Heating up w/ Velvetine Suicide!

Good evening, Hive family! I just got home from a late night electric unicycle ride home from @caffetto. There won’t be much longer that I’ll be able to take the EUC out before I’m digging up my Keis heated vest and gloves. We’re already having days in the mid 50’s and you can tell the Minnesota fall is upon us. Those rides are a big part of keeping me in balance, just like kickboxing, foraging for mushrooms, etc. I love that thing so much. While I was at the coffee shop, I did manage to get to some dark pinup editing. That’s what I want to share tonight.

A few weeks ago, at the height of the summer, I met with Suicide Girl, Velvetine Suicide. I’ve known her for a decade, even before she started modeling. I wasn’t a very good photographer back then either. We’ve grown in to our careers and creative identities since then. Over those years, we’ve shot together several times. She’s always been an excellent collaborator and now she lives part time in Minneapolis and part time in Portland. While she was in town during this last trip, we decided to get back together for another shoot with the Nikon Z6II mirrorless camera.

The day we decided to shoot was unbearably hot. It was almost 100% so as you enjoy these images, know that both of us, but especially Velvetine, really pulled it together to maintain such beauty while hiding how miserable we were in the heat. Eventually, we found a small stone bridge with a stream. As hot as it was, it wasn’t the walk in the water or the shade that drew us in. I saw reflections from the sun bouncing off the water, cascading on the underside of the bridge. I love that she was comfortable with this idea.

There is most likely another set of edits still to come from this shoot. We got so many great shots, it would be tragic to not go through and finish up a few more. For the rest of the night, I’m going to try and change gears, focusing on @mirrorpool and @neverwel art. That’s been bringing me the most creative happiness lately, even though I have commitments hanging over my head. I leave for Los Angeles next week, but at least I’ll finally get to meet with @felblob and see many of my friends again.

Sort:  

These are breathtaking photos 😍❣️

Great Pics!!

Appreciated, @bv1326! Thank you!