Scenes from a Bike - Edition 12 - Footscray Road

Welcome to The 12th edition of the series - Scenes from a bike

This Edition facts:

Location: Today we are back to what this was meant to be - sitting off with a vague plan and seeing where the paths take us. Most of these photos are taken along Footscray road which is the road along side the docks in Melbourne, Australia, some of the later shots are in Spotswood which is still a industorial type area just west of the docks.

Date & Weather: Sunday 25th of September - Spring is here, the light is fantastic (although it's not actually that warm, may high teens. This is what I imagined when I bought this bike back in May

Equipment: I've gone simple today - My Fujifilm X-T3, and the 16-80mm Zoom - this is my go to when I don't know what I'll find - so adaptable.

The Concept & Finances: The concept is simple, I've bought an electric bike, on this bike I explore my hometown, Melbourne Australia and take photos, Priority 1 - Finding new places in Melbourne, Priority 2 - taking better photos, Bonus - Earn back the cost of the bike by creating content and getting paid for it on HIVE. The bike cost $1,100 USD. So far I've earned $73.69 from the previous 11 posts meaning I've paid for 6% of the bike and I have $1,026 to go. This is going to take some time, but this is all bonus money, the joy is in the taking of photos. Also if you look really close at the header photo which is a panorama you can see my bike lying on the groun at the bottom of the hill.

Other stuff: Okay I'll admit it I have a weird fascination with shipping containers, maybe it was inspired by artist Jeffrey Smart but there is something so beautiful about them - so I make no apologies for the 'industrial look' of today's photos.

Let's see what else I found - in the order I took them.

Power lines (1 of 1).jpg

f7.1, 250ISO, 1/500, 24mm
If you live in Melbourne you have seen this powerline, you just don't know it - it's right next to the Bolte bridge - today's bike path went right by it

Container 1 (1 of 1).jpg

f14, 500ISO, 1/500, 41mm
Now we are getting Jeffrey Smart-isk - maybe it's the order of the stacks I like.

Container 2 (1 of 1).jpg

f11, 250ISO, 1/500, 11mm
Maybe I could wax poetic about the journeys and the hopes and dream container within, or maybe I can claim a metaphor for the global economy, but really I just like the colours - maybe it's a kids wonder of building and blocks, who knows.

Container 3 (1 of 1).jpg

f9, 500ISO, 1/500, 19mm
Is this a ghost sign of a ghost sign

Trying to do something with flat light and shadows, but angle is quite right, I blame the fence I was shooting over.

Seat (1 of 1).jpg

5.6f, 250ISO, 1/500, 37mm
Into Spotswood and this forgotten chair between two buildings, what was someone trying to do here with the bright colours?

crates (1 of 1).jpg

f4.5, 80ISO, 1/500, 29mm
it's like the containers had a baby and that baby was a crate

Bins (1 of 1).jpg

f4.5, 80ISO, 1/500, 27mm
Bins really? Bins

Sort:  

Dear @harveyword,
May I ask you to review and support the Dev Marketing Proposal (https://peakd.com/me/proposals/232) we presented on Conference Day 1 at HiveFest?
The campaign aims to onboard new application developers to grow our ecosystem. If you missed the presentation, you can watch it on YouTube.
You cast your vote for the proposal on Peakd, Ecency,

Hive.blog / https://wallet.hive.blog/proposals
or using HiveSigner.

Thank you!