Oasis in the Great Sand Sea

A small oasis we camped at in the Great Sand Sea near the Egyptian / Libyan boarder. The Great Sand Sea is a subset of the Sahara that covers a remote 72,000 km² (27,800 square miles) sand desert region in North Africa stretching between western Egypt and eastern Libya. Hard to say exactly where the shot was taken as it was after a full day offroad in a 4WD across the dunes from the larger oasis town of Siwa, which is about 50 km (30 mi) east of the Libyan border. The mountains are actually old coral reefs stranded in an empty ocean of sand; after hiking up them you could still see the coral heads intact. We camped here for a night; if you look closely you can see the small yellow tents to the right of the oasis. This is an old film shot; this whole area is now off limits due to security issues in Libya and trafficking across the border.

GreatSandSeaOasis.jpg

If you would like to learn a little bit more about my background in photography you can read the interview @photofeed did with me here.

Robert Downie
Love Life, Love Photography

All images in this post were taken by and remain the Copyright of Robert Downie - http://www.robertdowniephotography.com

Sort:  

I'll be honest...I have a thing about sand...That stuff gets everywhere. I'm not a fan, even despite the fact I live not too far from an awesome beach. My wife laughs when we go as all I seem to do is brush (slap) sand off me; I man perpetually. She calls it my slap dance...So...Camping in this spot would probably be my worst nightmare...I'd need counselling for months afterwards. Lol.

Nice snap as always, and I love how you put some words on your images, something to explain a little about it and give us a little more to go on with.

Nice work as always.

I also don't really like sand; it kills gadgets (drones, cameras, computers, etc) .

But some of the most beautiful places in the world are full of sand. So there is always that to contend with.

Yes, I agree...I guess we have to make sacrifices. I like walking on the beach and so I go, but...Picking sand out of everywhere for hours after. Lol.

I pictured you 4WD ing though the simson; sand in all your CV joints lol

If these guys are chasing you then it would be for sure. image.png

Oh yeah, that's true. Remember that guy with the boomerang with the blade-edge? Took that other guys fingers off...

Sand + boomerang weirdo guy = #worstnightmare.

Great photos! ✌️