an hour and a half drive from my home and we arrived there in the dark, we had a pretty hard time finding a spot for camping, finally found one next to the sea.

Only have one poor pic of the site we camped.

DSC_0510.jpg

The next day we just went to see the Haapsalu again, I don't go there too often so it was nice to see you again. Here I have a row ow pictures captured of this town.

DSC_0517.jpg


DSC_0520.jpg

It's a pretty nice walk along the promenade there.

DSC_0521.jpg


For some reason, there is a polar bear sculpture on the sea and I have no idea why this is. Estonia has no connections with polar bears what so ever.
DSC_0515.jpg


DSC_0523.jpg

If you are a traveler( which almost no one isn't right now ) and want to visit Estonia and not only Tallinn then I quess this is a pretty nice destination for you.

DSC_0524.jpg

There is also a castle you can visit. Did not take photos of it this time but here is one tower.

DSC_0530.jpg


DSC_0534.jpg

After that, we drove to Pärnu, the capital of summer they call it. Just visited the beach and had a short swimming session. Didn't capture anything there. By the evening we drove back to Tallinn. Was quite a cool spontaneous trip!




Untitled1.png

Sort:  

It looks like a lovely place to visit! That Peugeot appears to be a great companion for such a journey. I'm a bit confused by the polar bear statue as well, and I'm wondering to myself as to how those sculptors could've made it that far into the water 😅!

Yep, it is!
They probably built it on land but brought it on the sea somehow. It is also probably floating on water because the sea level is changing all the time but the sculpture is above the water all the time.
I read that this polar pear is apparently the protector of the beach 😀

Ah, that's interesting. I'm guessing there are some buoys to keep it afloat, or something. As far as a protector goes, a polar bear is a pretty menacing creature. If I was an intruder, I wouldn't even think to disturb the beach 😁

Congratulations, your post has been added to Pinmapple! 🎉🥳🍍

Did you know every user has their own profile map?
And so does every post as well!

Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Pinmapple
  • Click the get code button
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post (Hive only)
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!