It's disgustingly big and fat

_DSF7742.jpg

Shot with Fuji X-T4, 80mm macro lens

I was just walking outside checking on my cats when I saw one of them staring at something in the dark. She was on the fence so she was looking down at the drainage. It was night and pretty dark, so I was wondering wtf was she staring at since that part was pretty uninteresting.

Until I looked at the drainage pipe and saw a big fat thing just chilling in there. The drainage was a bit bigger one like those for bathroom but there was no cover on it for whatever reason... apparently that's the gateway for the toad.

I took a picture with the flash on my phone but it immediately crawled away inside the drain. This happened about a week ago...

Then the other day while I was about to lock the gate cos I was about to sleep, this same big fella scared the shit out of me. It was facing the gate for whatever reason and I only noticed it when I was one step away from it. Close enough for me to shriek in terror. I then pushed it away from the house with a broomstick. I was actually thinking of taking a macro photo of it cos why not??? Hahah but I was too scared to get close to it cos it might jump on me or something. So I just told myself the next time I see it, I'm gonna take pics of it cos fuck you for scaring me and I will show everyone how disgustingly big you are.

Anyway... earlier today it showed up again. :D



_DSF7683.jpg

I don't know why it kept on coming here, I don't leave leftovers or something outside. There are lizards and some other insects so that's probably why.



_DSF7749.jpg

I took my flash and a light since there's no other light source in this area. I can estimate this thing to be about 16cm (6.3 inches) not including the legs when stretched and that's like as big as my hand. :< You can see in the picture I didn't even get as close to that giant thing as I don't know if it might spray me some poison.



_DSF7690.jpg

I used my 80mm macro lens so I got a comfortable distance from it. B-)

According to my research, this is a cane toad. It came from South America and was brought here in the Philippines to help with pests in the farm but now they became the pests themselves. What a traitor!



_DSF7681.jpg

It's an invasive and dangerous toad.

You see that big bulge behind its eye? That is where they store their poison... Yes... POISON.
The reason why they're dangerous is because once you get sprayed with that poison, it can make you sick when you ingest it and can blind you (only temporarily I think) if it comes in contact with your eyes.

But that's not the thing I'm worried about since I don't think it can squirt high enough to reach my eyes lol. The thing is, these toads can be dangerous to pets.

As you know, dogs and cats love to play with stuff and they could get sick once they ingest the poison. I let my dog alone outside (since there's a fence :P) and he literally puts random stuff in his mouth and I am 100% sure he will do it to this toad when he sees it. Not just sick, it can even be fatal for them.

I heard there was a husky who recently just died cos he has eaten a frog and this might be the type he ate. So yeah... pretty dangerous.



_DSF7668.jpg

My cats being the curious ones, were just watching me take pics of the bigass toad. :D



_DSF7747.jpg

Excuse me, there's a photoshoot going over here!

Even went a bit close to it but thankfully they're not curious enough to play with it.



_DSF7751.jpg

If I were a cat, I wouldn't dare go near that thing. I mean, look at the size of that compared to my cat!! She wasn't even close but you can see how big it is from afar (yes, the one that looks like a rock towards the wall!!!).



_DSF7717.jpg

_DSF7718.jpg


I took a broom and poked it so it would hop a bit lol. It actually doesn't get scared of us. Like, I had to push it with the broom before it hops away. It even gives an annoyed sound when I do that lol. It sounded something like when you exhale hard, quite disappointed it's not a REEEEE sound.



_DSF7735.jpg

Eeeeeewww look at that skin. I wouldn't touch it even if you give me $1 million. Maybe $2 million will do. :D



_DSF7698.jpg

Dat ass!!!



_DSF7741.jpg

I can tell it was already pretty annoyed with me cos I was flashing many times at this point. Yeah that's what you get for coming in my territory bitch!!!



_DSF7758.jpg

He reminds me of Jiraiya's toad Gamabunta for how grumpy it looks hahah. I want to watch Naruto again. :D



_DSF7762.jpg

After this, I pushed it back to the drainage where it belongs... I put a wood cover on top of it and of course, it was able to push it up after. :<

I don't know where it is at the moment but maybe tomorrow I'll find some heavier stuff to cover the drainage pipe. It's rainy season here, so they are partying.

I don't know how to make them not be attracted here but I will be more cautious especially for my pets.

Also I tagged this nsfw cos I know some people have phobias and here I am showing real close up pics of this thing lol.

Sort:  

Geez! At least put some underwear on!
image.png

lol nice red shade 🤣

untitled.gif

That frog is massive it is really big!!

i'm glad your cats were careful and didnt attacked the frog because it is toxicc for them...

my cats loves to hunt i know mines would have attacked it in a pair of minutes after watching the frog...

Yeah, but I guess since it's massive they just won't dare. One of the cats hunt pretty often but only mouses and birds. I'm thinking what if cats actually know they shouldn't mess with frogs? 🤔 Or the toad might be uninteresting to them since it doesn't move lol I hope that's the case with your cats too

image.png

untitled.gif

Haha 😂😂😂😂
This is truly scaring and much funnier than the one above the picture.

HAHAHAHA...
Everyone on this post hazed by that ASS! :D

Omg!! 😮
This is really disgusting and fat and dirty and grumpy....ewww!!
It should better don't hurt those little cutie cats because they are harmless... I feel for the dead cat after eating a frog😩😩...

Now if this grumpy frog can't move unless you poke it, I would be damn scared honestly and I would definitely find a way to stop it for showing up in my house...rofl ....you can't scare me in my house right!😆

I love those pictures you took although it's a grumpy frog but you did took them well... awesome camera you got!

I feel for the dead cat after eating a frog😩😩...

It was a dog but yeah.

Yeah this dude just sit there and be still, maybe waiting for something but it does look creepy especially when you just discover it when you're already close to it hahah. I would prefer if it hops away the second it hears me coming :/

Thank you! :D

I would prefer if it hops away the second it hears me coming :/

Hehe😅😅
Sounds cool and promising. Obviously, it has a similar resemblance with the floor that's why it always comes to that spot. The skin is so creepy geez!... I'm thanks for the correction🤗